skip navigation
The Unguarded Moment

The Unguarded Moment(1956)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Unguarded... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Unguarded Moment (1956)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 10/15/12

    Good thriller starring the stunningly gorgeous Esther Williams. She's a very good actress in this and I wish she'd done more non-aquatic films. Although her character is frustratingly naive at times, and she does a few extremely unwise things, she has a good heart underneath. But she's still lucky to have not been hurt. **SPOILERS AHEAD!** The ending is a little off for me. I mean, it seems obvious that Edward Andrews is the killer mentioned in the beginning, but then the movie doesn't go that way and says another nameless man did it. I think that weakened an otherwise good script. And the father's death, while a little too convenient, doesn't really tie up any loose ends. Edward Andrews is very creepy and disturbing in this, and he plays yet another creepy role the same year in Tea and Sympathy. John Saxon does a good job playing the messed up son, although it's a strange role to start an acting career on. I don't think he ever shook the bad guy image. This film does show how bad/insane parenting can really screw up children who are fragile-minded enough to not reject such psychotic programming. ***

  • creepy edward andrews

    • barry moss
    • 5/29/11

    I saw this film as a YOUNG teenager and Edward Andrews performance creeped me out and stays with me to this day and I'm in my seventies now! Talk about unfoprgetable.

  • Gee-Whiz....this is a great flick!

    • RetroTiki
    • 5/28/11

    I saw this movie for the first time the other night.....I was in 1950's retro heaven!!! Loved the technicolor, fuzzy-ness picture quality. Lip stick never looked so good!!! Who needs Photoshop? I was on the edge of my B-Movie seat...yelling "LOOK OUT ESTHER! (he's in the closet!)" Can't wait to see it again!

  • THE UNGUARDED MOMENT

    • sally
    • 5/27/11

    I saw the above movie on TCM last night (5-26-2011). The story was good but the picture was poor. I have older movies that their pictures are better than that. Someone should try to improve it before it's shown again.

  • The Unguarded

    • jewlzeyes
    • 5/27/11

    I watched this movie for the first time and loved the noir-suspense of it's theme. Esther Williams played her part perfectly. It was clear pretty early on who the culprit was, but did not take away from ithe movie's thrill and climactic ending. Edward Andrews performance as Mr. Bennett left me feeling chilled! If this movie was available on DVD, I would definately buy it. I look forwad to watching it again on TCM in the future.

  • The Unguarded Moment

    • Kay Otis
    • 5/26/11

    I was very happy to see that TCM is showing this movie. I've been looking for it for years and hope that it will soon be released on DVD. It is such a great "thriller" and shows that Esther Williams is a very good dramatic actress. She is great in it. I also remember that this movie introduced John Saxon to the screen. Thanks TCM for showing it.

  • Be on guard against self-righteous parents!

    • Marianne McDermott
    • 5/1/11

    This film is excellent. Esther Williams was very good as the teacher. As well as John Saxon as the troubled teen.George Nader added authority as the police detective. But do you know who stole the film, Edward Andrews as the psychotic, sexually-repressed father! I've seen Andrews in many tv series in the 1960's, as a kindly grandfatherly type, but in this film, he scared the heck out of me! Haven't seen this film in over 20 years, hope TCM plays this again sometime in the future. Found out TCM is playing this on 5/26/2011 at 8pm! Felt when I saw this that Andrews's character had killed the woman in the beginning of the film, but cannot really remember. A great fiiln noir-thriller movie!

  • Be on your guard against a self-righteous parent!

    • Marianne McDermott
    • 5/1/11

    This film is excellent. Esterm Williams was very good as the teacher, as was John Saxon as the troubled student. George Nader added authority as the police detective. But do you know who stole the film? Edward Andrews as the psychotic, sexually-repressed father! I've seen Andrews in many tv series, but in this film he scares the heck out of you! Have felt that he killed the woman in the beginning of the film, but haven't seen this in over 20 years.Found out that TCM will show this on 5/26/2011 at 8pm! A great film noir-thriller!!!

  • The Unguarded Moment (1956)

    • Stephanie
    • 3/1/11

    I've been wanting to see this movie for sometime and I am so glad that TCM has put it on the schedule. I'm hoping that after this movie airs more people will log on and vote for this movie to be released on dvd. Thanks a bunch TCM.

  • The Unguarded Moment 1956

    • Marty Painter
    • 2/19/11

    The Unguarded Moment 1956 is a good movie needs to be released on blu-ray dvd and dvd and I been looking for this movies 4 years and cannot find it on vhs or dvd and Tcm please released this movie on blu-ray dvd and dvd so I can watch over over over again and so I can have it for my collection of movies .

  • The Unguarded Moment

    • Joan Hyde
    • 1/13/11

    I saw this film on TCM over seven years ago and missed part of it. I have ben waiting just as long for it to show again, to no avail. I love suspense movies and was amazed at the talent Esther Williams showed playing a role diferent than the water musicals. I know there are other good films that are not being shown. I enjoy watching the old movies but I am bored with seeing the same old ones that have been shown. Please give your audience a change and show The Unguarded Moment again. I would definitely like to se this film on DVD but not in the letterbox format. I prefer the full screen. Please make a lot of people happy and show this film again. Thank you. Joan

  • The Unguarded Moment - Esther Williams

    • Marsha Jones
    • 4/30/10

    This is one of my favorite movies. I was fortunate to capture it on video when it played on TV several years ago but I really, really hope it will be released on DVD one day soon. This is one of her best roles.

  • The Unguarded Moment with Esther Williams

    • phyllis
    • 4/5/09

    In addition to my previous comments, TCM has not been playing some of these older enjoyable movies and it is time to keep the "Classics" rolling. Please play this movie soon.Regards,

  • Please put this movie on dvd

    • Gladys Johnson
    • 1/21/09

    I love this movie, and hope you put it on dvd so people who love classics can buy it. I look for it on the classics movies but I, never see you playing it why is that? Can you at least show the movie sometime this year for people like myself who love classics.Thank You

  • great movie

    • russ
    • 10/3/08

    I seen this movie about 6yrs ago and i still can't get it out of my mind.Esther Williams did a fantastic job in this picture,it was so different from the water movies.It made me an Esther Williams fan.Please show it on TCM,i hope it will be released on dvd or even vhs soon.thanks Russ.

  • THE UNGUARDED MOMENT

    • sally
    • 7/29/08

    I HOPE THIS GOOD MOVIE WILL BE RELEASED ON DVD SOON.

  • great classic dont miss this one !!!

    • penny briseno
    • 7/20/07

    if i was to suggest a movie this one would be it, lot of well known actors.i watched this one a few years ago still in my memories.please vote for this one to go dvd need good older dvds.

  • ungarded momment

    • Betty Gray
    • 6/12/07

    This was a role for Ms Williams that unlike her musical or swimming roles she also could act. Act she did in this exciteing movie a drama. The cast was the best. She needed to do more of this kind of movie. I only saw it once and that was in the theater. How I wish I could see it again. Even maybe own it on dvd.Thank YouBetty

  • The Unguarded Moment

    • Joan Hyde
    • 7/9/06

    Three years ago I saw this movie for the first time. A home accident caused me to miss the end of this really interesting story and I have been watching and waiting, hoping it would be shown again so I can see it in its entirety. I'd love to see this again. I love the movies you show on the TCM channel but a lot of them are shown too many times. I've seen the movies that have been shown so many times, I go to other channels to see something different. Please make some of us happy and show some different movies and especially, "The Unguarded Moment."Thanks for listening, Joan

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.