skip navigation
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?(1966)

  • Saturday, December 6 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Wednesday, December 10 @ 05:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Who's Afraid of Virginia... An academic couple reveal... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Mr. Boston, you are dead wrong.

    • Garcande
    • 7/29/14

    Please see the Wikipedia article on this film. It was a tremendous hit and received a record number of Academy Award nominations. Where exactly did you get your information to claim that "the vast majority of Americans hated this film?"

  • Uncomfortably Real.

    • Michael Brown
    • 7/5/14

    I don't believe there is a better exploration of the inter-personal relationships in marriage than in this film. You probably have to have been married a while to understand what is going on here. George and Martha are in a mutual co-dependent relationship. They have learned each others' strengths and weaknesses, and use and exploit them on each other viciously. Their lives are all settled in, and they can only look back at what could have been. This contrasts to the young couple, who are just beginning their lives together. George and Martha are so savvy about relationships that in their game of "get the guests," they draw out what will be the issues that the young couple will use on each other in the future. The acting and dialogue are fantastic, and they keep one guessing throughout the film about what is a game, and what is the truth. Very elusive. I still wonder how much of the story that George relays about his novel is auto-biographical. The truth is that people use each other to get what they want and need, even and/or especially in marriage. Exaggerated and uncomfortable to watch, but painfully real.

  • Not a Fan

    • filmfan
    • 5/19/14

    I particularly dislike this movie, but it was worth watching once just for that reason.

  • Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf

    • Groves
    • 4/7/14

    Films are made all the time which are designed to be fun and uplifting. Rarer are films which are meant to be sad, and rarer still are films which end up being beautiful. What we NEVER see is a film designed to be hated, even designed to hurt the audience (besides a few torture films, which cheat). Virginia Woolf is in this latter category. So here comes the philosophical question: can a piece of art be good even if you don't enjoy it? Lines are repeated over and over and over again until you're just as annoyed and tired as the characters, and the abuse amongst them grows and grows throughout, creating a two-hour downward spiral of hatred which drags the viewer down as well. But the film is so smart and calculated, all of these effects are 100% intentional. Is it good or bad? I don't know, but you should still watch it because movies like this done this well are extremely rare. The only equivalent to it I can think of in the art world might be really abrasive, hateful punk/metal music.

  • Way over the top

    • Jeff Boston
    • 2/6/14

    Back in 1966, when our country wasn't as degenerate, the vast majority of Americans hated this movie so much that Burton and Taylor never had another hit, together or separately. It really is way over the top, showering the viewer with a variety of gross personal vices.

  • Haters, Grow Up!

    • Garcande
    • 1/15/14

    This is one of the greatest American films ever made! It's a black COMEDY so get over it, you idiots. If you don't get it, go watch re-runs of Sienfeld, or Friends. Burton and Taylor were at heir peaks and never gave better performances again, sad to say. So, they're not Ozzie and Harriet, were your parents? I doubt it! The dialogue is side-splitingly funny, if mean. All four leads deserved Oscars, but, what's an Oscar, anyway? This film was ground-breaking in it's day, and even today very little can compare almost 50 years later.

  • Where's Junior?

    • noodles
    • 12/13/13

    In the script, Martha references Bette Davis and quotes her famous "What a dump!" line from the film Beyond the Forest (1949). During the casting for this film, Albee thought it would be a "wonderful" idea to cast Bette Davis in the role of Martha, so that we can see Bette Davis doing a Bette Davis imitation.

  • HATE this film. Hate it, hate it, HATE IT.

    • togubin
    • 10/11/13

    I know, I know, it's one of the all-time classics, best performances ever by Burton and Taylor, blah, blah, blah. You're all nuts, and so are all the critics who rave about this sordid piece of unpleasantness. If there is anything uplifting or interesting about four people who spend all night ganging up on each other -- wives vs. husbands, young vs. old, three against one, etc., I can't see it. The film is nothing more than a 2 hour piece of sadomasochism, where our "heroes" do little more than spend time viciously insulting one other in the most caustic, cruel, personal ways that people can think up. You people REALLY think that listening to wives belittle their husbands, husbands insult their wives, the older demean the younger and vice versa is somehow interesting? Why? What is the point? This is supposed to be "great art"? Are you kidding me?It took me three tries to get through this piece of dreck, and it really wasn't worth it. There is absolutely NOTHING edifying about this film, unless you're talking about Haskell Wexler's cinematography.Not saying you can't make a film like this. But it sure isn't made for people like me. The only other film that made me feel this unclean was Taxi Driver, and I had to take a shower after watching that one. This movie is about as much fun as a root canal. HATE this film, from beginning to end. Hate it, hate it, HATE IT.

  • This ended their (and her) run

    • Jeff Boston
    • 8/30/13

    Burton & Taylor made hit after hit until this gunk, then it was bomb after bomb. Taylor never had another hit.

  • Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-4 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-5/5Director-4 1/2 out of 5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-5/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4 1/2 out of 5

  • Virginia Woolf

    • I_Fortuna
    • 4/9/13

    This is not my favorite film and it is a film I really dislike even though the performances are terrific. I have never been able to watch it start to finish in one sitting. I did like the ending, however. I am very sure Ms. Taylor was the opposite of the character she played which makes her performance even more remarkable. Richard Burton is once again, the tragic, darkly, mysterious character. He is brilliant in everything. I find it difficult to believe that there are people who behave this way but I know there are. I cannot imagine treating guests the way they treated this young couple. I am sure I would have left after the first insulting remarks began to fly around the room. This earns a 5/5 from me.

  • I'm Really Afraid of the Realism

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/9/13

    This movie is so discomforting to watch, but that is why it is so good!! I know I've certainly been around people like this, situations like this, where the tension is so high. You know you need to get out of the way of the volcano that's about to erupt, but you're so sopped with drink, you can only join in. YOU CAN'T ESCAPE! But that's another reason this movie is so good. YOU CAN ESCAPE! It's almost voyueristic. I'm not watching a movie, but I'm watching strangers' lives. And it's quite entertaining because the strangers are quite good at their craft. And I'm quite good at being a fly on the wall.

  • Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 6/20/12

    The powerful drama which ushered in a new era of filmmaking. The most famous couple at the time, Burton & Taylor, are sensational to watch, the latter winning an Best Actress Oscar. Dennis also won an Academy Award for her supporting performance. The award- winning art direction, cinematography & costumes would have been undeserved unless guided by the debut work of director Nichols. The film is worth viewing just for it's place in film history. I give it a 5/5.

  • whos afraid of virginia woolf?

    • jason schaaf
    • 2/28/12

    wow its the second time ive seen this classic of american cinema, and i must say ive never witnessed such stellar acting all the way around. when george segal is the weak link [and george segal is a wonderful actor, truly] you know you are seeing something truly special. miss taylor and miss dennis truly deserved their oscars i mean this is the best performance of lizs career and for sandy dennis to even be remembered in this movie is an accomplishment of a lifetime. i know gary cooper was unforgettable in high noon, but still richard burton was truly robbed of best actor oscar.

  • Taylor & Burton Mentally Mean(1966)

    • nshepard
    • 2/21/12

    Martha & George(Elizabeth Taylbor & Richard Burton ) respectively deliver lifetime performances of an academically married couple, who play cruel mind games on each other . They have invited a faculty couple (Sandy Dennis & George Segal)over for an informal social meeting where the games begin. This material is so powerful and destructive, I would recommend viewing by only 18 years and older. The power of thought and repressed social problems are the main thread holding this complex dynamic together. Mike Nichols Director , is in complete command and directs with total authority, as he unwraps the layers of emotions that bind the two main combatants. Extremely profound and current. Ernest Lehmman writies a fantastic and mezmerizing screenplay. Watch carefully from a distance, you don't want to get too involved with these two, you might see a reflection you may not like. 5 stars out of 5. Very powerful film. You have been notified.

  • favorate movie

    • ALBERTO
    • 12/26/10

    IF you seen father of the bride,suddendly last summer,cat on a hot tin roof??????????????How can you not see how in everymovie Elizabeth, acting, is fenomenalFROM SWEET DAUGHTER OF SPENCERFROM KATHEREN HEPBURN NICE. WHO WANTS A LABOTOMYTO A SATHBELL, WITH A TOUNGUE AN A PERFECT ACCENTTO MAKE HERSELF GAIN 30 LB. FOR THIS MOVIEEMOTIONS LIKE THAT DO NOT EXIST.....NOT TO MENTION HOW BEUTIFULLSHE WAS SCINCE NATIONAL VELVET YOU KNOWSHE WAS GOING TO BE THE MOST BEUTIFULL WOMANIN THE WORLD,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

  • Who`s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

    • Bill
    • 12/16/10

    I think this is the best acting by Elizabeth Taylor or by Richard Burton. It is as good as it gets for true drama that can be felt right through the screen onto the viewer. Segal and Dennis were workable props that happened to fit the requirements. Make no mistake of the depth Taylor and Burton enveloped their roles into everyday perplexity of wants over needs. Most noted as being Virginia's sycophantic actions and the same eventual happenings in her own real life. Ironic? Uncanny? Get some popcorn, a large beverage and enjoy this ride unfold before you. A five star movie. Needs to be shown more often.

  • Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

    • Cheryl
    • 6/9/10

    My favorite movie of all time. If you love "drama", this is the movie for you. Liz Taylor at her peak. Sandy Dennis so right for the part she played. Love the black and white "bleakness" of the film. I never get tired of seeing it.....

  • best ever

    • rick
    • 11/3/09

    My favorite movie of all time. The acting is brilliant. Can never be done again.Why does it never play on TCM?

  • Who's Afraid Of Virginia Woolf? (1966)

    • Jay
    • 4/12/09

    Taylor's performance is among the greatest of all time. A brilliant film, Mike Nichols does an amazing job. Incredibly written. Brilliant on every level. The cast is tremendous.

  • Taylor & Burton's Best

    • Bruce Reber
    • 3/24/09

    I have seen all of the films starring Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton, and to me Virginia Woolf is by far the best one they made together. I have it on DVD (the 2 disc special edition). It is a searing version of Edward Albee's play about a turbulent marriage and the twisted psychological games they (George and Martha) play with each other. When a young couple comes over for a visit, the painful secrets of their own marriage are revealed when they see George and Martha playing their games with each other. At the beginning of the film, Martha asks George which film the line "What A Dump!" is from. When he answers that he doesn't know, she proceeds to re-enact the scene where it is spoken from "Beyond The Forest" (Warner Bros., 1949)with Bette Davis and Joseph Cotten.Of course, that is the film "What A Dump!" is from. Also, the cast list has a couple of errors - the George Segal character is listed as Nick and Sandy Dennis is listed as Honey. I have seen Virginia Woolf several times, and no where in the film do I hear their names mentioned. Taylor won the 1966 Best Actress Oscar for her performance and deservedly so. I don't know if it's true, but I have heard that director Mike Nichols wanted to cast Henry Fonda and Bette Davis in the leads, but changed his mind (supposedly because he thought they were too old). Virginia Woolf is one of the most powerful dramatic films ever made. Four Stars!

  • Blistering

    • Monty
    • 6/4/08

    Taylor at her best, and certainly one of the best performances on screen during the 20th century. Not bad from a girl who never had an acting lesson in her life. Burton tops too in this one and of course he lost the Oscar to Paul Scolfield. Hollywood jealousy of The Burtons back in 1967.

  • mistake on quote, additional quote

    • Merlyn Schumacher
    • 2/9/07

    the quote from martha should read "I swear if you existed I'd divorce you"another noteworthy quote is from richard burton as George "There aren't many more sickening sights than you with a few drinks in you and your skirt up over your head-heads I should say"

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.