skip navigation
The Wolf Man

The Wolf Man(1941)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Wolf Man A British nobleman undergoes a... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Glycerine Trees & Full Moons(1941)

    • nshepard
    • 10/31/12

    Glycerine Trees & Full Moons do not make for a romantic evening, but Lawrence Talbot(Lon Chaney,jr.) along with Gwen Conliffe(Evelyn Ankers) dodge Werewolves, Weird Gypsies and a gun toting mob in trying to sort out the mystery of "The Wolf Man." Chaney comes home, but out on a date is attacked by a "werewolf", and once bitten suffers the "curse when the Moon turns full. Great Stuff! Daddy Talbot(Claude Rains ) only deals with known reality and won't allow for superstitious nonsense. The gypsy Maleva(Maria Ouspenskya) a famous Russian Comedienne Actress is terrific as the conduit between Larry and his affliction.Bela the gypsy(Bela Lugosi) is the original werewolf in this film and meets his demise early. Director George WaGGner does a great job and keeps the suspense going. Also notable starsRalph Bellamy, Patric Knowles, and Warren Williams , who does not play a sleaze bag in this film. 5 stars out of 5 , love those glycerine trees...

  • LON CHANEY JR. OUT OF HIS FATHERS SHADOW

    • CALVIN PAGE
    • 10/31/12

    LON CHANEY JR. WOLFMAN WAS A ORIGINAL MONSTER FOR UNIVERSAL. HIS IS A ICON EVEN IN THE 21st century MONSTER FILMS.

  • Love This Film

    • Claude
    • 10/9/12

    Best movie Lon Jr. did. Claude Rains is awesome, far excels remake.

  • Great Film

    • Wolfie
    • 8/17/12

    Very sensitive,moving film.Strange to have American Lon playing Englishman's son,but I suppose he could have lost most of his accent in 18 years.Claude is the biggest standout for me,but all actors are magnificent.

  • The Wolf Man

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/5/12

    Another great addition to Universal's collection of monsters. Chaney,Jr. is iconic as the title character & Ouspenskaya is unforgettable, however other performers like Bellamy & William are too brief to appreciate. Creepy atmosphere & Jack Pierce's makeup create a great horror film; along with hidden emphasis of repressed sexuality as the motivating factor behind Chaney, Jr.'s crimes. An excellent film that created one of the later, successful monsters. I give it a 4/5.

  • No comparison?

    • Graham Thomas
    • 8/5/12

    What, no comparisons to American Werewolf in London? Watch out, there's a bad moon rising!

  • GREAT PERFORMANCES BY EVERYBODY

    • Michael Steven
    • 8/1/12

    I would have to rate this film,as Lon Chaney,Jr's 2nd great role after Lewis Milestone's production of "OF MICE & MEN".Lon Chaney,NEVER wanted his son in the film business,EVER!He knew how the game was played,& he also knew that unless one was a MAJOR star,the work wasn't as frequent.The Wolfman,was released around the time Pearl Harbor was attacked,Dec.1941.Universal had another hit on it's hands.Make-up wizard Jack Pierce,had his hands full on this assignment.1.Jack & Lon,didn't get along well2.Jack pulled off another make-up wonder,with all that yak hair,& the time it took to apply it.Roughly about 4 hours.Claude Rains once again,gives another great performance.It's said that when Claude got the script & his agent told him what the story was about,he rolled his eyes up & lightly shook his head.At the end of the film,where Claude Rains strikes The Wolfman,he actually struck Lon,FULL FORCE with that cane.Needless to say,Lon was bruised up a bit,when the camera's stopped shooting.Bela Lugosi,Evelyn Ankers,Ralph Bellamy,Patrick Knowles,Maria Ouspenskaya......GREAT PERFORMANCES by everybody.I recently saw someone at one of our hotels here in Las Vegas,who actually had a silver wolf's head cane,from this film.IT LOOKED COOL!!! Another classic for Universal's Reign of Horror.

  • Internal logic of the film

    • Joyce Haywood
    • 11/1/11

    Good movie. Why didn't Bela Legosi's mother just kill Lon Chaney Jr. and end the curse of the warewolf since her son had suffered so much?

  • wolfman

    • freeman pascal
    • 10/10/11

    Have seen this movie 20 times at least and will watch it again tonight. Loved all the old classics.

  • I thought it woud be more intense.

    • Chris
    • 5/19/11

    Very short movie so the suspense is lacking. Good performances though. Loved Maria Ouspenskaya.

  • wolfman

    • beverly
    • 5/13/11

    thats a good movie too

  • A Modern Day Fairy Tale

    • Dan Grissom
    • 12/13/10

    Universal's 1941 version of 'The Wolf Man' is a modern day fairy tale. The location is supposed to be Wales, but the time period is very ambiguous. The sets are like a Disney Movie come to life, and the story has got to be one of the best screen plays ever written. So much of Curt Siodmak's story is now considered legend it's almost unbelievable that the story was created by Siodmak and is not based on legend. Lon Chaney Jr. turns in the best acting of his career and the supporting cast is top-notch. When you have Bela Lugosi in such a bit part, but a key part, you really are fortunate. Ralph Bellamy, Warren William, Patrick Knowles, Maria Ouspenskaya and of course the great Claude Rains...how could this not be a great picture?

  • The Wolf Man - Lon Chaney

    • angela sanders
    • 10/16/10

    This is a true horror movie classic. The first time I saw this movie I know I was in my early teens. I loved it then, but I did not realize the classic feel that it possessed at that time. I saw it on a saturday matinee show called "Sir Graves Ghastly". Lon Chaney was so handsome and a sharp dresser in this true classic. I hope it can be scheduled to be seen on the TCM for a Halloween special. If not I guess I will be forced to purchase it and add it to my movie collection.Thank-You

  • The Wolf Man

    • Trevor Holtzworth
    • 10/10/10

    The Wolf Man.5 Stars All The Way. A very nice Erie Creepy film.What a Fabulous Cast.Great job by Lon jr.playing the pathetic Larry Talbot.Probably the best acting that he ever did.All the actors are just perfectly cast in their rolesWith the Wolf Man lurking in that Dark Foggy Forest it`s just plain scary.The striking musical scorecompliments the Wolf Man,especially when he goes on attack.This film has a Film Noir quality about itbecause there are very few happy scenes in it.Especially the Very Sad Ending of Father killing son.Most of All,The Make-Up Masterpiece of Jack Pierceputs this Universal Monster Movie on top.Then the

  • The Wolf Man (1941)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/1/10

    This is such an excellent classic horror film, Lon Chaney Jr. does a terrific job in the title role. Claude Rains, as always is outstanding. The special effects are quite remarkable. Exciting, well paced, eerie atmosphere and fine production values. Great cinematography, interesting art direction. Maria Ouspenskaya is memorable as the elderly gypsy woman.

  • My Favorite Monster Movie

    • Rickula
    • 3/23/09

    Lon Chaney Jr. really makes you feel bad for Larry Talbot... you want him to live.

  • I love this movie too.

    • Rosie
    • 10/9/08

    Although this version dated, I think it is still the best--one of those great Univeral monster movies. Yes, special effects in the new millenium are awesome, but there is still something terrifying about this story--the black and white footage, the forest and the fog, the morph from man to wolf and back. The actors are wonderful: Bela Lugosi, Maria Ouspenskaya, Claude Rains and Lon Chaney Jr.

  • Amazing!!!!!!!!!

    • Spencer Dunnings
    • 7/24/08

    The Wolf Man is my favorite horror movie of all time. I'm still in shock when he attack the grave digger.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.