skip navigation
Touch of Evil

Touch of Evil(1958)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Touch of Evil - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Touch of Evil

    • John
    • 8/4/13

    Overall-4 1/2 out of 5Lead performers-4/5Supporting Cast-5/5Director-5/5Score-3/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-5/5Importance-5/5Recommendation for fans of genre- 5/5

  • Touch of Genius

    • Marnie Howell
    • 8/20/12

    Wells' greatest endeavor. Case in point - the opening sequence. In my opinion, the most unforgettable first few minutes in the history of film noire. In order to fully appreciate this masterpiece, it should be viewed in a theatre. Wells' direction delivered performances from the leading principals over and above what I could ever imagine. Art Direction, Sound Editing and Cinematography create an exquisitely sinister ambience.Marnie Howell

  • Good movie but...........

    • Robb
    • 12/27/11

    Charlton Heston is in over his head in this one. A more talented actor would have made a big difference. Still worth watching though.

  • Touch of Evil

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 12/5/11

    A milestone in the mystery genre, "Touch of Evil" is uniquely one of Welles' masterpiece. Welles is unquestionablly perfect as the corrupt chief, while I found Heston giving a compelling, but miscast part. The sinister atmosphere & the jazz music of legendary Henry Mancini make this a must-see for lover's of Welles' work. I give it a 4/5.

  • Question re: ouch of Evil version on sale here

    • Lost Angelino
    • 4/22/11

    Is this the restored version with Welle's notes?

  • T.O.E Re-edited Version

    • Bruce Reber
    • 10/6/10

    When "Touch Of Evil" (1958), Orson Welles classic Film Noir thriller aired on TCM 10/4/10, I could see that it was not the restored original version, but the one re-edited by Universal-International without Welles' permission. This prompted him to write a lengthy memo to the studio pleading that the film be restored exactly the way he had made it. The most noticeable change is the opening scene, shot in one continuous three-minute take. In the restored version the film's credits are shown at the end in a separate sequence, but in the re-edited version the credits are shown at the beginning over the opening scene and it really detracts from its suspense, from the bomb being planted in the car to when it explodes. When TCM aired "Touch Of Evil" on 9/8/10 it was the original restoration, so I don't get why the re-edited film was shown on 10/4. This is maybe the next-to-last great Film-Noir -"Odds Against Tomorrow" (1959) is the last. T.O.E. has all the qualities of a classic, from a great cast featuring Charlton Heston, Janet Leigh, Orson Welles, Akim Tamiroff, Marlene Dietrich , et al. (Dennis Weaver almost steals the show with his over-the-top perfromance as the wacked-out motel night man), great B&W cinematography by Russell Metty, and the powerful jazz-driven score by Henry Mancini that sets the mood for the entire film. When T.O.E. was released in 1958 hardly anybody paid attention, maybe because Welles' artistic and creative vision as a film maker was not appreciated at the time. "Touch Of Evil" today is regarded as one of the top Film Noirs of all time, and I don't think there are many that can dispute that. BTW, next time you air T.O.E. TCM, please show the restoration!

  • Touch Of Evil

    • Rick Schmidlin
    • 9/9/10

    I produced the re-edit.Thank you for the comments.

  • Touch of Evil

    • billrobinson
    • 9/9/10

    A brand new movie for me. Thank you TCM! My oh my, what a wonderful film. Orson, Chuck, Marlene, Dennis. I was on the edge of my seat. The acting, the camera work, the classic suspense was brilliantly done. A five plus star flick I feel. This is a GREAT movie.

  • Touch of Evil(1958) restored version only

    • nshepard
    • 9/9/10

    Classic film making Orson Welles and his "Orwellian" best. Slime ball cops mix it up at the U.S./Mexican border when a bomb attempt on Ramon Vargas(Charlton Heston) and his wife Susan(Janet Leigh) misses ,and the mystery is on. Truly one of the most offbeat film of all times adds to the character and deprth . Opening scenes just draw the viewer in deeper to the narcotic infested underworld (many similarities by todays standards) of the violent attmpts to undermine the Law, and infect society with drugs. All -Star Cast, Dennis Weaver,Akim Tamiroff, Orson Welles,Ray Collins,Joseph Cotten, Keenan Wynn, Zsa Zsa Gabor and a guest appearence of Marlene Dietrich as Tana the "Gypsy." Definite guilty pleasure, take the time to enjoy one of the oddest films ever made. Every scene is eye candy. 5 stars for doing what it was made to do,entertain and think.,

  • Touch of Evil (1958)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/31/10

    Very atmospheric, superb cinematography and very intense and suspenseful from start to finish. The offbeat casting works amazingly well. Filled with touches of brilliance. Orson Welles direction is remarkable. A classic gem. Vivid performances.

  • Great performances by Wells and Dietrich

    • jeff
    • 10/23/08

    Great movie with a motel scene with Janet Leigh and Dennis Weaver that anticipates Psycho's Bates motel with Janet and Perkins.

  • A must see

    • PetrParker
    • 1/11/08

    Highly re-watchable classic.

  • GLAD YOU LIKE IT

    • Rick Schmidlin
    • 10/14/06

    I produced the re-edit I enjoy your comments.

  • Don't miss this classic!

    • Steve Brown
    • 6/2/06

    One of Welles' masterpieces. Has an ambiance all its own. Hope it's not a spoiler to state than Tana is played, unbilled, by Marlena Dietrich. She oozes with charisma in this flick. I love the player piano in the brothel...it's actually like an additional character in the film. It also adds punctuation to the dramatic narrative. General mood of the film is a downer, but there's quality in every facet. It will stick in your mind!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.