skip navigation
With a Song in My Heart

With a Song in My Heart(1952)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

With a Song in... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • My Mother's Song

    • Emma
    • 9/13/14

    I remember my mother doing her work and singing this beautiful song and always told me that when I got married she would write down the words for me. The song she sang started out like this "With a Song in My Heart Now and Forever." How beautiful she sang.But the lyrics by Perry Como do not have these lyrics. So is there another singer that sings this wonderful & beautiful song?

  • With a Song in my Heart

    • Kathy Young
    • 9/3/14

    LOVED, LOVED this movie!! I love Susan Hayward, have since I was a little girl.I have enjoyed TCM so much, getting to watch old movies now and know what's going on with the CC (Closed - Captioned)..its been a blessing for me! I love all of the movies on TCM, just about! ;) I thank you for TCM, I've enjoying the old movies that I missed out on as a child.Keep up with the GREAT work!!!Kathy

  • With a Song in My Heart

    • Rick Sisson
    • 9/1/14

    5 Star Entertainment!!!!Who cares what Leonard Maltin thinks.

  • This is the one musical----

    • Jackie
    • 8/20/14

    This is the one musical that Twenty Century Fox made that is there top of the line. I know most give MGM there applause when it come to music but I never did, I was a Warner Brothers fan when it came to music but this picture is the one exception. If you have a chance to see it, do, then turn up the sound and listen---it's great!!!

  • A glorious voice in glorious color

    • Barbara
    • 5/6/14

    I suppose this film seems a bit corny now, but having known Jane Froman for so many years, the pain was not corny, and the voice was never corny. Susan Hayward did a superb job; the music was brilliant and her acting, as well as that of Thelma Ritter and Robert Wagner were superb.

  • A Star Is A Star Is A Star

    • Adventure
    • 3/14/12

    Susan Hayward was a Star, and in fact after she died at a relatively young age of 57 from brain cancer someone every year would note Hayward's passing with the notice: A Star Is A Star Is A Star. Truly befitting this wonderful star. Film critic David Kehr wrote a great essay about Hayward years ago stating Hayward uniquely could portray troubled doomed women. Agree. 20th Century Fox had the Hayward under contract and this film is a reflection of the star system at best. With A Song In My Heart is the sole 20th film to garner the Star an Academy nomination. It is the true story of singer Jane Froman as an entertainer in WW2 and the injury and recovery of Froman. Few stars could pull off the emotional punch Hayward delivers. This is a Susan Hayward picture, if you like the work of this talented actress, you will love this movie. I know I did.

  • Meu filme do coração

    • Sonia
    • 10/31/10

    Este um dos meus filmes preferidos com a Susan. Ela est maravilhosa,divinamente linda com canes maravilhosas. Um filme que eu daria 10 estrelas.

  • Jane Froman's Voice

    • A Boston Reviewer
    • 7/29/10

    The most important component -- All the songs were recorded by Jane Froman herself, who worked as technical advisor on the film set. The vocal recordings alone make this a five star film!

  • With a Song in My Heart (1952)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 3/4/09

    Susan Hayward does an amazing job as Jane Froman. This is her picture all the way. Very well made, good costumes, excellent music score. Always interesting and the characters are very well defined.

  • A film for ever.

    • Gaston K. Rivera
    • 12/10/07

    Last night I saw "With a Song in My Heart". It's been so many times, I can hardly remember. This was the first time on DVD!! I often wondered what took so long to release it in DVD so we may enjoy it when ever we want.A magnetic star, Susan Hayward outdid herself as Jane Froman. She was at the peek of her beauty. When I saw the movie for the first time, I was in my teens and Susan Hayward became my favorite actress and still is. Good story, inteligent script, magnificent music and great Technicolor photography. What more can one ask? This film is excellent entertaiment and a magnificent example of the 50s golden era.

  • Wonderful Memory

    • Mary P Fontaine
    • 6/4/07

    With a Song in My Heart made a huge impact on me when I first saw it at 11 years old. It's such a beautiful movie and the acting and singing are wonderful. I would love to have it on DVD so I could see it whenever I liked.

  • A Very Classical Music & Performance

    • BILL atkinson
    • 5/28/07

    Well where do you start at?? As only Susan Hayward can perform with such stamina and grace before our American Troops. A deffinite great classic of a great performer Jane Froman. This classical movie deffinitely needs to be released on DVD and kept for all musical greatness. I am begging you to Please release this Classical Musical as soon as possible on DVD. Thank You

  • Outstanding musical in every sense.

    • Joel Smithy
    • 4/11/07

    One of Acadamy Award winner Susan Hayward's best films. Her lip sync to Froman's voice is outstanding. Great color and good story. More than 20 Froman standards done by Hayward to an outstanding result.

  • Great Classic-needs home release!

    • Elaine Guardiani
    • 1/10/07

    Please........let;s get this great classic on home video. By far an excellent classic and the best film Susan Hayward did. Great music, great acting.

  • With a Song in My Heart

    • Classic Movie Fan
    • 10/12/06

    This is a wonderful film with beautiful music. This is one of Susan Hayward's best films. This film needs to be out on DVD !!!

  • Great tear-jerker!

    • Janise
    • 8/16/06

    I love this movie because it is based on a true story and the music is wonderful. I agree with the comments from Francis T. Roberts. Let's get this out on video ASAP for the whole world to enjoy!

  • With a Song in My Heart Susan Hayward

    • Francis T. Roberts
    • 4/2/06

    Hello All, I'm a 70 year old senior and one of the best motion picture memoires is "With a Song in My Heart with Susan Hayward...Such a great story of courage and the music of Jane Froman is priceless. A DVD produced of the movie with movie would be a gift to the world as the music and story needs to be told over and over...Thanks...FTR

  • One of the top five leading ladies of all time.

    • Joel Smithy
    • 3/6/06

    With a Song In My Heart had it all. Music, Story and a great star. Someone needs to see this movie adapted to DVD.

  • With A Song In My Heart

    • Carol E
    • 1/25/06

    I saw this movie when I was about 8 years old and always liked Susan Hayward. They have a lot of her movies on TV but never this one. She was such a good actress.

  • DVD Version's

    • Bob K.
    • 1/19/06

    I have been a big fan of Susan Hayward for many years. I can't understand why With a Song in My Heart(1952)has not been released on DVD. Also, Samson and Delilah (1949). Can you tell me who has the rights to these movies so I can write them. Thanks for any help in this matter.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.