skip navigation
The Whole Town's Talking

The Whole Town's Talking(1935)

  • Sunday, September 21 @ 08:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR The Whole Town's Talking (1935) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Whole Town's Talking A gangster hides from the law... MORE > $49.99 Regularly $54.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great Dual Role

    • Eddie Fan
    • 4/7/12

    Never fails to display great entertainment with Mr Brophy,Ms Jean,Eddie and all

  • Brilliant Work

    • Rae
    • 9/3/11

    This is one of Edward G.'s best films. He plays two roles: one a mild-mannered clerk, the other a ruthless gangster, dopplegangers for each other. When the gangster needs a place to hide out from the law, he realizes that the clerk's life offers the perfect refuge, so he "persuades" the clerk to trade places with him for half the day. Of course, this leads to all kinds of confusion. Jean Arthur is also very good as the co-worker the clerk loves, but who doesn't give him a second thought until she meets the gangster who is masquerading as the new "tougher" clerk. The climax, which I won't reveal, is wonderfully written and acted. The scene that most amazes me, however, is one where Edward G., as the gangster, has to go off in a car pretending to be the clerk. Watch this moment carefully and you will see him work a marvelous transformation between his two characters. He uses no make-up, no devices; he becomes the milquetoast clerk through his body language and expression, and it's like watching him become another actor. That scene alone is worth the investment in this film. Edward G. truly is one of the best film actors in history, and he proves it here. I can't recommend this film highly enough.

  • Underrated film that isn't shown nearly enough

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/13/11

    Edward G. Robinson shows that he can do more than play the heavy, and he is far more interesting as the meek, mild, and lovable Arthur Ferguson Jones. And, of course, he's downright chilling as the villainous Killer Mannion. Jean Arthur is also great, particularly in the scene where she is acting like a moll ("Mannion! Mannion! Mannion!"). The split-screen and double effects on the film are flawless. Highly recommended!

  • Double Barrel Robinson!

    • Jerry
    • 4/23/10

    Edward G. Robinson is one of the greats! This movie really lets him shine as a good guy and a bad guy. The story is great and I loved the camera work! This movie just has to be made available on dvd. I will buy the first minute it is!

  • Great Special Effects

    • Judith Rousseau
    • 1/25/10

    This is a thoroughly enjoyable film and one of few comedies starring EG Robinson-he should have made more. But, one of the best things in this film is the special effects for a 75 year old film. You cannot see the split screen when eg is talking to himself and the various ways he appears to be interacting with himself were very creative. This film should be put on DVD.

  • THE WHOLE TOWNS TALKING (1935)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/16/09

    Edward G. Robinson is such a brilliant actor, and he shines in this gem. A wonderful classic that expertly balances comedy and drama, great story and very entertaining.

  • Upbeat and Awesome!!!

    • brenda freeeman
    • 3/16/09

    Just what the doctor ordered. I would watch the movie again tonight if I could. Enjoyed the great acting and watching egr in a nice guy role. I am hoping my parents will be able to see this gem - called them tonight to give them a heads up.Also, the balance of the photo sequences were exquisite in my unsophisticatedopinion. I did not rate the music score - I will need to pay more attention the next time I watch the movie.Ed Wynn was endearing, as were other supporting cast members.I need to 'gogle' title sequence - I do not know its meaning.

  • Double The EGR - Loved It!

    • Bruce Reber
    • 3/16/09

    Edward G. Robinson plays a dual role in this hilarious spoof of his gangster image - a meek, simple clerk (the type of role he's not usually known for) and a tough brutal gangster (the type of role for which he's best known). I watched it on TCM Sunday night 3/15 I laughed nearly all the way through it. Jean Arthur is also great as is the rest of the cast. Show it again soon and put on DVD.

  • You've got to love Jean Arthur

    • Poppy Dinse
    • 2/1/09

    Though I certainly enjoyed Edward G. Robinson's performance in this movie, my husband and I have become absolute fans of Jean Arthur. Any movie the lady stars in is fab.

  • Brilliant

    • Terry
    • 1/26/09

    I love Edward G. Robinson and "The Whole Town's Talking" is now at the top of my list. I had never seen this movie until the other morning. To see both of his gangster and comdedic performances in one picture, was very enjoyable. I'm still laughing.Thank you TCM!

  • Etienne Girardot

    • Douglas Swicegood
    • 1/18/07

    I really enjoyed Edward G. Robinson's performance in "The Whole Town's Talking" and I would love to have this on DVD. I think his dual role performance is one of the best in film history. Another reason I would love to have This film on DVD is that my great-great Uncle Etienne Girardot is in the film as well and he has a role as a friend to Edward G. Robinson's good character.

  • Edward G. Robinson's acting

    • Teena
    • 1/6/07

    I loved this movie on TCM lately, especially the great acting of Edward G. Robinson, playing two different characters who were the opposite of each other. And then he successfully played each of them impersonating the other. Great fun and amazing to watch. Hope it gets to DVD sometime soon so everyone I told about it can see it too.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.