skip navigation
Young Man with a Horn

Young Man with a Horn(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Young Man with a Horn A young trumpet player is torn... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great music, great Day, but so so film

    • Oliver Cutshaw
    • 9/13/12

    This is one of those uneasy films for me to view. It has excellent music, supplied by Harry James, wonderful vocals by Doris Day, and even a few hints of serious themes (race, sexuality, American musical history). But somehow it just does not work.Some reviewers blame the lack of chemistry between Doris Day and Kirk Douglas. Its true they don't really mix. But honestly there is plenty of fine acting... Hoagy and Lauren almost steal the picture.It think the real problem is the tagged-on happy ending and the somewhat melodramatic script that just doesn't have time to let the characters breathe and develop. However, the sound track is excellent. So take a look and a listen sometime.

  • Young Man With A Horn

    • Bruce Reber
    • 3/28/12

    I've seen "Young Man With A Horn" several times, and I recorded it on VHS when it aired on TCM in December 2010. It's a powerful story of Rick Martin, a lonely kid who buys a second hand trumpet. When he hears a jazz band playing in a club he immediately develops a deep love for the music, and when he grows up he's a talented musician focused on one thing only-playing as a jazz trumpeter in a big band. He gets a job with a band and meets its singer Jo Jordan, who introduces him to Amy North, a shallow heiress. A complicated love triangle soon develops-Rick is torn between Jo, Amy and his music. After an ill-fated marriage to Amy Rick starts drinking and suffers a mental collapse. With the help of Jo he learns about his inner self and makes a comeback. All three of the major stars give fine performances-Kirk Douglas as Rick, Doris Day as Jo and Lauren Bacall as Amy. Hoagy Carmichael is also good as Rick's pianist friend Smoke.

  • Great film with Doris Day and Kirk Douglas

    • Craig
    • 9/4/11

    I love these old black and white films of the 40s and 50s. This is a great story about a jazz artist, his life and the women he's involved with. Doris Day is simply amazing an amazing actress, she keeps suprizing me in her dramatic roles, she just shines in all genres, doesn't she? Kirk Douglas does a great job and is very believable as the "Young Man with a Horn".

  • A Wonderful Discovery

    • David Meuel
    • 2/27/11

    I have been watching classic films for 50 years, and I am amazed that -- from time to time -- I keep discovering overlooked and vastly underrated gems. My latest is Michael Curtiz' YOUNG MAN WITH A HORN from 1950. What especially struck me is how good it is in so many ways: the music, the acting, the direction, and the cinematography. The sound track, I am told, is a favorite among jazz enthusiasts and deservedly so. Harry James' trumpet playing is so bold and poetic at the same time. And the haunting "Melancholy Rhapsody," which is played throughout, has a powerful impact. The acting is wonderful. Kirk Douglas has never been more authentically intense, and Doris Day is just perfect as a genuinely good-hearted woman who wants love and settles for friendship. The look of the film is exhilarating too. I love how Curtiz frames so many of this shots to underscore the drama, and I love the beautiful black and white cinematography. Visually it is as arresting as many of the much better known film noirs of the period. So, if you love jazz, Michael Curtiz films, or early Kirk Douglas, this film is a must-see!

  • Young Man With A Horn

    • Philip Ruisi
    • 8/11/10

    I have seen that movie a least a hundred times, And I will never get tired of seeing it. Kirk Douglas and Doris Day are the greatest Actors I have ever seen. I love that movie because I am a Trumpet player. Its too bad that they do not make movies like that anymore.

  • Young Man With a Horn

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/24/10

    Man with Trumpet tries to Make it

  • Great Movie with a great cast!

    • william warning
    • 4/12/06

    I have seen this movie a number of times and it never gets old. Kirk Douglas in his prime, Doris Day playing a real person is fresh as a diasy and has some super big band scenes singing some real classics.Hoagy Carmichal is perfect as the salty old piana player with a heart of gold. The sets and directiom by Michal Curtiz are perfect. And there is even Lauren Becall looking very young and very Laureen Becallish. This movie has every old Warner bros. cliche in the book and its played, and directed perfectly. Don't miss this one or any film directed by Michal Curtiz.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.