skip navigation
The Toy Tiger

The Toy Tiger(1956)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Toy Tiger - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Best line

    • Mary b
    • 4/6/14

    Love the line in Toy Tiger when Timmie looks up at Jeff Chandler when he (Jeff) asks how tall do tou think I am and Timmie responds " about 10 ft"

  • The Toy Tiger

    • Alma Veal
    • 9/9/13

    This is very good family movie that will be appreciated later on, like now.For those of us that remember TV movies that were free on community channels while dinner was over,thats what we watched.TCMs responsibility is to showcase the actors that influenced our grandparents, parents and their children.Jeff Chandler, so little remembered of his movies, that's where TCM should be stepping in!Less repeats and more props to the gone but not forgotten !

  • A little boy and his Tiger

    • Ian Wotherspoon
    • 7/31/13

    This was one of my favourite movies when it came out in 1956. I can't tell you how many times I coaxed my parents into taking me to see it but it was more than once for sure. The story is a excellent and it will keep you wondering "what's going to happen next?" Young Timmy (Tim Hovey) is very cute and will win every audience over with his cuteness along with his mischevious ways.With all the old movies that have been recently restored and recorded onto DVD I can't see why a movie such as this can't join them along with another favourite of mine by Walt Disney: "ALMOST ANGELS," which is story about a young boy who wants to join the famous Vienna Boys Choir.I truly believe that both of these movies would be loved by families all over the world.

  • Toy Tiger

    • Lorrayne Burt
    • 12/26/12

    Wholesome, heartwarming picture, how can I go about purchasing it?

  • The Toy Tiger

    • Patty
    • 8/11/12

    This is one of the sweetest and most humorous movies I have ever seen. I am so disappointed that I can't find it on DVD. More families should have access to this charming movie!!!

  • Toy Tiger -- Heartwarming Family Movie

    • Genie
    • 5/25/12

    About a little boy named Timmy, with no Father. Feeling pressure from other boys that attend his school, he begins to tell some whopper-sized tales about his "pretend Father". Timmy's schoolmates become suspicious, and insist upon meeting this "African safari hunter" and "world famous traveler". Desperate, he chooses Jeff Chandler -- who is visiting the area. Chandler resists becoming a "pretend Father", yet understands Timmy's lonely heart and doesn't want him to be ridiculed by the boys at school, so he reluctantly goes along with the role. There are some hilarious scenes when Chandler tells the schoolmates about his "African safari and how he trapped an elephant" (a story, based on one of Timmy's tall tales), and surprises... when Chandler discovers that Timmy's Mother is his power-driven boss! As you may expect, Chandler bonds with Timmy (who is now the envy of his schoolmates) and the movie ends happily -- just as it should.

  • Toy Tiger

    • Terri
    • 4/30/11

    Wonderful wonderful heartwarming movie!!

  • The Toy Tiger

    • Jacquie
    • 6/11/10

    I have loved this movie from the first time I saw it some 20+ years ago. Jeff Chandler and Laraine Day are two of my favorite actors to watch. This movie is fun for the whole family. It would please me greatly to be able to find it on DVD.

  • The Toy Tiger

    • Lynn
    • 4/11/10

    I first saw this movie probably 20+ years ago. I fell in love with the movie - especially the little boy who played Timmy. I've only been able to catch the movie twice and have searched for it - hoping that it was available on DVD. I would love to see it released on home video. Keeping my finger crossed, as it's a great movie that I would love to own, so I could see it more often.

  • Super Great Movie

    • Herman Cress
    • 3/6/10

    Love this movie and so does my daughter. She loved it so much and enjoyed watching Jeff Chandler thet she named her first born Chandler. Great Family Movie.

  • The Toy Tiger

    • Jackie
    • 1/23/10

    I fell in love with this movie many many years ago...

  • A huge favorite

    • Terri
    • 8/28/09

    I keep hoping TCM will play this, one of my favorite sentimental sweet movies - the child in the movie is just wonderful!

  • One of my favorite

    • Phyllus
    • 1/3/09

    I remember this movie and would love to see it again. I keep watching the TCM website hoping they will schedule it. Just a nice movie for all to see and the romantic story doesn't hurt it one bit. I am a sucker for romance.

  • Great

    • Karen
    • 1/23/08

    what a terrific, fun, family movie. And who doesn't like Jeffrey Chandler! Why don't we see more of him. Too bad they no longer make movies with morals and values that everyone can enjoy!

  • A GREAT MOVIE

    • Mark Quinney
    • 9/13/07

    This is a great movie for the whole family. It is very heart warming. It need to be on DVD.

  • Very enjoyable movie.

    • Shirley R. Harding
    • 4/20/07

    I love this movie and Timmy is so cute. I had taped it some time ago but the VHS tape does not play well anymore. I hope they will bring it out on DVD so I can get it. I have checked other places and so far cannot find it. The older movies are the best - they don't make many like them these days.

  • Toy Tiger and Foxfire w/Jeff Chandler

    • Eileen Blanco
    • 11/1/06

    I tried to get on the vote screen and it would not open for me. I have been looking for over a year in different stores and sites on the internet for the above 2 movies. Toy Tiger especially only to find out they are not available at all on VHS or DVD.I would love a copy of both these movies. How can I go about getting them?Thanks for your helpEileen Blanco

  • The Toy Tiger

    • Julie
    • 8/26/06

    I saw this movie when I was a teenager babysitting for two young children. The little girl sat and watched it with me and began a love of old movies like I had. It was funny and sweet and perfect for a family to watch together. I now have children of my own and want them to see this wonderful movie. It is not on DVD at this time. I hope that changes soon!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.