skip navigation
Anne of Green Gables

Anne of Green Gables(1934)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Anne of Green... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Why Anne of Green Gables is a Beloved Classic?

    • Cordelia
    • 5/30/14

    I'll tell you why "Anne of Green Gables" is a beloved classic. It is because the movie captures & exudes innocence, virtue, wholesomeness & goodness. Yes, the moral absolutes exalted in that time period of history. Those wisps of morality float melodically through our souls & thoughts like a spring breeze. Dreamy, imaginitive, Anne well embodies & represents the beauty, innocence, virtuousness of "girlhood." Indeed, the goodness & security of childhood in all its' purity is well captured in the person of Anne Shirley. That's what enraptures the audience & makes us feel good. Matthew & Marilla & Anne's "kindred spirits" as Anne put it, was wonderful to behold. Great cast in this black/white version which in many ways, I love more than the modern updated version of the movie. Ann's blossoming into a lovely young lady & her first & true love Gilbert is enrapturing to behold. It stirs up memories of ones' own girlhood crushes & first love. Not only that, but the "women empowermment" aspects of the movie are highlighted via Ann's smarts & college endeavors. Yes, the historical march for women's equality is well represented through Marilla & Matthew's insistance & determination in affording Ann a college education. Yes, this movie had it all. Human dignity is upheld in this movie all mellowed out & told through the life of an orphan girl. Love triumphs & sad is the soul who doesn't love, love! :-) Anne of Green Gables? 5 stars ***** Indeed, a million stars of excellency can be seen throughout this delightful, little heartwarming movie. Bravo.

  • Anne of Green Gables

    • Patty
    • 2/26/14

    I think this is a wonderful movie. I was an orphan when I was younger. This movies brings back memories for me. I had two wonderful people who raised me. They were older likes the ones in this movie. All t the cast are remarkable for their wonderful in this movie.

  • Awesome, CLASSIC verion

    • Steve
    • 11/22/12

    I have enjoyed watching the Anne of Green Gables movies since my wife got me to watch it (she's a huge Anne of Green Gables fan of both books and film) but I caught this version of the movie one day on TCM years ago. My wife has never seen it and I have waited and watched for it to come on again so my wife could also enjoy it. I have talked and talked about how great this movie is and finally in thirty minutes we're going to get to watch it on TCM on Thanksgiving Day. What a treat!!

  • Memory

    • Shirley
    • 11/27/11

    This is a movie I would love to see. My daughter has an original cardboard, in color, movie poster of this movie that my mother had. Hopefully you will someday have this on DVD. This is a timeless story and we already have the 1980s version with Megan Fellows.

  • Great Film

    • tharold
    • 11/12/11

    RKO did a great job adapting the novel to film, and the best thing done was the casting of the beguiling Anne Shirley as the title character. She was always good in her films, and it is unfortunate that the studio never really knew what to do with her, thus denying her the major stardom she deserved. This film offers great attention to period details and is a joy. Great performances, too, from Helen Westley as Marilla and O.P. Heggie as Matthew. Catch this little gem!

  • Well Worth Catching

    • T Harold
    • 12/15/10

    RKO did a great job in adapting the story of Anne, and the picture was one of its biggest hits of 1934. Also interesting is that actress Anne Shirley took her final screen name from the character she so beguilingly played. Before that, she was a child actress known as Dawn O'Day! This film is enchanting and Anne Shirley, always an underated actress and poorly served by the RKO brass during her career, is arresting in the part. Helen Westley as Marilla is excellent as is O.P. Heggie as Matthew. Although not as elaborate as the TV version with Megan Followes, this film is a real charmer! Please schedule this on TCM soon!

  • Too Bad You Do Not Have It

    • Robert Morton
    • 1/15/09

    And it is too bad. I have tried to buy this video on dvd from Amazon.com but the seller never mailed it and I was refunded.I have watched eBay but unfortunately the only one that people know is the last version (the greatest one I think). The occasional one has a price of 26-36 dollars.This was a great movie! The public library had it on vhs and trashed it for shelf space. I checked it out 3 times! I feel that this is a "classic" and should very soon be featured in your Classic program. Maybe a series of Anne Shirley films, she was a good actress.Please run this movie and warn me ahead of time, PLEASE, I BEG YOU!

  • Totally refreshing

    • Henry Pennymon
    • 12/9/06

    I awoke this morning to Anne of Green Gables. I started to turn the TV off but as I heard the energy coming from the slim frame of Anne Shirley, my interest grew. I sat up and began to follow the story line. In my opinion, Anne Shirley, did a marvelous job in this role. Too bad she's not around today. Perhaps somewhat like Dakota Fanning might be able recreate such a performance. They just don't make movies like that anymore. Thanks for showing it!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.