skip navigation
To Be or Not to Be

To Be or Not to Be(1942)

  • Thursday, July 31 @ 04:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Sunday, August 10 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Monday, October 6 @ 12:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

To Be or Not to... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • To Be

    • Alexei
    • 1/28/14

    It's easy to have mixed feelings about this movie, considering the subject matter. But I don't think that Lubitsch trivialized the war and its terrible sufferings. It's a wonderful film and Carole Lombard is particularly radiant and effective in her role. She was a great beauty and a superb comic.

  • To Be Or Not To Be

    • Emery von Sztankoczy
    • 11/16/13

    What a fabulous satire. Carol Lombard is spectacular as she always was. No great beauty has ever handle comedy in quite the same off the shoulder manner. Jack Benny gives one of his best performances. Robert Stack in his youth is charming and very handsome indeed. The character performances are inspired. The absurdity and evil nature of Nazism and indeed totalitarianism of any sort, left or right are exposed for their inherent falsity. This film has that Lubitsch touch which can parody evil thus revealing it's horror far more effectively than if handled with a heavy hand.

  • Insensitive Crap

    • Jeremy
    • 4/28/13

    This came out during WWII and should have never done so, Ernst was an uncaring fool for putting this out when he did, my grandfather was a POW in WWII and I'm sure he would not have found watching this very amusing especially since we are of polish decent. There was no healing time between this movie and WWII to give people a chance to calm down to be able to actually enjoy something like this, and because it was put out when it was I recommend that people do now watch this garbage

  • A gem!

    • ggtx785
    • 2/15/13

    Love, love, love this film - it's ensemble acting at its finest. Jack Benny and Carole Lombard are in top form, and the entire cast is deft and effervescent in this madcap story about an acting troupe that saves a pilot escaped from Nazi captivity. Kudos also to Felix Bressart for a touching performance, reminiscent of another, from "The Shop Around the Corner"--he only speaks a few lines, but they're central to the plot. I won't give away the final scene, but I guarantee a big, hearty laugh. This is a must-have for any Lubitsch film collector.

  • The Lubitsch touch

    • Trollopian
    • 9/8/12

    Remember that this film was released in 1942! It's not only hilarious but poignant...Lubitsch, Benny, Lombard, were thumbing their collective noses at the Nazis with humor (a device that Charlie Chaplin also used to great effect). A feeling of menace suffuses this film throughout. But leave it to Lubitsch to leaven it with sex and drollery. This was remade by Mel Brooks and his crew, in high-camp style. I'm no snob; the remake is also very good...but by then we knew how the war ended. The original is among my half-dozen favorite films of all time.

  • Hilarious

    • Michele
    • 11/16/11

    Very very funny. The plot has more curves than a scenic railroad (to borrow a line from The Bandwagon). Every time you think you know what's going to happen next, you're wrong. Jack Benny is in fine form here. And the fact that this movie was made at the height of WWII adds to its historical interest. Don't miss this one. And thanks, TCM, for running it - you'd never see this movie anywhere else.

  • A True Political Comedy Classic for the Ages

    • Marilyn Young
    • 10/28/08

    I have always loved this film since I first saw it at a prominent film festival in NYC in the 1970's. This 5 star ***** film and its stars get better with the passing years and deserves to be in the ranks of the great political film satires such as Charlie Chaplins the Great Dictator. I am lucky to own this film on DVD but the lack of TV Broadcasting Rights in Canada due to the fact that director / producer Mel Brooks brought the rights to this film in the late seventies and later did a remake ( early 80's) that he directed and starring himself, co-starring Anne Bancroft, Gene Wilder,and Madeline Kahn. Unfortunely it was not a box-office success, but because of this film remake it is just is not available on Canadian TV and this is a shame. The film boasts Jack Bennys best comic performance ( its really to bad that film directors did not make good use of his comic talents) and the always dependable Carol Lomabard adds her conserable class to the proceedings. Highly recommendable and amazing accurate from an historical political and sense of parody.Marilyn Elizabeth Young / Vancouver, Canada

  • A hilarous Classic

    • Billy Ray Hughes
    • 10/27/08

    One of those movies to watch every year or so for the sheer pleasure.

  • To Be or Not To Be

    • Phillis Schley
    • 7/25/08

    I had seen and really liked this film some time ago. I decided to watch it with friends when it was showing recently. WE we interrupted and did not get to finish seeing the film. My friends hope it will be shown again soon so that they can finish seeing it.

  • To Be or Not to be Redone

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 7/13/08

    When I viewed this film (for the first time) earlier today, it occurred to me that I've really missed a cinematic gem for far too long. I'm so glad I finally took the time to sit down and enjoy it. I don't think this type of film would be made today (and it should be). It would be easy to substitute Saddam for Hitler and to contemporize the political backdrop. I felt that some of the scenes moved rather slowly...I like leisure pacing in film, but I know that modern audiences probably wouldn't pay attention or be so patient. For example, when Jack Benny's character has to keep coming up with dialogue in order to fool the Nazi in the theatre, and he kept repeating the concentration camp line. That was funny the first and second time, but to keep replaying it for another laugh without moving the plot forward was kind of a strain for the average viewer. I really enjoyed the sequence at the end when they impersonated Hitler at the theatre, and I thought those scenes moved too fast. It was like the film spent an inordinate amount of time setting up the premise, then the payoff was too fast. As for the cast, they were superb. Robert Stack was very interesting in this film and almost steals it from the leads. I think what made this film resonate was that director Lubitsch had something to say about Germany and Europe at the time, and as a result, he put extraordinary care into the process of making the film and using art as counter-propaganda (which in itself is a form of propaganda for the 'right' side). I was particularly impressed with the outdoor action sequences mid-way through the film, and I wasn't bothered by stretches of story in which Lombard and Benny did not appear, such as when Stack was trying to send a message back to Lombard and was giving a note to the professor. As for the ending, I think it would've been better if Stack's character was now on stage saying 'to be or not to be,' and Benny was sneaking off to be with his wife!

  • To Be or Not To Be

    • Kat
    • 10/6/07

    I am so disappointed that To Be or Not to Be with Jack Benny, Carole Lombard, and Robert Stack is not airing in Canada. i stayed up all night to watch it, and some other movie is playing instead, so I went online to check your schedule only to find it is playing in the US but not in Canada. I saw this play in the 70s and I thought then that it was the funniest play I had ever seen, and have always wanted to see it again. Please air it in Canada as well as in the USA!!!Kat

  • What's Up?

    • mrsthursday
    • 10/15/06

    Can anyone clarify why Canada can't see the Jack Benny Carole Lombard, To Be or Not To Be?

  • Why not airing in Canada?

    • C. R.
    • 1/29/06

    I'm very disappointed that this film isn't airing in Canada, and I hope that TCM clears the rights/pays the extra costs/does whatever needs to be done in order to get it shown here as well as in the US. I see it's scheduled to air again on Feb. 17th '06, and I'll be keeping my fingers crossed.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.