skip navigation
Wild Seed

Wild Seed(1965)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A little film with big heart

    • James Elliot Singer
    • 12/10/17

    The great Conrad Hall (the original Outer Limits) photographed Wild Seed in black & white and his mastery of light and shadow fit the noir mood of this melancholy story. Superbly sad jazz score. The late Michael Parks is excellent and Celia Kaye in an early role perfectly projected the innocence of am earnest young girl inexperienced in life. An experienced actress would have come across as artificial and "Hollywood." Their growing love story is completely believable. The direction by Brian Hutton is effective. Much of the story takes place on freight trains which gets a little tedious but the logistics of shooting these sequences had to have been complex and somewhat dangerous. It was produced by Marlon Brando's production company and it would not have been a stretch to see a 50s era Brando take the Parks role but not in 1964. Parks was more Dean than Brando in demeanor and it's hard to understand why Then Came Bronson hasn't been released on DVD when every piece of junk is. Turner Classics made a bad decision to pair this with Parks' and Ann- Margret's Bus Riley's Back In Town for a 2AM showing Nov. 25, 2017 on TCM Underground instead of giving it an 8PM time slot with a guest (such as Celia Kaye Millius herself) when more people would have tuned in to appreciate this little-seen gem. These films are all wrong for Underground which focuses on psychotronic, whacked-out films.

  • wild seed

    • kevin sellers
    • 12/3/17

    First the good stuff: nice, jazzy score by Richard Markowitz, great mid 60s, black and white, roadside and railside, America cinematography by Conrad Hall (who would repeat it on a larger scale a year later in "In Cold Blood"), affecting performances from the two leads and perhaps the best quality of all from this low budget film; a tone of humanity and heart from director Brian Hutton that many a more notable film maker, like Robert Zemeckis and Ron Howard, has tried for and failed to achieve, in the process garnering only cheap sentiment. Now for the bad stuff: A screenplay that is both repetitive (i.e. it seems like all the scenes between the two leads have Ms. Kay asking Mr. Parks if he loves her or telling Mr. Parks that she loves him) and claustrophobic in its lack of subsidiary characters which, in a road picture, of which this is an early example, is an absolute no no if you wish to avoid the sense of being trapped with two rather inarticulate people in an enclosed space for over an hour. Also, when the ride ends and Kaye and Parks are finally in L.A. the movie's pace which, heretofore, has been fairly smooth really grinds to that of a thoughtful snail. Give it a B minus. P.S. To an Angeleno like me who has long been tormented by the Woody Allen syndrome in film (i.e. LA =death) that shot of the rising sun yielding to a vision of downtown Los Angeles as Land Of Promise was most welcome. Hurrah for Hall and Hutton!

  • A Little Known Gem!!!

    • wildkat
    • 11/27/17

    Wow!!! How did I miss this one all these years?? Great little movie...not to be missed!!! I don't think I've ever seen Michael Parks or Celia Kaye before but they were both great, especially Parks....the soundtrack is dynamite.....my only wish is that it was shot in widescreen instead of full screen aspect ratio!! Otherwise 5/5 rating....

  • Wild seed

    • Kris
    • 11/19/17

    Thank you so much for showing 2 of Michael Parks early films... "Wild Seed" and "Bus Riley's Back in Town" Both Films have made a lasting impression on me and I appreciate being able to see them again. Parks was , I believe an underrated actor who helped fill the loss of James Dean with out Deans over blown theatrics. The seedy hotel love scene in Wild Seed was as gripping as any. Thanks again.

  • Michael Parks movie dai

    • Kris
    • 8/29/17

    In Honor of Michael Parks' passing, why not a small film festival of especially the early films; Wild Seed, Bus Riley's Back in Town ( with Ann Margret), The Idol and Then Came Bronson. Please!

  • One of My All-Time Faves

    • el debbo
    • 12/31/16

    I believe that some people are star-crossed, and Sis and Fargo are definitely a pair. This one shows us how meaningful a small movie can be. Look at the reviews and how many people have "never forgotten it." It's a fantastic film; Celia Kaye and Michael Parks are excellent. They do Venus and Mars so well...that scene in the little diner where she's sorrowfully hanging her head and he finally says, "OK, let's have it." I laughed out loud and replayed it. Wonderful, poignant, heartwarming movie.

  • Wild Seed

    • Gwen G
    • 10/9/12

    I also saw this movie a long time ago, can't remember what year, but it also has stayed in my mind and would love to see it again, can't find it anywhere to buy.....please, please TCM, find it--show it!!!!

  • Wild Seed

    • Sarah Perry
    • 11/2/11

    TCM, please show this movie sometime. It is not available on DVD. It is a Great movie! Wonderful soundtrack - reminiscent of Miles Davis. Michael Parks is amazing.

  • Wild Seed

    • Yolanda
    • 9/4/11

    Yes, I too saw this movie years ago on TV and have always wanted to see it again. I wish it would be seen TCM so I can see it again.

  • Wild Seed

    • Kirkland
    • 5/8/11

    I recall seeing this moving on UHF tv wayyyyy back around Christmas 1980. Fantastic film that has never left my memory. I wish I could see it again. Maybe one day on TCM?

  • I loved this movie

    • SueZ
    • 7/30/10

    I saw it a couple of times on TV "back in the day". I wish they would air it or let me buy it. It really is a good little movie. I have never forgotten it.

  • The Wild Seed

    • elaine
    • 4/10/10

    I remember seeing this in the movies as a young teen (in the 1960's). I thought it was so good and I have never seen it on television. I would love to see it again.

  • want to see this movie

    • lisa dimonico
    • 6/11/06

    it is a very good movie i would love to see it on tcm

  • Please show this movie

    • tricia stewart
    • 4/17/06

    Please put this movie on your schedule. I haven't seen it since I was young and would love to see it again. It was a very good movie and I like Michael Parks.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.