skip navigation
Adventure

Adventure(1946)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Adventure A rough-living sailor has... MORE > $13.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Love her!

    • Kindra
    • 3/22/13

    She would love to look up to a man! But I don't think you hit hard enough! Greer Delivered the line flawlessly!

  • "Adventure" is no comedy per se...

    • Steve S.
    • 8/2/12

    To appreciate the misadventure of "Adventure" is to appreciate each sum of it's parts (Gable, Garson, Blondell & Mitchell) rather than to look at it's whole through a hole - a pidgeon-hole!So, keep looking...BTW: Blondell could save any movie but she doesn't have to save "Adventure" .Remember, keep looking!

  • comeback film

    • george snedker
    • 5/24/12

    the great icon's comeback film after war service with the famous slogan.greer garson was not a good leading lady for him joan blondell would have been much as his leading lady she's very sassy.very underated the years have improved this film.

  • Mistakes in The Article

    • Barry Lane
    • 10/3/11

    Gable was in the service for nearly four years, not two. Ronald Reagan was never a General, and Gable was forty-one when he entered the service, so a deferment was hardly required. Way too old for the draft. MGM did attempt to protect their star, but this was not to his liking, nor that of the service. While the picture doesn't really work, anyone who can put themselves in the right space will surely find compelling moments.

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 11/17/10

    Este filme excelente. Um obra prima dirigida por Victor Flemming e que marca um Clark Gable fascinante nos anos 40. Fiquei surpresa do filme ainda no estar no acervo do TCM e toro para que seje exibido o mais breve possvel. EXCELENTE

  • Adventure

    • Jack
    • 9/29/10

    I just saw this film for the first time on 9/29/10. Quite a joyous surprise for a long-time veteran of classic cinema. Every time I see Greer Garson, I fall more deeply in love with her. She is certainly one of the most beautiful women in all film history and one of its greatest actresses, but the surprise is Clark Gable, so underrated for one of the most towering icons in filmdom. Your regard for Victor Fleming is certain to climb. One of Joan Blondell's finest performances. Thomas Mitchell's Mudge, with his lost immortal soul is a mystic/poet/sailor of the highest caliber. This lesser known, strangely titled, Garson/Gable vehicle will lift your spirits. See it!

  • An Entertaining, If Not Great, Film

    • Bradley E. Lacey
    • 9/29/10

    Adventure, starring Clark Gable and Greer Garson, is an entertaining, if not great, film. I had heard that Gable's return from the war was a film that flopped, despite the winning tease of "Gable's Back and Garson's Got Him!" I found myself to be pleasantly surprised upon viewing it for the first time. It appears to be a vehicle for Gable, not Garson; indeed, Garson's role is out-of-alignment with her normal fare of more morally-elegant characterization, but I am delighted to observe that her talent is stretched and deepened, especially with the poignancy expressed in her eyes (the "ocean" that Gable found in them should be recognized by everyone!), something I found also in Random Harvest with Ronald Coleman from a few years earlier in her career. Garson's eyes glisten with tears, subtly but overtly, something not easily carried off. To be sure, the film has its cheezy and melodramatic moments, like so many of the films of the era, but the chemistry between the two leads does develop, as differing and conflicting personalities with differing backgrounds discover a common substratum of desire and substance - It's called Love! A good film, no more and no less!

  • Adventure/Clark Gable

    • WinnieWilson
    • 4/28/10

    This is not a review for the movie it self, I have already done that. This is for all Clark Gable fans. Get all your friends who like him to vote to have this movie on DVD. The more votes we get the sooner they will put it on DVD. Two more votes have been added since the last time I checked. Which was last week. So come on Clark Gable fans and friends (even if you don't appreciate him do it anyway) VOTE. I don't know about the rest of you but I have waited long enough, please help in getting this movie available to us. Thanks alot Winnie Wilson

  • Adventure/clark gable movie

    • Winnie Wilson
    • 4/7/10

    This is one of Clark Gables better movies. I want this movie because my dad would tease our mom and us girls when we would cry at the sad movies we watched on TV. This is the one and only movie we caught tears in my dad's eyes while watching this movie. It bring back happy memories about my dad.

  • Adventure

    • Erin Conner
    • 2/9/10

    I love this movie. I admit that I am a huge Greer Garson fan. But, of all the movies I have watched her in i think this is my favorite. Garson and Gable are perfect matches for each other and they fight very well. I only wish her movies were shown more often, sadly most of her films are overlooked and she was such a wonderful actress.

  • Adventure (1945)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/3/10

    Garson is terrific, and more than a match for Gable. Excellent support from Joan Blondell. The story is a bit stale however, very familiar and predictable. Very good production values, bland direction.

  • Well written and unusual film.

    • Margaret
    • 12/1/08

    I got hooked into watching this film until the wee hours. I'd never heard of it and I must admit that I'm not a big Gable fan, but this movie was an unexpected gem. Great performance by Thomas Mitchell and fine acting from Gable and Joan Blondell. The writing is what really grabbed me. The dialogue was a little odd, but captivating. Not the standard love story fare.

  • GABLE'S BACK & GARSON'S GOT 'IM!

    • debbi
    • 1/2/08

    This was the long & eagerly awaited return to the screen of the KING after his dubious stint in the Air Forces in WWII.That aside, it's also a damned fine movie.Gable is Gable ( & that ain't hay), Blondell is a great gal-pal, and Mitchell nearly walks off with this one. Garson is a bit stiff, which I realize is supposed to be the point, but her whole characterization rings just slightly off-center. And how could you pass up a chance to hear Gable crooning "The Trolley Song?" All in all, though, a nice tear-jerker--well worth the time investment.Redemption--ain't it grand?!?

  • show it again

    • P.
    • 4/7/07

    I saw this movie on TCM a few years ago and thought it was very good. Thomas Mitchell's Mudgin was an amazing bit of writing and acting. Please show it again soon and I hope it is released on DVD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.