skip navigation
Young at Heart

Young at Heart(1954)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Young at Heart - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Young At Heart

    • Stephen Lochmueller
    • 4/10/14

    Have enjoyed this movie many times over the years. Doris Day, Frank Sinatra were great together in this movie.Supporting cast did a wonderful job as well.

  • Young at Heart

    • R.C.
    • 7/4/11

    I decided to buy this when I saw the clip where Frank Sinatra's character Barney Sloan is first introduced. When Gig Young opens the door, Frank's back is to the camera, and then he turns around and gives this certain look that when I first saw it, seared itself right into. A chill went up and down my spine. I'm not lying, either. That's how powerful Frank Sinatra's portrayal as Barney Sloan. And unlike some, I believe that his chemistry with Doris Day is wonderful. And considering all his films that he did, I would have to say that this is my favorite Frank Sinatra film that he did all on his own. No Dean, no Gene, or anyone else. It's solely Frank. And as much as I love Doris Day, I think Frank made this film all his own.

  • ZZZZZ...

    • el debbo
    • 5/23/11

    Tacky sets, trite Ethel Barrymore huffing

  • One of My Favorite Sinatra Films

    • Courtney Pedersen
    • 5/21/11

    I must admit that when I first saw this movie I was expecting it to be something like the movies Doris Day did with Rock Hudson. So the first time I saw it, I wasn't that impressed. But I gave it another chance and it quickly became one of my favorite Sinatra movies. Now, I have a lot of Frank Sinatra's films: Guys

  • Young At Heart Character Study

    • Kevin
    • 2/27/10

    This film deserves multiple viewings to appreciate the many layers of each character. Doris' character "Laurie" is attracted to the successful and engaging "Alex burke" and they make a wonderful couple. At the begining of the film Laurie hopes that one of the neighbor's newly birthed litter of puppies will be hers, the biggest and the strongest pup. But after seeing the runt of the litter, she chooses it, calling it number 9. Her nurturing spirit is established in this scene, for later in the film, she chooses Barney Sloan over Alex, in the same way she chose Number 9. Barney needs love, stability, and hope to find the man hidden inside himself. Laurie gives him all of this through her love for him. A similar theme plays through with the other two sisters, all acting on thier ideal impulse of a perfect mate. They come to realize that exploring and accepting all of the qualities in someone is the adventure of lasting love. That's my take on this wonderful film.

  • Well...

    • Marianne
    • 11/9/08

    To be honest, I didn't see the chemistry between Doris and Frank. I love Doris Day, I think she is fantastic, but in this film, I feel that the wrong guy gets her. Laurie and Alex had much greater chemistry than Laurie and Barney. It was mildly depressing, to be honest, with the car accident and all. But, while it was not my favorite Doris Day film, it did have some good moments. Overall, it'd give it a 7.

  • It's Frank's Film!

    • Joe Amodei
    • 8/10/08

    Garfield became a star in the original and her deserved the accolades he enjoyed. But Sinatra's take on Barney Sloan gets more into your gut. This is a case of where the singer uses his ballads to help get across his characters feeling of helplesness and loneliness. It's a tough performance. One of the singer's best!

  • comparsion of young at heart and four daughters

    • barbara harper
    • 6/5/08

    When I saw Young At Heart, I noticed some of the dialouge was taken from the earlier movie and the outside of the house was the same. I also heard that Frank Sinatra refused to die like John Garfield did which I thought was good. I really liked both movies

  • Wrong Guy Gets the Girl!

    • Ann Brown
    • 5/20/08

    This film is an inferior remake of the classic melodrama "Four Daughters." Sinatra has the John Garfield part in which the character is a permanent outsider and kills himself upon realizing that fact. His death makes the character complex and fulfilling of his obvious destiny. The role made Garfield a star, but Sinatra's performance here is ridiculous, especially when most of the script is verbatim from the original film. After all girls, would you rather end up with Sinatra or yummy Gig Young? Skip this and watch the original.

  • One Of Sinatra's Best

    • Bruce Reber
    • 5/19/08

    This is a musical remake of "Four Daughters" and it is a very good film.Frank Sinatra and Doris Day are great in their scenes together both singing and acting. I think that Sinatra deserved an Oscar nomination for his performance. It's too bad they couldn't have made more movies together. Besides the great music there is also a message - that you shouldn't let bad luck or other obstacles keep you from accomplishing what you want to do in life. I would rate this as one of Sinatra's top five films.

  • Self Sympathy - Self destructive!

    • Jack Phillippe
    • 1/27/08

    This film has a message and that is, that self-sympathy is self destructive because self-sympathy must be taught and in turn destroys virtue. I found this film to be extremely depressing.

  • Classic Black & White

    • ucredd
    • 10/2/06

    This would be a great movie to show when you air the star of the month or for birthday. You have two all time greats. Frank and Doris. So please, please plan on showing this soon.

  • PLEASE!!Show "Young at Heart"

    • Edith
    • 4/26/06

    I Would love to see "Young at Heart" on Turner Classic Movies I love the music and plot of this movie. It stars two of the Greatest Singers of this era .

  • Show Young at Heart!!

    • Liz
    • 4/18/06

    Young at Heart starring Frank Sinatra and Doris Day should be shown on Turner classic movies! Its music including hits of Cole Porter and George and Ira Gershwin complement Sinatra's and Day's voices well, its plot and the chemistry between all actors is excellent. A well made film.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.