skip navigation
Welcome Danger

Welcome Danger(1929)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Welcome Danger - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Not all that bad!

    • James
    • 4/20/10

    This movie is not nearly as bad as other reviewers have said. An early talkie, much of the dialogue is dubbed. But the print is in remarkable shape, and it has a number of very funny gags. It features the very pretty Barbara Kent (who may still be among us over the age of 100), and many Chinese-American actors -- a real rarity for the period. There is also a cameo by a very young Edgar Kennedy. This is a valuable relic and should be on DVD.

  • Harold's charcter is NOT likable in this movie

    • Denise
    • 8/14/09

    Overdubbing aside, the real reason I did not like this movie is because Harold's character is actually somewhat mean. This is a big switch from the upbeat, sweet, perky, creative and resilient Harold we typically see in his other movies. This character was quick to anger, blamed others for his mistakes and was downright abusive to Billie. It made no sense that she was attracted to him when he was SO nasty to her. Just because he thought she was a boy didn't give him the right to push & kick her. Would she have let a man she just met (who she was trying to help, by the way) kick her little brother? His later talkies are MUCH better, especially "Movie Crazy".

  • Harold's voice is fine,but...

    • Mary
    • 8/5/09

    I just saw this movie for the first time,and I wish I had something good to say about it.You can tell that what the characters were saying was just thrown together,it all seemed so unplanned and too talkie.I wish Harold Lloyd would have left this as a silent.I think it would have been so much better.As it was,it was almost painful to watch,and I'm a total H.L. fan.Thank goodness all worked out well in his other talkies,such as "The Milky Way"

  • He shouldn't have opened his mouth

    • theglasscharacter
    • 12/1/08

    This was on TCM quite a long time ago, and being a HL fan I started watching it (I was in a hotel room with my husband). The first thing he said was, "Is THAT what he sounds like?" It was such a disappointment. I thought he'd sound like a preppie, and here his voice was this high nasal twangie tone like a cross between Jiminy Cricket and a Sunday School teacher. And the film was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooobad! Just a mess that I couldn't follow. After masterpieces like The Freshman and The Kid Brother, I was stunned. I found out he slapped a soundtrack on to a silent film in panic, once sound came in. Well, people attended in record numbers to hear his voice. It was a big hit. I don't think he ever equalled his best works after that, though his voice sounded better once microphones were refined. But he always seemed a little lost in sound films.

  • TCM,please show this one and "Professor Beware"

    • Mary
    • 9/27/08

    I've searched everywhere for "Professor Beware" and I simply cannot find it.I love everything that Harold Lloyd ever did and I own everything of his that's available.This man was SO talented,and it didn't hurt that he was really cute too.I just adore Harold Lloyd!

  • THE BEST OF THE BEST!!

    • daniel
    • 11/11/07

    This has to be one of the best Harold Lloyd films I have ever seen. My family was making a fuss over an old film they had seen with Harold Lloyd, so of course, I was curious. I watched it the next day and I couldn't stop laughing. I didn't get to watch the whole of it but what I did watch made me laugh. I have never seen a movie from this era where the man is so mean to a person ^_^ Overall, this has to be one of the classics. *****(FIVE STARS)

  • Great Classic!

    • Rachel
    • 11/11/07

    My family and I love watching Harold Lloyd movies. My siblings ages range from 15-21 and they loved this movie when TCM aired it a few months ago. It has some really funny scenes, especially when Harold Lloyd's character mistakes the girl in the movie(Barbara Kent) for a young boy and is pushing her around, treading on her head and hitting others with planks of wood.It truly is a good classic comedy!!!As soon as I had watched it I searched Amazon.com for the DVD and I was shocked that it is not available for home entertainment.PLEASE VOTE if you enjoyed it too so that this great film is not forgotten! :)

  • Hi,

    • loretta aravanis
    • 9/22/07

    I would like to know about Welcome Danger with Harold Lloyd. we like to watch it very much but it did not show the closed captioned because we are deaf so we hope it will put closed captioned in the future. When we watch it today but it is no closed captioned that's why it must be good pictures. Thank you, Loretta

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.