skip navigation
Tora! Tora! Tora!

Tora! Tora! Tora!(1970)

  • Thursday, January 5 @ 05:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Tuesday, February 28 @ 09:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Tora! X 3= Honesty

    • Clichae
    • 12/8/16

    What really sold me on this movie was its portrayal of a curious phenomenon characterizing the 20th & 21st centuries inside American power installations: personnel who sense & attempt to counter an ill wind versus those in the same or higher ranks who ignore or thwart their efforts out of stupidity or complicity with the enemy within! The Purple Code should be a household trivia byte by now. Japan was rightly shown as making overtures to avoid confrontation against the U.S. only to be put off by the same. The 'sleeping giant' ,whom the Japanese military feared to have awakened, was harboring the father of the atomic bomb & the WWII victors who have conquered our minds since then! This movie is clean, intelligent, masculine, dignified, & beautifully filmed.

  • Deserves Its Proper Place In WWII Films

    • 75 yearsagotoday
    • 12/7/16

    IMHO,watch this film,if for nothing else,a final dignified and excellent performance by the late and great George Macready as Cordell Hull.A much underappreciated stage and screen actor,all anybody can reply when his name is mentioned is some stupid remark about his facial scar as a result of a car accident in 1919,he went thru the windshield,with I'd say a concusion and other scars besides on his face.Probably contributed to his headaches that he'd ask another co-star to rub his neck to help relieve-the scaring on his throat makes me wonder if he had TMJ.This was Macready's next to last performance,and he's excellent,but of course,no Oscar nomination.Time to give this man his due respect,and give his family the honorary award this man justly earned over a career that started on stage in 1926!

  • This Film Deserves Its Propers

    • deservesrespect
    • 9/1/16

    To summarize what's good in this film-watch Macready as Hull,that's what's the greatest part of this film.An actor who was never given proper praise,Macready,suffering with emphysema,was Sec Of State Hull,and in a powerful scene,blasts the Japanese gov't for the sneak attack on Pearl Harbor.We may have heard otherwise in the ensuing decades since Pearl about whether it was unexpected,but his stating in 50 years of public service he'd never seen so many glaring untruths as presented by the Japanese to Washington.Really don't understand why this film isn't considered more highly,as many other war-related films,as IN HARMS WAY!

  • Haven't Seen This In Years

    • likedit
    • 7/23/16

    WWII lead in showing diplomatic & military blunders on part of Peace time Navy.Can't be disturbed on Sunday Morn seems to be prevailing attitude-caught with their kit off.See nothing about this film-well acted and directed!

  • Tora Tora Tora

    • Michael Whitty
    • 7/23/16

    The events and strategies leading up to the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor in Hawaii are well depicted in "Tora Tora Tora". First there is the people and thinking of both sides as to how this really happened and then there are the attack scenes done with stunning brilliance. The Japanese did everything from about 8am to 10am on that fateful Sunday morning. Luckily we had 3 aircraft carriers away at the time. Surprisingly "Tora Tora Tora" bombed out in theaters in 1971 although "Patton" was a hit at the time. Still this shows the leadup and then the attack in fuller details than other Pearl Harbor movies.

  • tora tora tora

    • kevin sellers
    • 7/23/16

    This movie should be titled "Bore-a" "Bore-a" "Bore-a."

  • Factual account!

    • RedRain
    • 12/7/12

    If you like war films, there is none better than this one! There are no side stories involving romance, etc. It's just the facts leading to the bombing of Pearl Harbor. The complete preparation by the Japanese is mind-boggling in its thoroughness and you can fully see why they were so successful in this endeavor. The myriad mistakes made by the USA, completely unprepared for defense of this strategic island, make you boil with anger. It is interesting to note that the Japanese were no less avid in their support of their nation than we were in ours, each patriotic in their own way. All of these decades later, this film holds up as well as the day it was released. The aerial attack scenes are striking, particularly when you understand they are, for the most part, actual footage shot that awful day. I watch this film every single time it is shown and I still appreciate it as one of the greatest war films ever made!

  • added scenes

    • Asa
    • 3/14/12

    When I saw Tora! Tora! Tora! on TCM a few weeks ago (2012 March), there were Japanese scenes I had never seen before on my DVD version. I'm glad to see another reviewer confirmed this. I saw this movie in the theater when it was first released and wonder if those scenes were in that version. I distinctly remember the scene of the woman flight instructor cursing in the theatrical version, which is not on the DVD, so I wonder what other scenes were in the "full" version.

  • tora, tora, tora

    • gene kusaka
    • 3/2/12

    I don't believe i have ever seen this version of the movie before. I have a relatively recent dvd of it and yet though i tuned in late, i caught a scene which featured famous japanese actor kiyoshi astumi famous for playing "tora-san" (character name a happy coincidence with tora, tora, tora) in the long running series known as the "tora san, otoko ha tsuraiho") as a cook on board one of the ships of the pearl harbor strike force. has anyone seen this version before, and do you have any info. very curious to see the full version of the March 1, broadcast.

  • Tora! Tora! Tora!

    • Kuklapolitan
    • 3/2/12

    This is the World War II movie that depicts the events that transpired in Washington, Japan and Hawaii ending in the subsequent attack on Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941 in chronological order. A tragedy of errors committed by the United States mired in military protocol and the complacency of political and diplomatic relations highlights this breathtaking film. The battle scenes that were filmed are a thrilling combination of actual footage and staged action...and the results are absolutely stunning! There are no "stars" in this film and no love story attached to its electrifying theme and rightfully so! The weight is in the story and not the ensemble cast that created their characters. Excellently directed by Richard Fleischer as well as three Japanese directors, including Akiro Kurosawa, gave this film its its impetus and put us right in the middle of "a date which will live in infamy."

  • history of communications networks in defense

    • tm
    • 3/1/12

    This film is a great historical document regarding the development of communications networks used in aviation and defense.

  • FANTASTIC!!

    • Almost Ranch
    • 2/20/12

    One of the best, if not THE best, WWII movies ever produced!

  • Best Pearl Harbor movie ever.

    • YDDES
    • 12/1/11

    In my opinion "Tora! Tora! Tora!" is much better and much more accurate than "Pearl Harbor". There are no added love story or deliberate history fakings. It tries to recount what happened as accurate as possible. On the technical side it's faschinating. In Japan full size mock-ups of a complete battleship and half an aircraft carrier were constructed. In Pearl Harbor half an American battleship was built on barges. 30 American trainers were converted into three types of japanese planes and launched from a real carrier. Dozens of mock-up American fighters were built to be destroyed during the bombing scenes.One of my favorite movies!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.