skip navigation
Young and Willing

Young and Willing(1943)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Ready & Willing to purchase this in DVD!!

    • Linda Kelso
    • 1/8/13

    Another review by two sisters (now in our 70s) who remember Young and Willing as if it were yesterday: Eddie Bracken "ripening" and falling off the mantelpiece, a dopey baby-talking friend who pays a visit and creates mayhem, young lovers starcrossed by pregnancy and war, scatterbrained landlady, etc. What fun! And a bit naughty for the 1940s. There's a whole new young(er) and willing audience out there that needs to see it along with us oldsters who still reminisce over its zany charm!

  • Hard to Watch

    • ZZinDC
    • 9/5/11

    As enjoyable as it was to see Susan Hayward, Eddie Bracken, and William Holden in their youth, I found it very difficult to watch Florence MacMichael, which of course creates a large problem for the film overall. Was that her actual voice or was she doing something intentionally? In either case, I was very tempted to turn it off before the end. I will have to look out for her in other roles to see what she was like later.

  • Can't wait to see it again, 57 years later.

    • Bob
    • 7/13/11

    It was 1952-3, when I saw this on "Night Owl Theater", on TV, in the Boston area.It was a real eye opener. I had thought you went from childhood to boring adulthood in one fell swoop.Non delinquent teen-agers weren't invented until 1954 and didn't catch on right away.I had never heard of "young adult" or "zany". This movie opened my mind to a whole new world.If the Hays Commission had known how I was going to react, they would have banned it.I can't wait to see it again, 57 years later.

  • A real treasure

    • Donna
    • 12/26/10

    My sister and I remember this film from the '50's we have searched without success to find this on video or DVD. We would both buy this film if we could find it. It is full of excellent performances and memorable scenes. I truly hope it can be released again.

  • An Undiscovered Gem

    • D.T.Q.
    • 8/31/08

    What an amazing cast - incredibly young and willing -- William Holden (23), Susan Hayward (24), Eddie Bracken (26), Barbara Britton (22), Martha O'Driscoll (19), James Brown (21), Robert Benchley, Mabel Page and the unforgettable (once you've seen her you'll never forget her) Florence MacMichael as Muriel Foster! From Francis Swann's Broadway play, "Out of the Frying Pan." One of the more delightful movie comedies of the era, ranking up there with "Junior Miss," "George Washington Slept Here" and "I Married A Witch." Bracken, as a student of Stanislavski, playing the part of an apple, is a joy to watch as he ripens on his 'bough' and the play-within-a-play is sheer lunacy. Racy in its time, with young men and women living together, and the hint of unwed motherhood, it plays today as a zany period piece. Overlooked and waiting to be rediscovered this film deserves 'cult classic' status and, at the very least, a TCM screening. Note: Actors ages reflect how old they were in 1941 when the picture was filmed not 1943 when it was released.

  • Great Movie!

    • Deb
    • 4/7/08

    My sister and I watched this together when we were probably 10 or so (some 40 years ago...) it is so much fun..we still ask each other...is she wax or is she real ????? (Storefront scene) Its a great move - I actually had to search it out and purchase it on DVD..Love it!

  • Young and Willing

    • shelley Lopiccolo
    • 1/1/08

    I still have a picture in my mind of Eddie Bracken falling out of a bookcase pretending he was an ripe apple! As a child I thought this hysterical! Catherine, maybe we will be lucky with TCM

  • Young and Willing

    • Catherine Volpe
    • 10/6/06

    I have not seen this movie since the mid 50's. I loved it and always wanted to see it again. Please please run this on TCM - email me if you do. Thank you.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.