skip navigation
Walkabout

Walkabout(1971)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Walkabout Two children are stranded in... MORE > $26.99 Regularly $39.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • awesome movie

    • jae
    • 5/10/14

    i only caught the last hour of this movie but i fell in love with the scenery and animals. had to close my eyes during what seemed to me the senseless shooting of animals but all in all i would watch again

  • Not for the squeamish.

    • steve
    • 5/10/14

    There is quite a few brutal killing of animals in this film. Lizards, but especially Kangaroos. They show them being dismembered, it is not pretty.The film itself is interesting, the view of the Outback is fascinating. And all the varied creatures and plants. Good to watch just for that.

  • A journey into the outback and beyond.

    • Kevin Butler
    • 1/4/14

    Nicholas Roeg's directorial debut shows us the mysteries and the natural wonders of thedesert and the difficult relationship between Ms.Augtter and Mr.Gulpillei...As they tryto overcome their cultural differences and mate. The film has beautiful photographyand a stirring musical score. It also shows some nudity..which is not ugly but presentedbeautifully here. There is no real story here..but the photography,the music and theinteraction between the three leads more than makes up for the lack of a plot.

  • Beautiful!

    • Lisa
    • 11/16/13

    One of the best movies I've ever seen. You get caught up in the quiet fear this girl has....it's phenomonal.

  • outstanding

    • Rick Mattoon
    • 11/13/13

    Have seen twice before and will see again just for the spiritual journey the girl found herself on and how it's years later she grows in the realization.

  • Interesting

    • I_Fortuna
    • 1/14/13

    This is indeed and interesting film and my personal love of the Aborigine culture of Australia is wonderfully depicted here. The unashamed naturalness of living and the cultural abilities of the Aborignine to overcome such a harsh environment is deftly displayed in this film. I believe the acting was excellent and Jenny Agutter has gone on to do many film and television projects. This film is not for the squeamish. It forces us to strip away all of our worldly preconceived ideas about modern living and offers us a raw look at different ways of living and survival as well as a spiritual quality that makes this film so good. I am adding it to the list of other Australian films I love so much including Where Green Ants Dream from Werner Herzog and starring Bruce Spence (a favorite from Mad Max movies) and The Last Wave with Richard Chamberlain.

  • Walkabout

    • Dashiell B.
    • 1/14/13

    A deep, thrilling film that's a rumination on civilization. After being stranded in the desert, a girl & her younger brother are guided to civilization by an Aborigine youth. The film, directed & photographed by Roeg, forces us to look into ourselves & accept that some mysteries can't be solved. Overall, this is a hypnotic masterpiece. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Walkabout (1971)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/19/09

    Well directed and stylish. Good photography and a very interesting story. It does however have a few stretches that drag a bit. Fine but unexceptional performances.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.