skip navigation
Under Capricorn

Under Capricorn(1949)

  • Saturday, September 27 @ 01:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Under Capricorn - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Liked This Movie

    • goodhitch
    • 9/9/13

    An unexpected pleasure,as heard Joe Cotten ridiculed the title.Great actors

  • Captivating

    • Mari Hensley
    • 7/8/12

    I watched this movie for the first time this evening and I thought it was fantastic! A little slow getting started but well worth sticking with! Indeed, must purchase for my movie library. Joseph Cotten never disappoints and Ingrid Bergman is quite convincing. Great movie all around!

  • Under Capricorn

    • jewelie
    • 7/8/12

    I loved every minute of this movie. It was excellent. I was totally hooked from beginning to end.

  • Under Capricorn

    • Bill
    • 2/21/12

    Good Movie I seen it when it was first released many moons ago I was hoping TCM the only cable channel worth watching was going to play it I guess TCM must have played it because i see alot of crackpot writeupsthat were wrote a few weeks ago Another good movie is for whom the bell tolls shoot they cant make moves like these today everything made now and on regular tv Stinks For one thing the actresses were better looking then lastly Osborn your all right in my book

  • What in the wide wide world of sports..

    • rodIB
    • 1/21/12

    This was the first time watching as many was.The presentation was fine,but this being a Hitcock and Bergman film.I thought the quality didn't do this movie a bit of good.Mr. Osbourne's synopsis and a first time debut on TCM was not there best.The focus should have been how Begman rescued this movie,her personal life is just an assumption by many.How do I get a job remastering films and bring out the best,IB and Hitchcock did there's.I think not bringing IB out early in the movie was a mistake and not making her battle with alcohol and the tension between Milly.This movie is worth watching,but hard on the eyes Blue ray spoiled me.

  • under capricorn

    • don shebib
    • 1/20/12

    One of Hitchcocks best film and unhearalded. Like It's a Wonderful Life, it failed at the BO, this time because this was not the film Hitchcock's fans had come to expect. but it is brilliant. Like Billy Wilder's The Private Life of Sherlock holmes, and Richard Feleishers' Mandingo, it is a lost classic, that never received the respect it should have. Indeed Mandingo was one of the worst reviewed films ever (a lot of political correctness reasons) and yet one of the trues films ever made about the South. The GAP between how badly it was received and h9ow good it actually is, may be hte largest in the history of the cinema. D.S.

  • WTF?

    • claudia
    • 1/19/12

    Okay we are watching Hitch's twisted psychological porno (without actual sex) film and were discussing how this is (and other films)are so sexual, misogynistic-based; (ranging from the obvious to pseudo-subliminal). The dialogue is hilarious, somewhere between Dynasty and Woody Allen. The music is one melodramatic whine and the acting by Joe and Michael W is no match for Ingrid who easily earns her hefty salary except for the 25% profits which I could imagine were few.

  • Maravilhoso

    • Sonia
    • 12/19/10

    Uns dos filmes de Alfred Hitchcock maravilhosos. Tudo no filme excelente. Desde Ingrid Bergman com sua beleza e talento at o roteiro. Um filme que eu daria 10 estrelas. Um clssico do mestre do suspense.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.