skip navigation
Tribute to a Bad Man

Tribute to a Bad Man(1956)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Tribute to a Bad Man A brutal rancher has to soften... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A first class Western

    • Nora
    • 6/5/14

    I rooted for Cagney all the way. I thought his reaction to the cruelty towards the horses and how he treated the abusers was spot on. I did not see him as the bad guy at all but someone who had to watch out for himself since no one else would. Yes he could not tell Jo he loved her but that is not unusual for men. I would watch this again to see what I missed in the first few minutes. He was no bad man too me but the hero.

  • So Glad Spencer Tracy was Replaced with Cagney

    • muriel
    • 6/7/12

    From what I have seen of Tracy in films with horses, he could not ride. Besides, Tracy could not do westerns, he was essentially an urban actor. Cagney could ride, a real plus in a story about a man who breeds horses for a livelihood. And Cagney bred morgan horses for a hobby, so he could really identify with the character who loves his horses so much he'll take a very nasty revenge on someone who hurts them.Gorgeous photography and a very intriguing story

  • Back Story

    • BT
    • 8/2/09

    "Tribute to a Bad Man" originally began shooting in Colorado in spring 1955. Spencer Tracy (not a much younger man) had the Cagney role; a young actor, Robert Francis (The Caine Mutiny) had the Dobbins role. Many difficulties with Tracy (documented in one or more Tracy biographs) finally resulted in his being fired; drinking and disappearing, not rare for him, were major causes. Film production ceased in June 1955; actors sent home, pending re-casting of Tracy. Cagney signed with production to re-start in August in Colorado; note the scenery is autumn, not spring, in many shots. In the meantime, Francis at home in LA and not available for other roles, took flying lessons. He died July 31, 1955, in a small airplane crash in Burbank area. (The "3" rule came into play: Susan Ball and Carmen Miranda died within a few days. James Dean died two months later.) Francis, promising young actor, a native of Pasadena, is buried at Forest Lawn with his parents. Shooting resumed with Cagney and Dobbins in August/late summer 1955.

  • Beautiful West

    • Pamela Ledford
    • 3/12/09

    A very enjoyable film. I personally enjoyed Cagney in this film of conquering the west and all that it entailed. I don't know how I missed this western out of the thousands I've seen. I found Cagney matched with Papas and Dubbins a treat! I'm not a Cagney fan although he's definitely a fine and respected actor. Thanks for showing this scenic film.

  • Well done.

    • Fort Chia
    • 9/5/08

    It's a nicely done movie, and realistic unlike many westerns at the time. Cowboys and cowboy life was not romanticized. The acting was also not overwrought for its time.

  • A Middle Ground

    • martyr
    • 6/30/08

    Although it may not be the "best Cagney Western" (I'm partial to "Oklahoma Kid"), this is far from one of the worst films I'VE seen. Thoroughly enjoyable and filled with suspense, the film is ultimately held aloft by Cagney. Though his late career performances can be inconsistent, this one works. He captures the emotional swings of the character in a winning fashion. Fine supporting performances from Vic Morrow and Lee Van Cleef are an extra treat. The Rocky Mountains backdrop is indeed spectacular, even in the Pan and Scan version I saw. Well worh the viewing.

  • What movie did I just watch?!

    • Bill Young
    • 1/24/08

    While I agree with the reviewer that the location of this movie is pristine, that's about the only good thing I found in this movie. Cagney's role was so very obviously mis-cast as he struggles throughout the movie to fit the character of the part. The writer of the story depicted a much younger rancher; Cagney in 1956 was many years past this classification. As for the female lead, she was extremely weak as were the rest of the cast members. In my humble opinion, this is one of the worst movies I have ever seen --- and I am a Cagney fan.

  • Best cagney western

    • larry baldwin
    • 8/10/07

    mother nature has created magnificent mountain ranges in the great american west, coupled with unspoiled wilderness.This film has unsurpassed views of pristine meadows , streams and forests combined with excellent acting by cagney who becomes obsessed with hanging rustlers on his ranch. a difficult movie to find except a black and white copy.This movie must be viewed in color for best visual effect. Vote for a dvd to be made and request TCM to show this fine film.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.