skip navigation
Wife Vs. Secretary

Wife Vs. Secretary(1936)

  • Thursday, August 7 @ 06:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Wednesday, October 15 @ 06:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Wife Vs. Secretary A secretary becomes so... MORE > $59.98 Regularly $59.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • GREAT MOVIE!

    • Happy
    • 3/30/14

    I love old classic movies & love that TCM now lets you watch movies up to a week after they air!But, I have never wrote a review & have never loved any movie as much as I loved this one. That, I just had to come right over & write one!The story was great & the actors & actresses were wonderful! If you don't watch any other movie this is defiantly the one to watch!You find yourself laughing with them, crying & feeling their heartache. Knowing that you would feel the same was as this wife, but, knowing the truth made it so much harder. Clark Gable of course is great & Myrna Loy as well. But, Jean Harlow truly does a wonderful job as this upstanding one of a kind woman!LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS MOVIE!Myrna Loy plays the loving wife "Linda" to Clark Gable's character "Van". And, Every one is telling her how his beautiful secretary can not just being kept around for how wonderful she is (And, she is indispensable!). And, then every event to come, seems to prove just that! The once non-jealous, trusting wife now, sees everything through a new light & it's ugly! Even his mother warns her (If it were me I would be feeling the same way!).Jean Harlow plays the secretary "Whitey" who is everything any employer could want from his right hand, much to the dismay of her own suitor! I have often liked her in movies, but, non as much as this one. She portrays it beautifully & truly brings the embodiment of a strong woman. It the end she could have it all, but, the WOMAN in her makes her do the right thing! I JUST LOVED IT!

  • Why only 2 stars on TCM?

    • Susan
    • 3/20/14

    One of my favorite films! The acting, story and directing are superb. The writing is so truthful and insightful about men and women's relationships. I love Jimmy Stewart's part where he explains to his girl (Jean Harlow) that he doesn't like her being exposed to all the glamour and wealth (her charismatic employer, Clark Gable shows her) that he can't offer her. The actors are so natural and moved me to tears and laughter.

  • Timeless Story!

    • BarBarE
    • 9/15/13

    I loved this film.... the story is a timeless one while at the same time, the attitude/angle of the writing rather avant-garde. The theme of trust is explored deeply and the statement is a lesson still being learned between couples today. Both sides are brilliantly illustrated about how a few things, added up, leads to a misinterpreted conclusion. I agree with the previous reviewer about the final line of the movie being the best... the best in the movie and the best lesson still holding true today... "Don't look for trouble where there is none, because if you do, you'll make trouble!" Great film, great period film - loved the hair styles, clothing, sets, locations... very enjoyable.

  • A Fun Movie to Watch

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/25/13

    My favorite things about this film are the set decorations and the costumes. I love the art deco look of this time period. In a way I wish this was shot in color. I think it may have added more lushness to the scenes. Of course, the actors are wonderful. The storyline is so-so.

  • iconic cast

    • george snedker
    • 6/8/12

    iconic cast with a young james stewart make this film a winner,just love those art deco sets

  • Jelous wife destroys good life

    • Tom Nicholson
    • 8/13/11

    It is an old story told over and over again. Boss takes secretary to Havana for buisness. Today story would be the same. Today the boss would take the secretary to Las Vegas.I loved closing statement -- Do not look for trouble when there is not any. Flying on the Pan-Am clipper and landing in Havana Harbor is a thrill. Can the Jet to Las Vegas match that??

  • Wife vs. Secretary (1936)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/25/10

    I love classics like this. What a marvelous cast. With Clark Gable, Jean Harlow, Myrna Loy and Jimmy Stewart, it has to be good. The plot is a familiar one, but with all this talent, it comes off beautifully and fresh. Well done MGM production, their usual good art direction, score and costumes. The fine writing held my interest throughout.

  • Outstanding acting by Gable, Loy and Harlow!

    • Paula Parrish
    • 12/2/07

    This movie will remind movie lovers of what a tragedy it was for all of us that Jean Harlow died so young. The looks that she and Gable exchange are smoldering! And the looks she exchanges with Loy in the next to last scene are amazingly expressive. I only wish this movie lasted longer than 88 minutes!

  • CLARK GABLE AND HIS SECRETARY!

    • JONATHAN
    • 7/31/07

    "WIFE VS. SECRETARY" IS ABOUT A MARRIED BUSINESSMAN WHO SEEMS TO FALL IN LOVE WITH HIS SECRETARY. CLARK GABLE STARS AS THE MAN WHO MUST DECIDE IF HE WANTS TO STAY WITH HIS WIFE HE LOVES (MYRNA LOY) OR GO WITH THE OFFICE SECRETARY (JEAN HARLOW). AFTER THINKING THIS THROUGH, HIS WIFE THEN DECIDES FOR HIM; SHE LEAVES. EVENTUALLY, AFTER A TALK WITH THE SECRETARY, HIS WIFE RETURNS TO HER HUSBAND TO CONTINUE THEIR MARRIAGE AND END THE MOVIE. CLARK GABLE IS VERY GOOD IN THIS ROLE, AND AS USUAL WORKS WELL WITH THE CLASSY MYRNA LOY. JEAN HARLOW DOES WELL AS THE OTHER WOMAN, THOUGH SHE SEEMS A LITTLE MORE SEDATE THAN USUAL. THIS IS A VERY ENTERTAINING MGM FILM AND DONE WELL BY AN OUTSTANDING CAST. GOOD MOVIE!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.