skip navigation
The Young Lions

The Young Lions(1958)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Young Lions - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Young Lions is sensational!!!!!

    • Kay
    • 10/1/14

    Loved the movie.I had not seen Marlon Brando as a young actor before. Talk about a hunk! When he was on-screen, there was no one else to watch. His looks and talent are unsurpassed. Watching M. Clift was painful to watch, though. Too scary in build and eyes.Would watch this movie again just to look at Brando.

  • Brando did a lot of good work in the fifties

    • Jeff Boston
    • 10/1/14

    Brando does a fine job, but almost all the other characters are abundantly inauthentic in this multi-message movie that is way too sentimental. The scenes with the three leading men and their lovers are really weak and the first hour is tune-out boring. When the captain's girl tells Brando's character "I hope you were not too bored" it was if she was talking to the viewer. The final 100 minutes (overlong!) partially redeems this misfire.

  • It's not a good movie

    • Jack
    • 9/30/14

    I've tried to watch this movie several times over the years but was unable. It's terrible.

  • Two movies in one

    • Rabha
    • 8/18/14

    There are one movie starring Marlon Brando and another one starring Dean Martin and Montgomery Clift.The former quite corresponds to one usual aspect of the usual characters interpreted by Marlon Brando. It is about standing alone against the rest of the world. The latter also can be linked to Dean Martin's career in a couple with Jerry Lewis, or less often Frank Sinatra or now with Montgomery Clift. The two moves are very different, whereas the German part expresses more reality especially with the transformation of the main character, the U.S. part reminds the viewer of a well-known Hollywood movie with their typical social values.

  • Correcting my Earlier Review

    • Trish
    • 8/11/14

    I mis-remembered this film. Brando and Clift do not have scenes together, my bad. Marlon Brando plays opposite the remarkable Maximilian Schell. Clift and Dean Martin play opposite each other. And what a revelation it was to see Dean Martin playing the disillusioned soldier. Superb!

  • A Stunning Film, Finely Acted All Around

    • Trish
    • 8/11/14

    If for no other reason than to watch Montgomery Clift and Marlon Brando playing opposite each other, find a way to watch this film. Skip work if you have to. The sheer pleasure of watching fine acting never palls. This is as good as it gets! Hope Lange and Dean Martin also terrific. If you absolutely must have bombings, machine-gunning, buildings getting blown up, soldiers and civilians blown to bits--relaxed, there will be plenty of that, too. This movie dares you to look at the brutality of wars in every way possible. A masterpiece. Don't miss it.

  • Good, but not in any way great...except Brando

    • georgieboy
    • 5/26/14

    I had seen parts of this film several years ago and finally sat down to watch the whole thing. I have several observations. Brando was, for the most part brilliant in every scene. He really showed why he was and still is considered, by some, one of the greatest actors of all time. His performance of the conflicted German soldier was wonderful to see. Clift, what can I say, he was just good. He almost seemed like he was sleepwalking through some scenes. But, it was quite painful to see after having seen him in films like 'A Place in the Sun.' Dean Martin? I just did not get that whole thing. That thread made absolutely no sense to me at all. Could have been left out. Added nothing to the final product. Maybe the film suffered from poor editing. The ending made very little sense. One of the other posters said that the film had been reedited, so maybe this was the problem.

  • Hoofen doesn't belong.

    • Ashoreinhawaii
    • 5/26/14

    If "Hoofen" liked this movie, fine. If someone else found it boring, fine."Hoofen" needs to know this isn't a site for ridiculing others' taste.

  • The Young Brando

    • 4Graces
    • 5/1/14

    I had never seen the young Brando before. I thought he was just the Godfather. I was mesmerized by this beautiful, sensitive, intuitive young actor. No wonder he built such a reputation for himself. Everything he did, especially without words, developed a stunning character study. Even the last scene where he died in the water, three last bubbles of air before the light of life was snuffed out, was memorable. As for the other major actors, poor emaciated Montgomery Clift looked like he belonged in the concentration camp, and he was so wild eyed he was scary. Dean Martin, whom I always liked, was in way over his head in this actor studded film. I did think the editing of the film was rather choppy, it leapfrogged rather than flowing smoothly. Was the TCM showing the same as the theater version? I will buy the video and watch the movie again.

  • Brando!

    • Doris
    • 4/30/14

    I usually would never sit through a war movie, but Brando was just too much "eye candy" in this movie for me to change the channel. I thought he was spectacular (actually better than in some of his other movies) and I enjoyed the story, as well. Did not find it boring at all.

  • ironic ending

    • jim conn
    • 4/29/14

    loved this movie but im still waiting to see the ending that I saw at the old Pix Theatre, Rock Hill SC, in the late 50s...Brando was carrying a photo of Barbra Rush which was found by Dean Martin...

  • the young lions

    • hoofen
    • 2/17/14

    Yup,Mr. Delaney.Nothing like a good Michael Myers or maybe Freddy Kruger movie.....Blood,gore,Guts galore.Always know what's happening next.Now that's great stuff.If I get a chance I'll have to send you "The last Airbender"Oooooh,how you'll love it..Something's happening all the time...wonderful stuff.This movie??This young lions??Never knew what was going to happen next,if anything at all...like you said.nothing ever happens..terrible,just terrible,so sorry you wasted the whole first hour on it!!!,Reminds me of something Eliah Kazan,Stanley Kubrik or ...gulp..evenJohn Ford might direct,just awful...Glad we got some real critics here...yup,I surely am.!!

  • YOUNG LIONS..MORE LIKE SLEEPY LIONS

    • tim delaney
    • 5/7/12

    I LIKE BRANDO AND MONTGOMERY CLIFT AND EVEN DEAN MARTIN. THE PACE OF THE FILM IS SO SLOW ITS HARD TO WATCH. CLIFT'S SHY CHARACTER IS ALMOST HARD TO WATCH. I GAVE UP AT THE 1 HOUR MARK AS NOTHING WAS HAPPENING....

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.