skip navigation
Village of the Damned

Village of the Damned(1960)

  • Saturday, October 25 @ 10:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Village of the Damned After a mysterious blackout,... MORE > $6.99 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A True Classic of Terror and Suspense

    • nancy2001
    • 7/4/14

    Like a few of the other reviewers I saw Village of the Damned at a local movie theater when I was seven years old and had nightmares for weeks. I saw the film again last night and enjoyed it thoroughly. Everything about this movie is elegant and understated, and it can be enjoyed on many levels. Village of the Damned tells the story of a dozen alien-hybrid children born in a picturesque English village who plot to use their strange telepathic powers to take over the world. The wonderful George Sanders is the rich lord of the manor who studies, teaches and protects the children until it is almost too late.

  • VILLAGE (1960)

    • DB
    • 7/2/14

    One of the best scifi/horror flix of it's day. I saw this movie when I was seven years old.I have never ever forgotten about it. In it's own simple way,it effectively creeps you out,and leaves a lasting impression. This movie is simpler than movies of today,but it holds it's own because it was masterfully done. A true classic!

  • Scared the Heck Out of Me

    • Movie Lady
    • 3/8/14

    When I was 6 years old, the ad for this movie ran seemingly constantly on TV. It absolutely terrified me because the children never blinked. Their eyes just stared. I can't explain why that so upset me; but it got to where when my mother would hear the music for the ad begin, she would tell me to turn around so I wouldn't see the children. Many, many years later, I actually saw the movie and have seen it several times since. I think it is one of the best sci-fi movies ever made. I have a soft spot for it despite, or maybe because of, my childhood fear.

  • Fabulously suspenseful

    • Fred
    • 6/28/12

    I stumbled upon this movie on TCM this morning and I am glad I did! Creepy, scary, suspenseful, really kept me interested. I had never seen it before and now I want to find it on DVD.

  • Subtly Scary Horror

    • Bruce Reber
    • 6/10/10

    I have seen "Village Of The Damned" several times and it's one of my favorite horror films. In a small English village nearly every woman gives birth to blond haired kids with strange eyes and supernatural powers, and as it becomes apparent that they intend to rule the world, it's up to George Sanders to save humankind from the evil superkids by blowing them up and himself along with them. It's interesting to speculate where the superkids came from - outer space or the result of secret experiments to create a new superhuman master race. Whatever, "Village Of The Damned" is a very well made SciFi-Horror film. I would also like to see it on DVD soon.

  • Village of the Damned (1960)

    • Jay
    • 1/6/09

    Starts out strong and remains interesting throughout. The great cast does a fine job. Skillfully crafted and very suspenseful. Good direction. Very original in 1960. Excellent.

  • Beware the Eyes That Paralyze!

    • Beamshipcaptain
    • 12/15/08

    Easily one of the scariest Sci-Fi movies ever made, and very expertly written, acted, scripted, directed, minimal (but effective) use of SPFX, rare casting of George Sanders as a good-guy, and a very effective, blood-chilling music-score.From the intelligent, understated and thought-provoking novel by British SF writer John Wyndham (THE MIDWICH CUCKOOS). The European Cuckoo is a bird that lays its eggs in the nest of other species of birds, parasitically. The greedy Cuckoo-chick, when hatched, then eats all the food the host-parent birds can catch, who work themselves to death feeding the Cuckoo-chick, and the Host bird's actual offspring cannot compete with the Cuckoo-chick, and die. The callous exploitation of a natural-proclivity, to rear the young, regardless of appearance is the host bird family's demise. The film explores the questions of the motives of UFOs,and their occupants, and abductions/pregnancies (and this is in the 50s!) and what might happen when we are faced with our evolutionary successors on this Earth. "We are Ape advanced a million years, and from what I've seen, I think we need PROTECTION against Man advanced a million years." Beware the Eyes that Paralyze!

  • VILLAGE OF THE DAMNED still enthralls.

    • david lincoln brooks
    • 7/3/07

    Make no mistake, VILLAGE OF THE DAMNED (1960) is a bang-up, first-rate horror/thriller. Ten times more stylish, elegant, moving and genuinely terrifying than any twenty horror films which emerge today. What is especially gripping is the way the horror is not played for drive-in camp, as in so many horror films.... it's played for keeps, in the great traditions of, say THE EXORCIST, DON'T LOOK NOW or NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD. How they coaxed such fearsome performances out of those little blond kids-- especially little "David"-- is a great movie-making triumph.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.