skip navigation
Penguin Pool Murder

Penguin Pool Murder(1932)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here

Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)


powered by AFI

Penguin Pool Murder was the first film in the Hildegarde Withers-Oscar Piper series. The series consisted of six mystery-comedies based on novels or short stories written by Stuart Palmer. James Gleason played "Oscar Piper" throughout the successful series, which ran until 1937. "Hildegarde Withers," however, was portrayed by three different actresses. Edna May Oliver played her in the first three films, Helen Broderick, the fourth, and ZaSu Pitts, the last two. Kenneth Macgowan earned his first associate producer credit on this film. For other titles in the series, consult the Series Index.