skip navigation
The War of the Worlds

The War of the Worlds(1953)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The War of the... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The War of the Worlds

    • Goetan
    • 6/22/13

    An excellent, first-rate adaptation of Wells' classic story. Barry & Robinson are believable leads trying to figure out how to stop the path of universal destruction caused by invading Martians. The film deserved it's Oscar win for Best special effects, and the story, though updated to '50's society, avoids the heavy-handed political propaganda that other films of the genre made at the time. A well-made Sci-fi film that still retains the themes explored in Wells' novel. I give it a 4.5/5

  • THE TRUE WAR OF THE WORLDS

    • CHUCK WILLIAMS
    • 11/1/11

    I SAW THIS MASTERPIECE WHEN I WAS SIX AND IT SHOOK ME TO THE FOUNDATIONS! THE ATMOSPHERE WAS INTENSE AND THE SPECIAL EFFECTS WERE AWESOME! I CAME OUT OF THE THEATER HAVING WATCHED A MOVIE I HAVE NEVER FORGOTTEN. I HAVE WATCHED IT LITERALLY HUNDREDS OF TIMES AND PROBABLY WATCH IT AT LEAST ONCE A MONTH. DEFINITELY MY FAVORITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME! CERTAINLY BETTER THAN THE TOM CRUISE RE-MAKE, WHICH STOLE PARTS OF THE ORIGINAL. I SURE WISH I COULD SEE THIS CLASSIC ONCE MORE ON THE BIG SCREEN. WHAT ENJOYMENT IT IS!

  • The War of the Worlds (1953)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/20/10

    77/100. Although it is showing signs of it's age, this is one of the better science fiction films to come out of the 1950's. It has a very impressive production, the acting is quite respectable and the story is delightfully imaginative. The color cinematography is exceptional, and although I love black and white films, the color enhances the effectiveness of this movie. The remake in 2005 just could not capture the spirit and character development of this one. It is never boring, and it moves along quickly. The score is very expressive. It deservedly got Academy Award nominations for sound and editing, and it won for best special effects.

  • One of top 5 Sci-Fi...ever

    • R
    • 9/4/09

    "Forbidden Planet"., "This Island Earth". "Them!", "The Day the Earth Stood Still"..all rank high on my 50's sci-fi movie list. But. "WOTW" stands alone, for the utter terror it created in the theatre.I was only 8 & (back before ratings & 'advice'), my parents let me go see this classic with my 12 year old brother.Nightmares...not for days, or weeks...but for years after.So well done. Special effects unimaginable at the time.True, acting took third place to effects, score & pace, but it was spot on 'real'.... I still get chills thinking of that first time I saw this masterpiece.Even with todays techno-wizardary , it is almost impossible to imagine the reality that flew off the screen while viewing this movie in its day.NOT for unattended juveniles...even in the jaded 21st century.

  • One Of The Sci-Fi Greats

    • Bruce Reber
    • 7/6/09

    "War Of The Worlds" is one of the first class Sci-Fi films of all time. It has a superb script, fine acting and dazzling special effects (for the early 50's, though they look somewhat dated now). WOTW avoids the usual Sci-Fi cliches, and it helped the entire genre to be taken seriously. I'm curious about one aspect of the film - the Martians have "eyes" that work like TV cameras. Is this supposed to be symbolic of the "invasion" of TV into American culture in the 50's, drawing audiences away from movie theaters and into their own homes to see free entertainment instead of paying for it? It seems that most 50's Sci-Fi films played on Cold War paranoia and fears about nuclear attack from Russia, and that we were ignorant of the potential real enemy, alien invaders from outer space trying to take over the world. Maybe that's why WOTW works so well.

  • We prayed for a miracle.

    • Ben Larson
    • 2/3/08

    This was the best special effects Oscar winner for it's year, and there is no doubt that it was well deserved. Even though they didn't have Spielberg's budget and the improvements made over the years, the effects were superb and well worth watching.They didn't have Tom Cruise wither, and had to make do with Gene Barry of "Burke's Law" fame, who did get a role in the remake. He and Ann Robinson, who also got a role in the remake, kept us interested as they fought the aliens. Of course, they really didn't do much fighting as Wells made it clear that it was design by god that defeated the Martians.Of course the atomic science was laughable as they didn't have a clue.But, outside of that, it was an exciting film and just as good as the remake.

  • Absolutely Memorable!

    • Tony
    • 12/24/07

    Everything about this film is superb! Certainly one of the best sci-fi films of all time. I think this film contains some of the best sound effects ever done in movie making history. Great story line and the actors do a fine job with it. And what a great ending. The film is so great in my mind that I have no problem looking past some of the wires holding up the martian's machines!

  • amazing

    • joe
    • 9/23/07

    i first saw this film over twenty years ago, and i have not forgotten the experience. one of the most unforgettable moments on film, a witness to an unbearable agonizing end of a loved one. i think this film stands above all others of this vintage and genre. four stars. does a letterbox editin exist? five stars. can you imagine?

  • Beautifully Restored Science Fiction Classic!

    • Ralph
    • 5/1/06

    The special edition DVD is a joy to behold and is crammed full of special features (multiple commentaries, special reviews by experts on 1950 Sci-Fi films, multiple versions of the original sound/voice track, and much, much more!). The excellent production values and the deep, rich technicolor really shine through in this wonderfully restored digital print. Get this DVD for your collection, you won't be sorry!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.