skip navigation
Young Frankenstein

Young Frankenstein(1974)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Young Frankenstein A descendant of Dr.... MORE > $5.15 Regularly $9.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Brilliant, blithe lampooning

    • Will Fox
    • 4/1/17

    Mary Shelley wrote the first Science Fiction, "Frankenstein," wonderfully inspiring imaginations ever since 1818. In 1974 comic geniuses Mel Brooks and Gene Wilder earned Academy Awards, nominations for the Best Writing, satirizing Shelley's sensation. Actor Wilder's witty wiles wins wondering women. Nubile Terri Garr, fatuous fianc Madeline Kahn, frightening housekeeper Cloris Leachman, plus all genders' spirits soar, whenever TCM titillates thrilled audiences. In an era of bizarre buzz, fake news in chronic loops, we give genuine thanks again and again for TCM, repeatedly proving laughter is the best medicine for moronic media's machinations. "Young Frankenstein" is intriguingly, ironically still saving souls.

  • Funnier than Funny

    • Tawny
    • 3/27/17

    Side-splitting funny take on the classic monster tale. Gene Wilder is the mad Dr. Frankenstein who brings the Creature to life. The cast plays each character to ridiculous perfection. There are so many moments of outright funny stuff like the ongoing gag of Igor's hump that keeps changing shoulders. Good stuff.

  • Zipper Neck

    • JanO
    • 9/27/16

    I have an old friend who occasionally calls me up out of the blue & calls me his, "Little Zipper-Neck", then hangs up! It makes me laugh until I can't breathe every time! This is just about the best comedy of all time in my book.

  • WHERE WOLF ? THERE WOLF

    • william gauslow
    • 9/9/16

    I was hooked during this scene. I've bending words ever since. You don't offer Ovaltine to a member of the Frankenstein family. That goes without saying. He'll be a popular guy. Off to the lumberyard. He was my boyfriend. You haven't touched your food. Marty Feldman waiting so patiently on the roof to play his French horn and then he only has one note to play. You gave him your brain, what did you get in return.

  • Controlled Madness

    • Charley James
    • 2/26/16

    Mel Brooks at the height of his creative insanity. Not the level of sophisticated comedy as The Producers but hysterical none the less.

  • Superb!

    • Alex
    • 2/22/16

    This in my opinion is the funniest movie ever made. Mel Brooks gets a ton of credit which he of course deserves but this is really Gene Wilder's "creation" (LIIIIIIIIIIIIFE!! GIVE MY CREATION............LIIIIIIIIIIIIFE!!). We watch this every time if is broadcast and have a backup DVD in case it's not shown for a few months and we start exhibiting withdraw symptoms.

  • young frankenstein

    • will
    • 2/12/16

    I was in the hospital, a few years ago for by pass surgery. When I first woke up after surgery and my wife came in to see me, I wanted to put her mind at ease. The first word that popped out of my mouth was SEDAGIVE. She broke down laughing and crying at the same time. Sincere thanks Mel Brooks. Like so many others, we can laugh our way through any moments, sometimes tough, or tense, by pulling back and using a line from this, one of the funniest movies ever made. So many great lines and phrases. SEDAGIVE , WERE WOLF ? WELL THEY WERE WRONG WERENT THEY. And my favorite, DONT YA KNOW JOKE WHEN YOU HERE ONE.

  • Young Frankenstein

    • Michael Whitty
    • 1/29/16

    A wonderful parody of the Frankenstein films "Young Frankenstein" captures the atmosphere through comedy as the grandson of Baron Von Frankenstein inherits the Transylvania castle where re-animation of the dead once happened. Dr.Frederick Frankenstein goes to the castle to inspect and later decides to continue the work of his grandfather. He later re-animates the Frankenstein "monster" who has quite an adventure with the town crowd. Director Mel Brooks was the king of parodies in the 70s with "Blazing Saddles", "Young Frankenstein", and "Silent Movie" and he made "Young Frankenstein" into a black-and-white spectacle to more remember the Frankenstein films.

  • Top 5 Movies

    • Nancy Cox
    • 7/15/13

    This is in the top 5 of my favorite movies of all time. I've seen it a million times, have the dialogue memorized, and it still makes me laugh. The cast and the sets are fantastic and Mel Brooks is a genius.

  • Greatest satire ever!

    • RedRain
    • 7/1/13

    There is no film that I've seen in my 68 years that makes me laugh as much as this one. I have a rather skewed sense of humor and that makes me a Mel Brooks addict! This film has so many double entendres that you have to view it several times to even keep up with them. There isn't a bad performance in the entire cast and, for me, it's Cloris Leachman, as Frau Blucher, who steals the film from the main characters. Of course, Marty Feldman as Igor of "Abby Normal" fame is no slouch either! Gene Wilder, Madeline Kahn, Peter Boyle and Teri Garr are so good in this film and their lines have you laughing until you cry. You just don't get better satire than this! Five stars for a simply great film!

  • A Halloween Tradition

    • Lily54
    • 10/19/12

    I have watched this movie every year since seeing it for the first time on the big screen in 1974. It was wicked funny to watch as a teenage, and is even funnier as the years pass on. Mel Brooks knows how to make movies that really make a person laugh, at any age. My sons have grown into men quoting Mel Brooks movies. Mel Brooks helped to shape their humor I.Q. This is the premier classic funny movie. It sets the standard for all comedy to come. The comedic timing, the perfect ensemble, the corny sets, it all makes for the perfect storm of idiocy! Love the man, love the movie! Long Live Mel Brooks - King of Comedy for all of us "Abby Normal's"

  • It is pronunced

    • mike
    • 10/18/10

    As you might have guessed, Mel Brooks has yet to find a movie genre he hasn't enjoyed satirizing. This parody of gothic horror is no exception. Freiderich Frankenstein (Gene Wilder)excuse me..FRONK-EN-STEEN, is a neurosurgeon who is also teaching at a medical school.Freiderich has spent his entire life distancing himself from his infamous grandfather. He inherits his demented grandfather's castle in Transylvainia and is curious about his experiments. Bug eyed Igor (Marty Feldman) pronounced EYE-GORE and knockout Inga (Terri Garr) assist him in bringing back to life a cadaver with an ABBY-NORMAL brain (Peter Boyle). The monster is released by Frau Blucher (Cloris Leachman) the mention of whose name terrifies horses. Hilarious don't miss scene with a blindman (Gene Hackman) and the monster. Complicating matters is Freiderich's Fiancee Elizabeth (Madeline Kahn) who is amazed by the Monster's er.."Schwanstucke",and breaks out into song. If you don't want your kids watching FRIDAY THE 13TH or A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET this Halloween, this is the movie for you.

  • One of the greatest movies of all-time!

    • Lamont Cranston
    • 4/1/08

    This film always makes my Top 5 list. From writing to music to stunts & gags, it is a film that hits on all cylinders. And IMHO has never received the recognition it deserves. What a brilliant idea to use B&W! Somebody should do something before it's too late. We've already lost Marty Feldman, Madeline Kahn and Anne Bancroft.

  • Hillarious!!!

    • Pete
    • 5/12/06

    Gene Wilder is hysterical in this romp of the original Frankenstein. Peter Boyle displayed a real talent for comedy. A cameo by Gene Hackman was a riot! Adding the antics of Marty Feldman, Terri Garr and Madeline Kahn made this a laugher from beginning to end. Filming the moviein B&W made it a double plus..

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.