skip navigation
Wuthering Heights

Wuthering Heights(1939)

  • Sunday, January 11 @ 06:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Friday, February 6 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Wuthering Heights A married noblewoman fights... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Actors at their finest!

    • RedRain
    • 11/27/12

    I despise the story but I am drawn to the film each time it airs because of the terrific acting! I find nothing romantic or attractive about such a willful and selfish woman as Cathy or the damningly tortured Heathcliffe. Kudos, though, to Geraldine Fitzgerald who gives a fine performance as Heathcliffe's wife and his vengeance for Kathy marrying. This film completely omits the fact that both Cathy and Heathcliffe have children by their respective spouses and these children figure prominently in the last half of the book. These children marry one another, for pete's sake, and why this fact is omitted from the film is simply beyond me! I do not understand all these fanciful comments about what a great love story this film is. The pure deception, lies, selfishness, spoiled cruelty and destruction of another person's happiness is not romantic by any stretch of the word! Cathy and Heathcliffe are not star-crossed lovers. They are the victims of their own manipulations and they would have never known real love had it walked up and smacked them in the face!

  • Classic Telling of Two Selfish People(1939)

    • nshepard
    • 11/27/12

    Classic telling of Emily Brontes tale of two self-absorbed morons Kathy Earnshaw(Merle Oberon) who never looked lovelier and Heathcliff(Lawrence Olivier) a former stable boy and adolescent love interest of kathy. Kathy and Heathcliff have this continual love/hate relationship that is destructive and pointless. Kathy decides to marry for social position to Edgar Linton(David Niven) sans moustache. Healthcliff is his usual unbearable cruel self and he decides to marry for spite. All-star cast is First Rate and the direction of Wyler is exceptional, only the silly story makes one wonder,... why ? Definite chick flick with ending that has to be seen to believed or understood. Still gets 5 stars out of 5.

  • Wuthering Heights

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 5/20/12

    A brilliantly made gothic love story. Olivier was nominated & Oberon should have been nominated for playing two passinate people longing for each other, which is ironic becuase the two performers loathed each other. Wyler's direction is wonderful, as is Gregg Toland's Academy Award- winning cinematography in this adaptation of the famous novel. The most passionate & best romance film of the year, 1939. i give it a 4.5/5.

  • Wurthering Heights

    • Courtney
    • 5/19/12

    My favorite movie of all time, one of the greatest love stories ever told and the dialogue is perfect Wyler is the king of directors.

  • Wurthering Heights

    • Jeff Phurm
    • 5/17/12

    I remember see this movie when I was young it was my first experience with the subject matter of two different people of different back grounds actually falling in love. Not a a wrong type of love but a pure love. The heroine of this movie being kind to a boy who did not know who he was or where he came from, but that did not matter to Kathy. Heath-cliff loved her at first because she was kind to him then later as a woman he realized it was not a child that he loved her as he loved her as a woman. It was forbidden he was a man of poor means or so was thought. Just look at this movie but have a lot of tissues at hand!

  • ALL TIME FAVORITE MOVIE

    • JODI C
    • 4/17/12

    I READ THIS BOOK SEVERAL TIMES IN HIGH SCHOOL & FELL IN LOVE WITH THE STORY. THIS ADAPTATION OF THE BOOK, IS THE BEST. I HAD IT IN VHS & WOULD BE JUMPING UP & DOWN IF I COULD GET IT ON DVD. WHY, WHY, WHY, IS THIS NOT ON DVD YET. ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES EVER MADE. I HAVE TO HOPE THAT TCM WILL SHOW IT ONCE IN A WHILE, SO I GET TO SEE IT. TO WHOEVER DECIDES WHAT COMES OUT IN DVD, PLEASE RELEASE THIS ONE, FOR ALL OF US WHO LOVE IT & FOR FUTURE GENERATIONS TO ENJOY IT.

  • Mayhem on the Moors

    • Bernadette P
    • 4/1/12

    Black & White film captures the dark, brooding essence of this film. Such an unforgettable love story, perfectly cast. The musical score is second to none, as are the powerful potrayals of Cathy & Heathcliff. This is a solid gold film, the likes of which will never be repeated. Once again Ms. Bronte gives us a glimpse into the "class system" and it's power to influence human values. Bravo!

  • Wondrous is right!

    • THarold
    • 3/24/12

    Landmark, stirring adaptation of the novel with brilliant performances by all. Merle Oberon is unbelievable as Cathy- an enrapturing performance from an often underrated actress. She truly IS Cathy as is Olivier as Heathcliff. Musical score is so haunting; superlative camera work and sets. Kitchen scene between Oberon and Flora Robson is heartstopping. A triumph.

  • Favorite

    • Rachel LANGERT
    • 3/23/12

    I live this film! Merle Oberon and Lawrence Oliver are wondrous, and the movie is captivating. Why, oh why can't we get it on DVD or blue ray?!? Des anyone know?

  • WUTHERING HEIGHTS

    • Lioness
    • 2/8/12

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS MOVIE. Why don't you show it more often. Merle Oberone and Laurence Olivier are the best. I just love all your 'Black & White' movies. I reckon I am just a romantic at heart. However, I could go on and on about this movie, and at least a 100 others with some of my most favorite actors/actresses. This movie, by far is definitely in the top ten.Keep up the good work TMC. Don' know what I would do without this channel. Truly! :-)

  • My favorite movie of all time!

    • Tammy
    • 12/22/11

    This movie is by far my favorite movie of all time. You feel like you're living it as you're watching it. Such intensity and emotion. I still cry everytime I watch it.

  • My Favorite Film

    • Kendra
    • 11/26/11

    One of the best films of the classic Hollywood era, and definitely one of the shining gems of 1939. It's a real shame this film isn't on DVD in the US when so many lesser films have gotten the special treatment (and many films have been re-released countless times).

  • The best (albeit not complete) adaptation...

    • Susan
    • 7/4/11

    I still think this is the best adaptation of Bronte's novel out of the gozillion remakes out there. This one has so much intensity and heart. The performances are just incredible. The music is incredible. The cinematography is absolutely magical! And of course, the direction is first rate.I won't recap the story- but I will tell you that this version is heads & shoulders above the rest. Movies do imitate life, and in parallel to that imitation, this movie is filled with moments that are absolutely unforgettable. This is due to the actors- everyone in this movie is first rate. All the supporting roles (Geraldine Fitzgerald, Donald Crisp, Leo Carroll, Flora Robson, David Niven) are all seamlessly committed to their roles in a way that makes watching them vicariously enjoyable. Even the children that play the leads in their youth are incredibly good!The leads, played by Oberon & Olivier are so well matched, you'd believe they were really in love. They have a chemistry and an intensity that makes you believe in them. After all, this story is one which does require some suspension of disbelief, but the artistry of Oberon & Olivier make it easy and quite frankly, unnoticeable. One of my favorite things that no remake can compete with is the score by Alfred Newman. His light and joyful children's theme and the brooding themes are so organic and seem come from the action in the film. But probably the most memorable is "Cathy's theme." It defines the love of Cathy in the movie in musical terms. It is, as they say, the language of the soul in this movie.The beautiful cinematography by Gregg Toland is absolutely RADIANT. Despite a dark story full of longing, angst and pain, his radiant cinematography illuminates the faces of the actors in a way that is almost supernatural. In fact, the scene where Cathy turns to Ellen and says, "Ellen, I AM Heathcliff!" with the lightening in the background actually does seem almost supernatural! 5 out of 4 star movie!!

  • Wuthering Heights

    • Mary
    • 2/18/11

    I hope some day soon you will make this available to us on DVD so we can add it to our collection. I just love the move, and sometime can't watch it at the times you show it. I never get tired of seeing this movie

  • true love is only once

    • sonia
    • 2/12/11

    no matter how many times i see this movie it fills me with emotions as if i were watching it for the first time

  • WUTHERING HEIGHTS

    • JODI
    • 1/29/11

    THIS IS MY ALL TIME FAVORITE MOVIE & BOOK. I HAD IT WHEN IT WAS ON VHS, & CANNOT BELIEVE I CANNOT GET IT ON DVD. PLEASE GET THIS WONDERFUL VERSION OF THIS MOVIE ON DVD.

  • Wuthering Heights (1939)

    • 1FromMuskogee
    • 1/5/11

    Blame my wild, gypsy heart, but I love this movie. How can you not feel the anguish and heartache that Heathcliff carries? And not want to slap the spoiled Cathy? Oh, that is right, she does get a good slap! "Here! Have my dirty hands!" These two actors are fantastic. Lawrence O. is the ultimate Heathcliff. I have seen the other versions, but this one is the one. This is Wuthering Heights. Please do put this movie on DVD- it would be a wonderful treat.

  • Wuthering Heights 1939

    • Deborah Ann
    • 11/28/10

    A Fantastic Film. This film should have been on DVD a long time ago. The more I see this film on T.V. The more I enjoy it.Its captivating and romantic I love it!Just as soon as it becomes available I will be the first to buy!

  • Wuthering Heights

    • Esperanza
    • 11/17/10

    This is one of my favorite movies of all time I had been looking for it for a long time and was never able to find it till now for those of you who are looking for this movie to add to your movie collection you can find it on amazon.com

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 11/7/10

    Grandioso filme dirigido por William Wyler e que soube extrair dos atores grandes atuaes. Uns dos melhores filmes de Laurence Olivier e o meu filme preferido dele.

  • Wuthering Heights

    • Irma
    • 9/30/10

    My favorite love story. Have seen it numerous times. The original black and white is the best version and very sad that it is not available on DVD. Have looked everywhere to buy DVD. Would not hesitate to buy if available.

  • Simply Great!

    • Charles
    • 9/30/10

    I have watched this movie so many times, I practically know all the dialogue. I fell in love with Cathy the first time I watched the movie...I was 8 years old. The end of the movie always leaves me with a lump in my throat.I don't waste my money on the material coming from the movie theaters today. However, I pay $100.00 to see Wuthering Heights on the big screen.I smell the heather....Charlie

  • just a classic

    • Jennifer
    • 6/3/10

    this will always be one of my favorite movies. the original black and white version is near and dear to my heart. Its really frustrating that its not out on DVD or even video its ridiculous! as its true with many other movies that were made in the 40's. put these older movies out on video don't let them be lost forever!

  • watched this movie again last night

    • karen
    • 1/31/10

    i had forgotten what a truly beautiful movie this is and the love story is amazing the last scenes always make me cry

  • greatest love story ever told

    • paul joseph chiusano
    • 1/30/10

    this is truly the greatest love story ever written or produced on film.should be required watching as the declaration of independence is for reading.the overblown gone with wind doesnt even compare to the granduer or this film.may it never die like the love between kathy and heathcliff never did.

  • The best movie of 1939

    • gchernetz
    • 1/18/10

    A treat for its great acting, beautiful actors, and wonderful editing. And the music is right on. If you are a film major or film buff, this is the version to watch and learn from.

  • A True Classic

    • elizabeth martinez
    • 12/5/09

    This is such an amazing film i can hardly find words. By far my favorite adaptation to Emily Bronte's work. Laurence Olivier was such a perfect Heathcliff!

  • Please bring this wonderful film to DVD

    • Maria E. Moreno
    • 11/8/09

    This is such a beautiful film, including wonderful acting, atmospheric and an all around a classic. I love this movie. The other version that I have seen, the 1970 version, was very good but not the same. My mom loved this movie and she introduced it to me. We watch it each time it is on TCM. There is no Heathcliffe like Laurence Olivier and no Cathy like Merle Oberon. The passion and tumultuousness of their relationship is incredibly well played out. It also has a very gothic flavor, true to the Bronte style. The musical score is haunting. See it.

  • It's Been A Long Time . . .

    • Jay Pierce
    • 10/29/09

    Without revealing my age I saw the first release of Wuthering Heights as a very young man and burned with envy that a man was loved with such passion--regardless of the long-term outcome of the relationship. To desire another human being with such complete abandon is a freedom few of us ever experience.

  • Wuthering Heights

    • Rachel
    • 9/18/09

    I have also been looking for this version of Wuthering Heights. The newer versions just can't compare to the passion that the actors had. when acting was acting. That I feel makes this movie one of the best. So if anyone out there finds this movie on DVD let us know.

  • Wuthering Heights VHS or DVD

    • ginger hornberger
    • 9/16/09

    This is the one of the very few movies I would watch over and over again. My ex-husband destroyed my VHS of Wuthering Heights and I have missed watching Wuthering Heights immensely. It is the most wonderful movie and I would like to find out how to go about getting a copy of it. Sincerely and eternally grateful for your time and effort in finding me a copy of it.Ginger Hornberger

  • I would watch this every day!!

    • V. Jones
    • 8/31/09

    I have been trying for years to find a DVD of this film - I hope someday to be able to purchase it. Everything from the actors to the set decorations, to the direction, to the weather sequences are breathtaking.

  • Best Movie Ever Produced

    • Joan W. Reid
    • 7/26/09

    Wuthering Heights is the most outstanding classic movie shown on TCM. In my opinion, it is the best film that Lawrence Olivier and Merle Oberon ever made. I know 1939 is known for the best movies ever produced and that is a true statement. Most of your viewers that are my age were required to read Wuthering Heights during high school. What a classic! I always try to watch Wuthering Heights when it is played on TCM (which is not often enough) and I have recorded it on VCR.

  • A must see classic!

    • Debra
    • 7/5/09

    In my oppinion this is one of the best movies ever made! It rates for me as high as such movies as Gone with the wind and even The wizard of oz. This beautifully written love stoy is an instant classic with true artistry in the actors performances. It should also be made available on dvd. I will be the first to purchase!

  • A Classic

    • Chelsea
    • 5/21/09

    This movie was the first film I ever watched on TCM, and it's undoubtedly the reason I continue to come back to this channel. I love Turner Classic Movies with a passion...what this station does for me is something that I can't even describe myself. That is why this movie deserves to be on home video. Everyone needs to be able to relish in a good old-fashioned tragic love story. Watching Wuthering Heights with Olivier and Oberon moved me to read the Bronte novel, and I have an even greater respect for the film now than before. Also, it would be nice to be able to watch this movie during the daytime rather than in the middle of the night. When I first watched it, I believe it was in the afternoon, which was convenient. Having to wake up in the middle of the night just to see such a great film is a bit of a bother. But if that's what it takes to watch Wuthering Heights (1939), of course I would do it.

  • Wuthering Heights on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 5/6/09

    I think this film should be on DVD. I like Laurence Olivier.

  • My favorite movie.

    • aliciasegura
    • 3/24/09

    I love this movie one rainy after noon me and my mother watched it. I had never seen this movie and after that it has become my favorite movie.

  • Wuthering Heights.

    • C.Richardson
    • 4/14/08

    just to let anyone know who might be interested, Wuthering Heights is available on DVD at amazon.com

  • PATRICIA CAN NOT BELIEVE!!!!

    • PAT
    • 4/8/08

    THIS LOVE STORY IS ONE OF THE BEST I HAVE SEEN. PLEASE MAKE IT AVAILABLE ON DVD. TO ENJOY WITH MY FAMILY WHENEVER I WANT.

  • UNREAL!! WHY NOT ON DVD YET???

    • Carolyn Brackens
    • 4/7/08

    This is unreal! Why is this wonderful, great movie, the greatest love story EVER!!!! not on DVD?? Just how many votes are needed?? TO: The Powers that be 'let's get it on'!! DVD!

  • Wuthering Heights

    • hananh
    • 4/6/08

    why this classice is not available on dvd yet?

  • Come On!!!!

    • Julianne Elandt
    • 3/9/08

    I can't believe this movie has not yet been released into DVD form yet, after all it is a classic. If we want the old movies and their actors to be watched and treasured by our young people we should have them readily available for them to see. It's a shame when you can purchase something like "Nightmare On Elmstreet" for our children to watch, but true classics where a person can experience something worth watching it isn't there for them. Shame Shame!!!

  • one of the greastest movies ever

    • vicky
    • 2/21/08

    wuthering heights is one of my all-time favorite movies. it makes me cry whenever it's on.

  • This movie, Wuthering Heights

    • Joyce
    • 2/20/08

    I like it better than Gone with the wind. Laurence Olivier is The most tremendous male actor and Meryl Oberon is just as lovely and so cute and so everything. William Wyler Is the greatest Genius director in the world. The competition with Vivian Leigh's performance in Gone with the Wind was just too powerful and the publicity and color for Wuthering Heights to compare with but that does not alter the sublime perfection of this picture.

  • The best love story of all time!

    • edie N.
    • 2/19/08

    This is the best love story of all time. Watched it with my grandmother when I was a child, now I watch it with my children and they love it too! I did own it as a VCR movie years ago, but was lost when I moved, would like to own it again, but unable to find it anywhere. Only the original movie is the best...I still cry each time I watch it.

  • the best love story ever made.

    • karen
    • 12/9/07

    i cry everytime i see this movie.

  • Head and Shoulders Above the Rest

    • Marie
    • 10/28/07

    This movie is priceless and far above any rating system. It is a gripping portrayal of love itself in its different forms and expressions. It should be out on DVD. I do watch it each time it is on TCM. It is the gem of a great year for movies.

  • 1939/Wuthering Heights

    • Paul Sarna
    • 9/21/07

    Terribly underrated movie. One of the best love stories (at least my favorite) I have ever seen. Even after seeing it a dozen times, I can't help but getting very emotional during the final 20 minutes. Merle Oberon is wonderful in this film and should be given more credit as a great actress. Another 1939 classic!

  • One of the Greatest Movies.

    • alicia
    • 9/9/07

    It's beyond my understanding why this movie is not yet on dvd! It's one of the greatest movies w/one of the greatest actors Lawrence Olivia. I can't count how many times I have seen this movie (even read the book) & I never tire of watching it.

  • Wuthering Heights 1939

    • Sue
    • 8/22/07

    Probably one of the best films made. Everyone should see it. I watch it as often as I can, never get tired of it!! The music is wonderful, haunting.

  • A love story that transcends time

    • Evelyn
    • 8/17/07

    I could watch this tale of tragic love over and over again. The characters are woven together to make this movie an unmistakeable romantic classic. Heathcliff is tormented and Catherine is the cause and she knows it. She thought she was too good for Heathcliff, yet her heart yearned for him until her death and even after her death. Superb acting and cast.

  • Wuthering Heights - 1939

    • Kayla
    • 8/15/07

    This has to be one of the greatest films of all time. From the first moment I watched it I immediately fell in love.The characters are so complex, unique, and real. Cathy and Heathcliff...there are very few cinema romances that can rival theirs.The emotion this movie holds is so intense. From start to finish you are engulfed in every scene played, every word spoken.I could watch this movie a thousand times over and still never be tired of it...I would love it just as much as I did the first time.If only all movies were made like this one. I think Hollywood would be much better for it if films were so powerful and moving like Wuthering Heights is.

  • A timesless epic of love

    • Sara
    • 8/6/07

    One of the greatest of all time. Perfectly cast version of the tragic tale of passionate lovers Cathy and Heathcliff. Laurence oliver was born for this role. I could watch over and over. The score is perfect.

  • OUTSTANDING FILM

    • WILSON
    • 5/16/07

    THIS IS AN EPIC MOTION PICTURE. I SAW IT ON TCM AND I CANT WAIT TO SEE IT AGAIN.IT HAS EVERYTHING IT NEEDS TO MAKE IT AN EXCITING FILM.LAURENCE OLIVIER IS OUTSTANDING. IT IS FILLED WITH INTENSE FROM START TO FINISH.

  • Wonderful Film!!!!

    • Miriam Necastro
    • 5/16/07

    The first time i saw this movie was when it was shown for Laurence Oliviers birthday,& have never recovered from that first showing!!I like romantic movies,& I love Larry Olivier!! I highly recomend this movie & wish TCM would show it more & get it onto home video!! Though Gone With the Wind is my all time favorite film this is in my top 3!!

  • Movie direction at its best!

    • Sue
    • 4/28/07

    This movie is one that will be in my classic collection as soon as it is relased for purchase on DVD. It's the true meaning of unconditional love. And I thought I knew what love meant! Ha!

  • I havent been the same...

    • araceli
    • 3/12/07

    i'm a fool romantic, and i see so many films, and i have to say, i accidentally saw this film on TMC the other night and OMG i havent been the same. I love this movie, i honestly say this film is better than GONE WITH THE WIND. I adore it. Im looking forward to seeing more laurence olivier films, thanks.

  • Samual Goldwyn's Masterpiece

    • Sonya
    • 2/28/07

    Why couldn't this movie be a tie with Gone With the Wind? How Great can a movie get?

  • The Best

    • Renee
    • 11/15/06

    I have seen every film about Wuthering Heights and in my opinion the one with Merle Oberon, Sir Laurence Olivier and David Niven is by far the best. I had the film on VHS and made the mistake of loneing it out, (of course it never was returned). This is the only one that makes me believe that perhaps a love like theirs could really exist and that perhaps one could really wait for there true love. The story is wonderful and the actors make it even better. This is an Academy Award Winner in all ways, story, stars, Director etc.....I have seen the movie too many times to count now and will continue to see it every chance I get, it is a MUST HAVE for the movie buff.....

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.