skip navigation
23 Paces to Baker Street

23 Paces to Baker Street(1956)

Contribute

FOR 23 Paces to Baker Street (1956) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

23 Paces to... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Buyer beware.

    • RB
    • 4/5/13

    Another Fox MOD DVD released in pan and scan rather than the film's 2.55 ratio.I need to get going that the UK DVD by Odeon Entertainment that this is a CinemaScope transfer of it's proper 2.55 ratio.TCM had aired in the Fall of 2012 which is the pan and scan version.No need to review it.If Turner Classic Movies cannot get a CinemaScope print and we all have this DVD which is the darn pan and scan version! I will also not buy this DVD. It needs to be in CinemaScope widescreen.A

  • 23 Paces to Baker Street (1956)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 10/27/12

    Pretty good film. Very Hitchcockian. I do wish it had been more suspenseful, however. Van Johnson does a good job but Vera Miles lacks sparkle and makes one appreciate Grace Kelly in "Rear Window" all the more. The actor who steals the show, though, is Cecil Parker as the butler. I know him best as the king in "Court Jester" and he is wonderful here as well. Just wish the whole film packed more of a wallop. But I agree, these are the kinds of "lost" films that TCM should be showing more. There's only so many times one can show "North By Northwest" after all ...

  • Great

    • JL
    • 10/26/12

    23 paces to Baker St great movie. I saw this movie yrs. ago, when we didn't have a TCM just a local late night movie and they would play all these great dramas and suspense stories. It was a good movie, but TCM never showed it if TCM did it was a long time ago. So many of your movies are repeated over and over. Jeannette and Nelson Ginger & Fred. etc. these are talented people no doubt about it, but how about a change, stop the repeats, and gives us more like 23 paces. The reviews on this movie are all good. should give you an idea that TCM should be showing more.

  • IN THE WORDS OF MISS PEGGY LEE . . .

    • Dan Hand
    • 10/17/12

    . . . "Is that all there is...?!?"The film has held up even better than I had anticipated, prior to my re-viewing it, last night; but, I was disappointed that even TCM (which, I assume, had to borrow its print from the Fox Movie Channel, or some other current owner of the television-distribution rights!?!) could only manage to get ahold of a standard-television print-- i.e., pan-and-scan, rather than letterbox. This film was a major studio production, in its time, and it was filmed and released in CinemaScope, with a 2.55:1 aspect ratio. To see all but the opening and closing frames chopped down to size, even if in nicely maintained DeLuxe color, was a serious disappointment. This film is so rarely shown on television, I do suspect that there is some ownership intrigue that is to blame for it, and likewise for the lack of letterboxing, even on TCM!?!?! Hmmmm....

  • Little Known Suspenser

    • Bruce Reber
    • 10/17/12

    I was watching TCM's "Disability In Film" festival Tuesday night 10/16/12 and saw that "23 Paces To Baker Street" starring Van Johnson and Vera Miles was going to air. I gave it a look and I was surprised how really good a suspense film this is. IMO it's a hybrid of the Hitchcock classic "Rear Window" and "Wait Until Dark", because "23 Paces" has elements of both these classics - Van Johnson playing a blind playwright overhears what he thinks is a kidnapping plot, but when he tells the police and his girlfriend about it they don't believe him; towards the end when he hears the killer coming up the stairs he turns out all of the lights so that he'll be on an even playing field with the killer. The London locations (especially the pea soup fog) provide the perfect atmosphere. Estelle Winwood also good as the barmaid. Show it again soon TCM!

  • Great Mystery Flick

    • Bryan Cassiday
    • 10/17/12

    Great movie! Why did it take so long for you to finally show it?

  • Overlooked art

    • Jeanne E.
    • 10/16/12

    I saw "23 Paces to Baker Street" as a child and never forgot it. It has held up well and should be re-made. Hollywood producers where are you? A real story with real suspense! The public is starved for this!This is also the time to release this film to video. It is a must have! Thank you TURNER for running this film on October 16th....I want to see it again.

  • A Great Film!

    • Sherry Wilkns
    • 10/16/12

    Watched this on TCM tonight and loved it. Great acting, great suspense. To me it's not just a good "disabled-character"movie. It's just a good movie period! Love this kind of mystery film!

  • vastly underrated

    • R
    • 10/16/12

    I've seen this movie a few times. Tonight, it's raining. I have a light on in the back room. My dog is asleep by my chair. I have a large scotch & water at my hand.This movie is only truly great when in a perfect atmosphere at the exact right time. No whimsy. A committment to viewing the film.My favorite Van Johnson. Enjoy.

  • HITCHCOCKIAN!

    • Dan Hand
    • 10/16/12

    This is one of the relatively few movies that actually deserves the appellation of "Hitchcockian"-- i.e., it is a film that one can readily imagine Sir Alfred Hitchcock having made himself (as opposed to a film that is merely of the typical genre that Hitchcock specialized in, during his long career). I am sure that it might seem a bit dated now, especially to younger viewers, compared to when I first saw it myself, as a child, in the mid-1960s; but, Henry Hathaway did a marvelous job of matching a typical Hitchcock thriller-- much as Stanley Donen was to do, seven years later, in "Charade" (using Hitchcock-favorite Cary Grant)-- and, even younger viewers should be able to appreciate the film, realizing that it was made in a different era, when graphic sex, violence and mind-numbing special effects were not the standard fare that viewers were either seeking or offered.

  • 23 paces to Baker Street

    • lorraine
    • 5/29/11

    I would love to get a copy of the movie "23 paces to Baker Street" with Van Johnson. Only saw it once and I would like to have it in my collection. Where can I purchase a DVD?

  • 23 paces to Baker Street (1956)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 5/17/10

    Glad to see this film is available on DVD. I am going to order it as soon as I can. Great mystery.

  • Great movie!!

    • craig
    • 1/15/09

    I can't believe that this film isn't available on DVD ? This is a classic thriller/suspense movie.But at the very least you should be playing it on your program.Please play this film !!!!

  • i want to see 23 paces to baker street

    • michelle
    • 4/5/08

    this is a captivating movie from thebeginning to the end. please show this movie soon, maybe a van johnson tribute.

  • 23 PACES TO BAKER STREET

    • sally
    • 3/29/08

    A VERY GOOD FILM AND SHOULD BE RELEASED TO THE PUBLIC ON DVD TO ENJOY.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.