skip navigation
Twice Blessed

Twice Blessed(1945)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Twice Blessed - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • WONDERFULLY WITTY

    • el debbo
    • 6/10/14

    The dialogue in the movie is really smart and funny throughout. The twins and their teen friends are fresh, clever, and not at all submissive, which I loved! Instead of that era's wait-for-a-date girls, the Wilde twins are movers and shakers, getting what they want no matter how much moxie was required. Compare them to "Orchestra Wives"!!I was so happy to find this on youtube and enjoyed every minute. Kept wondering where I'd seen the mother, Gail Patrick, before. Oh yes, it was back in 1936 when she played the evil Cornelia Bullock in "My Man Godfrey". Everyone who writes a review of Twice Blessed mentions Parent Trap, but it never crossed my mind that they were the same or similar or had anything to do with each other. The Twice Blessed twins had SO MUCH MORE goin' on!!

  • Twice Blessed

    • Sue Smither
    • 3/11/14

    My husband and I love, and have, all the versions of "Parent Trap". I'm sure we will enjoy this version also. We would really love the own it on Home Video. Based on the original book, it is certainly worth seeing.

  • Not the first parent trap.

    • Carol
    • 7/4/13

    The parent trap was biased off a book called, "Das doppelte Lottchen (The double Lottie)", written by Erich Kaster in 1949 .

  • Identical twins switch places.

    • Brian Greer
    • 3/29/13

    The first 5-minutes is slow and boring, but after that the movie is interesting and moves at a good pace. Lots of good Jitterbug dancing. The twin girls are charming. Their boyfriends are confused; not knowing there are two of them.

  • Better Version of "The Parent Trap"

    • James-Clifton Spires
    • 3/9/12

    Great earlier version of "The Parent Trap." The Wilde twins' best movie, with great performances by Jimmy Lydon and Marshall Thompson as their confused boyfriends. Notable especially for its swing dance sequences, featuring top professional dancing couples of the day.

  • The Original Parent Trap?

    • James-Clifton Spires
    • 3/9/12

    This movie is a classic 1940s "B" movie, but its very much an A quality film. The actors all looked like they were having a great time with the silly story of a set of twins, separated by their parents' divorce, who switch roles in order to get the parents back together. Sound familiar? Yep, it's an earlier version of "The Parent Trap," with a real set of twins --- pretty Lee and Lyn Wilde --- instead of two Hayley Millses. The Wilde twins were fairly talented ingenues, and this is their best showcase. Also good are Jimmy Lydon, much more mature than "Henry Aldrich" and a very young Marshall Thompson.Gail Patrick Jackson and Preston Foster are fine as the parents, and Gloria Hale has a fine comic turn as a nasty reporter who wants to marry Foster. There's a lot of slapstick involving the Wilde twins, and the climax is a great swing dance sequence, which features some of the best professional swing dancers of the day.Also, you just gotta love a movie that features a Latin jazz sequence with Ethel Smith at the organ. Great movie to sit through with a few movie-loving friends, some cold beer and a popcorn. Make room in the family room so you can get up and dance.

  • Yay for Lindy!

    • huq
    • 5/13/10

    As gale said, the dancing posted on youtube was great! The movie looks very cute, (the parent trap was always one of my favorite stories). Mix that with great music and great dancing...I totally want to see it!! TCM, please bring this movie back!!!

  • Terrific Dancing!

    • Gale of Sacramento
    • 12/15/08

    I just caught a glimpse of the dancing in this picture on YouTube. I have never seen the movie despite the fact I am a movie lover and major TCM fan. The dancing is really great -- nice long views of the couples doing the Lindy Hop and other Swing styles. Please show it soon!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.