skip navigation
Bachelor in Paradise

Bachelor in Paradise(1961)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Bachelor in Paradise A writer moves into a housing... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • just a kid

    • gia
    • 1/13/12

    I was just a kid when this movie came out but I saw it anyway. I'm not the biggest Bob Hope fan anymore but I loved him back then and I adore this movie and everyone in it. I love that this was a time when grown-ups had their space and kids had theirs. Sadly,no longer. I know it was filmed somewhere in the San Fernando Valley,("the valley", to those who grew up there), or possibly Agoura, but I don't think so. It just has the valley feel which I remember so well from the fifties and early sixties. Not like that anymore. But yes, great movie. See it

  • Bachelor in Paradise

    • DANIEL LEE HELLER
    • 8/8/10

    Great movie, Hope and his one liner are great {I couldn't go two rounds with your breath}. Good laugh's throughout. Lessons for the married maybe with laugh's. Dan

  • Bachelor In Paradise

    • Judy Danel
    • 8/7/10

    This is such a cool movie. It makes me feel good every time I see it. The cast is great. And all the fun of the early 60's that movies today just can't duplicate. Would love to have it in my DVD collection. It is a movie that really puts a smile on my face.

  • A Classic!

    • Patti
    • 5/6/10

    I have loved this movie ever since I was a child. I wish they would release it on DVD! It is such a classic. A great summer movie :)

  • Bachelor in Paradise

    • Richard Trenbeth
    • 4/9/10

    I remember seeing this movie when I was 11 years old mainly because of the cars, 1961 Chrysler models mainly but alot of others. I have searched for this movie on DVD and if it weren't for TCM I would not have been able to see this movie again. It is Bob Hope at his best and with Lana Turner doing a hula dance while tipsy. It's a must see. The supporting cast, Paula Prentiss, Jim Hutton, Janice Paige, Virginia Grey, Don Porter and Agnes Moorehead make round out this comedy and make it one of Bob Hope's best. Hard to understand why it hasn't been released on DVD. Well worth the watch!

  • Bachelor in Paradise

    • Greg
    • 2/21/10

    If you love old cars, this is a great movie! The entire movie is a virtual advertisement for Chrysler's 1961 model lineup. Most are convertibles, and exceptionally rare to see them today.

  • awesome

    • iris
    • 11/9/09

    Bachelor in paradise! is one of my favorite he is amazing! some many women so little! but really! I love his movie! he goes threw so much! and try his best to help the wives keep there husbands happy but it back fires! love is in the mix as well. if you get a chance and they show it on tcm please don't miss it! it's great, I hope they will bring it out on dvd I will get it in a heartbeat

  • A little awkward, but loveable enough.

    • DougieB
    • 2/16/09

    Bob Hope being suave is a stretch, but Lana's brave attempt at comedy (as well as in Who's Got The Action? with Dean Martin) is worth watching. I love Lana when she goes all competent/self-sufficient career girl on us. (Meanwhile, how many handlers, go-fers, and hairdressers were just out of camera range?) The tipsy hula in the restaurant is a must-see. What really endears this movie to me is the supporting cast. Paula Prentiss is solid gold, and why she was never HUGE is beyond me. To see her paired again with Jim Hutton is a pleasure. Janis Paige you can always count on. The real eye-opener is the planned-community setting circa-early 1960's. The cars, the houses - It's such a perfect time capsule. This movie is so of-its-time that it's fascinating to watch on that level alone. My number-one association with this movie is Ann-Margret singing the title song on the Academy Awards that year - Talk about a star is born. Anyway, this movie is definitely one I keep coming back to, for whatever reasons. It's MGM, so it shows up on TCM now and then.

  • paula prentis/bob hope magic

    • penny Loken-Evans
    • 9/8/08

    Bachlor is early cutting edge how to be through perfect woman through a man's eyes, only to discover that men have their preferences as well.

  • A.J. (WOLF) MILES

    • iris
    • 4/13/08

    Bachelor in paradise, is so funny, bob and lana are amazing in it, image a casanova in a subdivision full of lonely wifes, and he's helping them regain there husbands love, he is also writting a book on love in america and the husbands are not happy, you'll have to see it for yourself, it is so funny and very enjoyable, I watch itall the time. I can't wait for it to be on dvd I hope very soon. iris

  • Best Bob Hope movie...

    • Asa Quon
    • 1/10/07

    Bachelor In Paradise is one of my favorite if not the best Bob Hope movie ever. Compared to other Hope movies of the mid- and late-sixties, the script is intelligent and witty, less reliant on sight-gags. This film was clearly intended for ADULTS ! There are some details which you can quibble with, so you have to suspend your disbelief at the set-up and conclusion. But as Hitchcock would say, "It's just a movie..."Lana Turner isn't chopped liver either, nor the rest of the supporting cast. If you don't want to watch the film, at least listen to the boffo Mancini score. 10 out of 10. A must-see !AQ

  • Bachelor in Paradise

    • Pete
    • 5/12/06

    If you like Bob Hope you will love this movie. Typical Bob Hope humor put together with a good cast and subject makes it one of Bob's best movies without Bing. The only thing missing in this movie was Phylyss Diller.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.