skip navigation
Toward the Unknown

Toward the Unknown(1956)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Toward the Unknown A dishonored pilot who is no... MORE > $18.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Stumbled on this movie

    • bikemike
    • 7/29/14

    I see a lot of requests for this movie, and it was aired yesterday morning (7/28/14). I stumbled on it by accident as I was up early for my usual early morning weekday workout, and my cable guide showed something on that was not this movie. But I started watching this one (Toward The Unknown), as I love 1950s movies anyway.TCM had made a last minute change to their lineup, as they did a James Garner tribute. Wow, this film really captured me! Terrific color photography, great script, great cast; everything you could want! It has a lot of the same feel as one of my favorites, "Strategic Air Command". I actually missed the beginning, so I am looking forward to seeing it scheduled again and will "DVR" it.

  • How long must we wait?

    • jean dull
    • 1/1/12

    I wrote my first review in 2007. Judging by the reviews since then everyone is clammering to get their hands on a copy off TTU. Could someone explain why we are being put off? Jean Dull

  • Toward the Unknown

    • howie
    • 10/24/10

    The movie WAS played on "WTBS", the Turner station maybe in the late 80's or early 90's. I Stayed up and taped it at the time and like many fans, I was a fan of Holden and the post Korea Air force/jet age. I can' believe that since it had been played on a Turner network already, it could not be dusted off again.

  • Impossible Dream

    • jean dull
    • 7/22/10

    Judging from the dates for the reviews I read, it looks as tho there is some reason this movie cannot be shown. It is a shame the younger people will not get to view it. The cast of TTU are the best choosen to play off each other than any movie I seen. Not to mention the reality of the history and air force base used. The drama, comedy, reality, just leaves you breathless as if you were there.

  • The XB-51

    • ripcord
    • 5/22/10

    Several reviewers have written the XB-51 lost to the B-47. Actually, the B-47 was already in service. The B-57 Canberra built by Martin under license from BaE in England is the aircraft the XB-51 lost out to. Ironically, Martin also built the XB-51. I wish the movie would be played by TCM and released on DVD. The XF-92, the aforementioned XB-51, Jim Garner's first movie role, Chuck Yeager at the controls of the XB-51 and just the cold war atmosphere of Edwards AFB make this an extremely important film to those of us with a passion for aviation. I'm getting old- how about you suits end your petty squabbles and release this wonderful film before those of us who can appreciate it die off?

  • 1950s Technology, Cold War Angst and Bill Holden

    • MARTY
    • 3/24/10

    Warners made quite a few air force pictures during this period, but this one, TTU is always my favorite. Holden looks sensational as Lincoln Bond -- as if he was born to wear a G suit or dress blues for that matter. This was when...if you want to shoot an airplane, you go to Edwards and shoot it...there was no CGI. So the flying hardware is so flashy and close up, you can see the rivets in the aircrafts' skins. The plot is somewhat borrowed from Bogart's Chain Lightening made several years before. But I have to tel you, in the days when it was in hevier TV rotation, I never missed watching it. I believe it was tied up between Holden's estate (he was the producer)and Warners. It's virtually impossible to find in video/dvd and it's NEVER on TV.Too bad because it gives us a glimps of the 50s when technology was advancing by the minute, the cold war was heating up and America was in a race to maintain air superiority.The WarnerColor was quite elegant in this picture. Perhaps under a firmer hand, a harder action director other than Mervyn LeRoy, ths picture could have been The Right Stuff of its time. In fact, look close at both pictures. Thy share several locations.

  • How it was done

    • JMCueva
    • 2/8/09

    Nostalgic for William Holden, Lloyd Nolan, James Garner and the entire cast as well as for the film. The film was the prelim for the Right Stuff and documented some of the history associate with what it took and where it happened. As far as favorites, I would put this film with all of other films with William Holden like Stalag 17, Bridge over River Kwai, The Counterfeit Traitor, and Devil's Brigade. Hopefully, I can see it once more and soon, it's been a long time.

  • Heaven in the desart

    • William Ott
    • 9/14/08

    I loved the movie as a child and I love it know.I grew up close to Ewards AFB in the late 1950`s My father worked at Edwards and so did 3 of my uncles.I attended airshows at Edwards all the time.I was lucky to get to see X planes on display! I dont know why such a historical movie has not been released to the public? Us avaition buffs were lucky when the right stuff was released. I currently work in the avaition industry for the last 32 years If it had not been for this movie and growing up in the Mojave desart and getting to go to Ewards AFB I might have chosen a diffrent carrier. Please release this great movie.

  • I love the XB-51 bomber!

    • AV8TORJoe
    • 1/16/08

    gabe posted:"The so called "GILBERT XF-120" is really the Martin XB-51 bomber, that lost out to the Boeing B-47..."gabe is right/spot on the money! I saw this film when I was very young and I've always like it. Agree it is a good companion to the contemporary movie "The Right Stuff". Let's hope with this movie does get released in DVD format soon, I wouldn't want to miss out!

  • A Look At Air Force Test Pilots in the 50's

    • gabe
    • 12/21/07

    William Holden plays Maj.Lincoln Bond in this look at Air Force Test Pilots at Edwards Air Force Base during the mid 50's. This movie gives a very good look at the goings-on at the base. Besides the story, you get to see USAF aircraft of the day. The so called "GILBERT XF-120" is really the Martin XB-51 bomber, that lost out to the Boeing B-47. The movie would be a perfect candidate for a lead-in showing with the movie "The Right Stuff". This movie is a Warner Bros. release from 1956. TCM tells me that they only have Warners films up to 1950. But TCM has shown Warners Bros. movies from after that date. Moby Dick is example (also released the same year-1956). The next time TCM does an aviation releated showcase, they should show movies that are aviation related, not a movie that may show a plane in it. Thank you.

  • flying around but gettin' nowhere

    • Jim McKennon
    • 7/27/07

    I like the way Mag. Bond hangs in there especially in spite of all the flack he receives from everybody, including Connie, and is determined to prove them all wrong. He suffers indignity after indignity and sarcasm after sarcasm and manages a calm exterior in spite of it all. I've been waiting a long time to see this movie again.Please air this movie asap and e-mail me when it is scheduled. Thank You, Jim McKennon

  • For William Holden Fans

    • S Donson
    • 5/5/07

    One of my all time favorite movies. Very hard to find! I would really enjoy seeing it on TCM!!

  • Air Force Test Pilots

    • Ed Polansky
    • 4/24/07

    An excellent portrayal of the job of Air Force Test pilots at Edwards Air Force Base. I would like to see it on DVD or on TCM in the near future.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.