skip navigation
Celebrating the 50th Screen Actors Guild Life Achievement Awards
Remind Me

Celebrating the 50th Screen Actors Guild Life Achievement Awards

For half a century the Screen Actors Guild has been presenting its annual Life Achievement Award for "fostering the finest ideals of the acting profession." This year's trophy will be presented during the Screen Actors Guild Awards, simulcast live on our sister channels TNT and TBS on January 18.

Before that, on January 13 and 14, TCM observes the Achievement Award's golden anniversary by celebrating the accomplishments of past winners and this year's recipient, Rita Moreno.

Films programmed for January 13 will honor Eddie Cantor (first winner of the award), Frank Sinatra (10th winner), Ralph Bellamy (20th winner), Ricardo Montalban (30th winner) and Karl Malden (40th winner).

On the 14th the TCM spotlight falls on James Garner (41st recipient) in The Children's Hour (1961), Ernest Borgnine (47th recipient) in Bad Day at Black Rock (1955) and Moreno in three films: Cry of Battle (1963), Marlowe (1969) and Carnal Knowledge (1971).

Also Playing on TCM

Also playing
31 Days of Oscar® - 2/15
12 Movies

This year we're playing 360 Degrees of Oscar® and highlights today include Mutiny on the Bounty (1935), George Washington Slept...more

TCM Shopping