skip navigation
Slim

Slim(1937)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Slim Electric linemen compete on... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Must See!

    • Jeff klag
    • 3/14/09

    If you like old movies and you are a lineman or just a old movie buff that likes good acting an adventure "Slim" is the movie for you, I myself have been doing distribution line-work for nearly twenty years now(not tower work)and I really enjoy this movie. Good luck finding a copy! I was able to make a copy from a old VHS copy years ago. Please vote for this movie and maybe TCM will reproduce it on DVD for our veiwing pleasure. God bless the working man.

  • Lineman Beat Film

    • Larry Lasseter
    • 2/25/09

    One of the best films that shows the life of a traveling lineman, what he goes through to risk his life for people that he cares for, and for one of the most Dangerous jobs in the world.

  • A Lineman

    • Kevin A Lucy
    • 2/24/09

    With out a doubt this movie captures the true dedication of the Lineman when the the chips are down. This dedication is still prevelant in the heart of almost every Journeyman Lineman despite the corporate culture that has tried to erode the true essence of being a Lineman. For all of the Linemen/women that have experienced an injury or witnessed an accident can understand this movie. This movie should be available in DVD.

  • importance of movie slim

    • larry stewart
    • 2/23/09

    This movie is the best movie i have seen that proves that with real gumption, a man can accomplish whatever he sets his mind to.Slim had that determination , and as a lineman , that is what keeps me in the trade. It should be in the regular lineup like so many other inspirational movies ,like captains courageous.Lineman Rule!!!

  • Holy Grail

    • Paul Schreck
    • 2/18/09

    "Slim" is the Holy Grail for all lineman. I was an apprentice lineman instructor for many years and have allways told the app's that they need to get a copy of "Slim" and pay attention to the work methods and safety being employed. Also the brotherhood displayed among the men who work the lines. Honest and loyal, these are the traits needed by the crews who keep the lights burning. Crews now work the high voltage lines(500KV) "while still energized" bare handed from heliocopters or suspended from a cart attached to the hot phase! Mountainside or across rivers or lakes these crews "git er done"!!

  • Where would you be without any power?

    • Mark Guistwite
    • 12/17/08

    I only can ask you to visit a web site called Powerlineman.com .You will see that every storm around the world, a lineman is called out to return all electric service to normal. At any time or any day, or any place someone is turning the power back on. How long can you or your company go without power?

  • Oldtime Linework

    • William Meyers
    • 8/26/08

    This movie has what almost all lineman have and that is pride and dedication to their job, even though linework has changed and todays lineman use bucket trucks this movie is really close to the old way of climbing the poles and towers.It should be made available to us old lineman who will always treasure the old days of linework

  • Great comparison for safety

    • Jimmy Norman
    • 6/20/08

    This movie has been shown in safety meetings around the state and it makes a great comparison for the way line work used to be done compared to the safety rquirements today. I recommend that it be re-released so that all linemen can have a chance to see it. The main aspects of the job and the relationships among the linemen have not changed. We continue to look out for each other and continue to be dedicated to our jobs and keeping the lights on for everyone. Electricity is not a luxury any more, it is a necessity.

  • This movie needs to be re-released

    • M.P.
    • 9/16/07

    Everyday their are thousands of LINEMAN risking their lives,ensureing that the lights stay on for all americans.All we ask for is the re-release of this time classic depicting our proud heritage.LINEMAN from around the country would be eternally greatful!

  • It means alot to Linemen all over

    • Dwayne Ryssman
    • 5/14/06

    This movie has alot of significance to Linemen all over the country in that there are very few movies that represent this occupation and the sacrifices that are made by Linemen everywhere. I think that at least among Utilities all over the United States and thier Linemen would be very interested in seeing this great movie and a great Actor ( Henry Fonda ) being released to either DVD or VHS so that they can obtain a good copy of this movie and stop depending on making copies of copies from other Linemen that were lucky enough to record it. Thank-You very much! Dwayne Ryssman / Journeyman Lineman-SCE

  • Great Movie

    • RPJ
    • 3/3/06

    The movie "Slim" is a great movie dipicting the early electrification of our nation. The movie does a great job bringing to light the dangers and hazards that lineman still face in their job and the brotherhood that exists between lineman.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.