skip navigation
Two for the Road

Two for the Road(1967)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Two for the Road A married couple's... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Two for the Road

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/18/12

    An excellent dramadey that should've been a contender for the Best Picture Oscar of '67. Hepburn is outstanding & Finney should've recieved a Best Actor nomination. The story & editing make a film that's funny, romantic & at times painfully real about marriages & relationships. A finely-crafted, intimate film. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • A Brilliant Depiction of Marriage

    • Andy Alburger
    • 7/28/12

    Probably one of the greatest depiction on marriages in cinema, Two For the Road is a film that grows on you every time you watch it. A brilliantly composed, choreographed, filmed, written and performed film, it remains one of the most bittersweet films in cinema. Highly underrated however, its a shame this excellent feature never plays on TCM, therefore shame on you TCM. There's a terrific thing you find new every time you watch it. For one thing, Henry Mancini's score is one of the most hauntingly lyrical tunes in film. Audrey Hepburn gives obne of her most brilliant performances and in the lead role opposite the amazing Albert Finney, she is absolutely riveting and fabulous, an indescribably inspirational performance. The chemistry they share is just too perfect too miss, and Donen's directing is just amazingly colorful, modern and wonderful. Frederick Raphael's script is also one of the most memorable of the 60's cinema.

  • Totally Hopeless Romantics

    • screenqueen
    • 10/25/11

    Has stayed at the top of my all-time fave list for decades.For anyone who knows that love isn't always easy; that opposites can not only attract, but drive each other crazy! Long-term relationships really are a rollercoaster, so buckle up and hold on tight!When all is said and done, however, this film shows the comfort of shared experience, and the wry humour that only comes from knowing another person inside out.First-time viewers need to pay attention as the time shifts backward and forward, sometimes using novel (it's 1967) cinematic devices. If Audrey's wardrobe and wigs don't always give away the chronology, just check the rego sticker on the car window at the start of each scene. The story evolves with the interweaving of about half a dozen European road-trips made by the couple throughout the sixties. Transport and fashions gradually become more glamourous, while Audrey and Albert descend into over-familiarity; their relationship dipping and swerving.Most of the movie had to be post-synched, after hiccups with the new medium of location filming with sound; probably resulting in less acclaim than the excellent script and structure deserved.As a portrait of an enduring, if tempestuous relationship, Two For The Road is mandatory viewing for any film buff and true romantic. The plot always benefits from re-watching, and the viewer's own changing life-experience. (sometimes called maturity)Eyes peeled for a cameo by the nubile young Jacqueline Bisset; ears tuned for the haunting, melancholy theme by Henri Mancini.... and did I mention the FROCKS!!

  • Two for The Road

    • Marlene
    • 11/7/10

    Love this movie! I first saw it when I was in Junior High school in the 60's. I was already a fan of Audrey Hepburn because "Breakfast at Tiffany's" was and still is my favorite movie. When I saw this movie, I knew she was one of my favorite actresses of all time. I think it's such a classy movie and shows how complicated adult relationships can be. Please show this movie on TCM! I would also like to see other Audrey Hepburn movies on TCM more often!

  • Maravilhoso assistir

    • Sonia
    • 11/5/10

    Este filme adorvel e eu assistiria vrias vezes porque o roteiro maravilhoso e os atores tem um desempenho fantstico.

  • My Favorite Film

    • Victoria H.
    • 10/3/10

    I first saw Two for the Road two years ago. I watch it 4-7 times a year. I think it is confusing for everyone the first time you watch it because it skips for one point in the relationship to another. But then again I think thats what keeps it interesting! It truly is a great film. I wish that is was more popular. It is in my opinion one of Audrey Hepburn's greatest roles. It is so believable that she truly is Joanna Wallace. And Albert Finney too is great in this film! It truly is a classic.

  • Two for the Road

    • Lisa L.
    • 6/11/10

    This is a fabulous movie. Audrey Hepburn is fantastic. Albert Finey gives a wonderful performance. The scenery is gorgeous! I can never find it playing on TCM or anywhere else. It's a shame because it's a movie with true feeling and meaning and everyone should have the chance to see it. I know they would love it as much as I do!

  • A great road trip for the audience...

    • Marie W.
    • 4/23/10

    It's sad that everyone knows Sleepless in Seattle when there's such great film out there like Two for the Road.It was made before I was born, but it's so timeless that you could watch it at any stage of your life.A light & beautiful way of telling the tough reality of love.I knew Albert Finney from Big Fish and didn't know he was such a handsome young man.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.