skip navigation
Wild Is the Wind

Wild Is the Wind(1958)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Wild Is the Wind - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Wild Is The Wind

    • Verna
    • 9/26/12

    I watched this movie as a teenager and fell in love with it.

  • simply the best

    • gilda webb
    • 1/22/12

    I first saw this movie as a girl. I have a copy on DVD which is not as clear as I would like. It was probably transferred from VHS. I love everything about this film. The music is hypnotic! The raw emotions depicted are the stuff of true life. The choice of actors were #1 and at the top of their game. I love, love , love this film. I hope this film will be released on DVD very soon.

  • Glad I have a tape

    • Cee
    • 8/20/11

    Leonard Maltin is a cretin. The spoiled reviewers have lost the ability to see the soul expressed in films like Wild is the Wind. I am glad I taped it on old VHS when it was shown several years ago.

  • Wild is the Wind

    • Margaret
    • 5/4/10

    One cannot simply watch Wild is the Wind. We are drawn into the lives of each character. We become those characters and when it's reached its conclusion we take awhile in shedding those characters. Wild is the Wind is that engrossing and is one film we can truly call unforgettable; not only the magnificent portrayals of the cast, which is beyond description, but the entire story from beginning to end is unlike any other I've ever viewed in its true to life depiction of lifes harshness as well as sweetness. I've been trying to locate a copy of this film for many years and wish someone would release it to the public again. It's still a part of me.

  • Excellent

    • Vanessa
    • 4/16/10

    I saw this movie with my Mother when I was a girl. We used to watch movies together on Fridays when she got home from work. I would love to see this movie again. I remember it was excellent.

  • wild is the wind

    • susan pungitore
    • 2/11/10

    i wish tcm could let the fans know when this will be aired on tcm station, and if we can purchace a dvd or video of this movie,. i have tried with no success to find this movie anywhere..... please help if possible. my family and i love anna magnani. we have a family member that can paa as her twin. she was so beautiful and what an actress!!!!

  • Great movie!

    • Lorraine
    • 12/2/08

    I really thought this was a great film, and very well written. The acting was excellent.

  • One of my favorite classics!

    • Irene Laboy
    • 9/20/08

    Caught this great classic a few days ago and loved it. I first saw this movie when I was a young girl and loved it then. A movie I have never forgotton, because it was so true to life, wonderful actors (Mangiani, Quinn and Franciosa) and great scenes. Please keep showing it and would love to see it availible in DVD. Thanks TCM for providing the chance to see this wonderful classic.

  • Amazing!

    • tony baksa
    • 6/29/08

    I was truly amazed at this rarely shown and for me, never seen film. I, of course, was familiar with the haunting title song. Aside from some of the most engaging acting you will ever see, this movie has some amazing - there's that word again - but its true, it has amazing nature footage with horses and sheep that just doesn't look rehearsed. I might say that about the actors. I don't mean they are under rehearsed. They, like the animals, are as natural as real life. In fact, I would sum up by saying, watching this movie is like watching real people live their lives.

  • Wild is the Wind

    • Emile Dillon
    • 4/17/08

    Great Film.

  • Wild is the Wind

    • PAT BARTH
    • 4/14/08

    Acting at it's very best. Highly emotional, story true to life, required excellent acting to make this a believable story.

  • Wild Is The Wind

    • Cindy
    • 4/2/08

    I've always loved this movie -- including the hauntingly beautiful title song. There's some passionate performances in this film -- outstanding actors!However, it's usually aired too late at night or very early morning for Pacific time residents. I would love to see this film more often and during prime time for the west coast viewers. Also, will you ever be adding this title to your home video library?Keep up the good work -- I love, love, love your station, and thank you for keeping these films alive!

  • WILD IS THE WIND

    • ANNA PACE
    • 3/20/08

    I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR YEARS TO SEE THIS MOVIE AGAIN. TCM BROADCAST IT ON MARCH 9, 2008 AND I JUST HAPPENED TO CATCH THE VERY END OF IT.HOW VERY DISAPPOINTED I WAS TO HAVE MISSED IT!! I HOPE YOU WILL RUN THIS GREAT MOVIE AGAIN SOON, PREFERABLY IN PRIME TIME DURING YOUR 8PM EST SLOT.

  • Terrific movie!!

    • Carmen Brown
    • 3/9/08

    I'm only 40, but my mom has told me about this movie. She loves Anna Magnani and Anthony Quinn. She has a great admiration for supporting actors such as Joseph Calleia and Lili Valenty.. I saw it again just this morning on TCM..WOW!!! My mom was right. This is a very dramatic and very REAL movie drama. They just don't make them like that anymore! Please put this movie on DVD!! You can't shelve this one, I want everyyone to see how great movies and great actors really are. Our children, grandchildren and their own, need to see quality movies. Don't close the door on this one, please put it on DVD.Thank you.

  • My favorite romantic old movie

    • Maria Rich
    • 3/9/08

    I have always loved and admired Anna Magnani. She was a magnificent actress. She is wonderful in everything she has done. Of course, Anthony Quinn and Tony Franciosa were as gorgeous as can be. I really want this movie on DVD so I can watch it anytime I want to see a good drama. I remember seeing this movie when I was only 15 years old on television. I was mezmerized by it...by Johnny Mathis singing the theme song...Everything about it.Please put it out on DVD!!! This is a truly great movie, worthy of a place in cinema history. So many of our children and grandchildren won't get the chance to see truly good and quality movies unless they are on DVD. There are too many wonderful actors in this movie, including the supporting roles.Please don't let this film be forgotten!

  • Great cast Great acting

    • Ada Brauweiler
    • 6/22/07

    They don't make movies like they used to Real Drama in this one. You have to be Italian to enjoy this and the song and music tops it all. Hope you can retrieve this one. Thank you Ada Brauweiler

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.