skip navigation
Titanic

Titanic(1953)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Titanic An unhappily married couple... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • What a pleasure to watch such fine acting.

    • Trish
    • 8/20/14

    The understated, nuanced acting from the entire ensemble is superb. Leonard Maltin is wrong. This is in every way superior to the 1997 extravaganza.

  • Remarkable!

    • Theresa P
    • 5/29/13

    This is one of my new favorite movies. I feel so lucky to have seen this. The family's relationships are poignantly portrayed. Incredible performances by Barbara Stanwyck and Clifton Webb. And the filming of the ship and the remaining men at the end - what a gripping story in itself. Thank you once again Turner Classic!

  • Three version of Titanic

    • denscul
    • 5/29/13

    Many films have been reproduced, and Titanic is no exception. I do not think anyone, at least anyone born in the 20th century would think the last glitzy version was the best. Re the British, A night to remember is better than the American Titanic 1953 film may be like asking whether you like tea, or coffee. The answer may depend on which side of the Ocean you were born. I would have to give an edge to the USA version due to the two leading stars, as opposed to the British version, which did not have a major headliner. I would grant that the British film seems more technically correct, inasmuch as it was based on a book written by the highest ranking surviving officer. But I like the US version because it shows a basic truth, and that a lot of things we think important, really are not when the water reaches your ankles.

  • I was Pleasantly Surprised by my Crying

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/12/13

    This was the first time I had seen this movie all the way through. (Previously I'd seen the first 30 minutes about 3 times.) It had me interested because it's the Titanic and Barbara Stanwyck, together. I really wasn't sure how much I would like it because I had seen Cameron's Titanic 3 times in the theater (which I've never seen a movie even twice before in a theater) and each time I had cried like a baby! (Once I had even cried through my kleenex so bad I had to get up and go to the restroom sobbing. Embarrassing.) So I said all that because while I was excited to see Stanwyxk in a Titanic movie I didn't think it could hold a candle to Cameron's. Well, I was wrong. I really enjoyed this movie. I liked the fact it was under two hours, yet it still made me tear up and hold in my crying. And now I won't even watch Cameron's Titanic. It's too long and too overdone and too "Twilight" with Rose and Jack. This story is more mature and more realistic. A very good movie, indeed.

  • Excellent Movie

    • Renee C
    • 3/16/13

    I can not agree with Mr. Maltin's review for one main reason. This movie was made 44 years ago and therefore should not be compared to newer versions. I enjoyed this movie more than James Cameron's version. It had a story with an actual meaning, instead of following a one couple, who seemed to be more important to the movie than the ship and people themselves. Without having all the information of what was uncovered after the Titanic hearings were completed and the files were made public, I think they did an remarkable job. I plan on purchasing the movie to have for my collection.

  • The Best TITANIC

    • Jery Tillotson
    • 3/16/13

    This powerful black and white drama of the Titanic still surpasses all the other versions--yes, even the James Cameron extravaganza. Cameron turned this unforgettable sea tragedy to a Romeo and Juliet love story that went on and on and could have benefitted by at least 30 to 45 minutes cut.But in this l953 version, we're told the story through a battling married couple who somehow rediscover their love before the tragic end of the doomed liner.We've got two towering professionals: Barbara Stanwyck and Clifton Webb who make us believe in them as tragic characters. Both shine throughout and we feel genuine pathos at the end when they're parted.The production and cast members are all superb and the script rightfully won an Academy Award. The dialogue is adult, gripping and adds immeasurably to the sense of doom.A young Robert Wagner can be seen, along with Audrey Dalton.This version was first conceived by that masterful genius, David O. Selznick back in the early l940s as a Technicolor spectacular but World War II curtailed such an idea because of the physical materials that would be needed for bringing this legendary tragedy to life on the screen. James Cameron re-conceived this original concept and his final product certainly its champions but to me, this stunning black and white version has all the punch and emotional intensity that the other versions lack.Barbara Stanwyck and Clifton Webb are unforgettable and they'll linger in your mind long after you've seen them on the screen.

  • Excellent version!

    • RedRain
    • 2/9/13

    I first saw this film as a young girl and it forever convinced me I would never take an ocean voyage and I haven't! I later saw "A Night to Remember" and it only solidified my feeling about ocean liners. The modern version "Titanic" was beautiful in its cinematography but I much prefer the other two versions. This iteration was superbly acted by Clifton Webb as Mr. Sturgess, the curmudgeon who had left his family once he found out his son was not his biological progeny. His later redemption through the bravery of his son is worth watching the entire film for. The incomparable Barbara Stanwyck as Mrs. Sturgess adds much to this film. The stoicism of the crew and the men and women who stayed behind does belie the fact that in reality there really was panic and many dived overboard from the ship. The one thing I did not quite understand is the use of the name Maude Young (wonderfully acted by Thelma Ritter) when the character was clearly based on Molly Brown. They used the actual name of Titanic's captain and disguising Mrs. Brown's name was a bit strange.

  • Leonard Maltlin is half correct.

    • denscul
    • 11/11/12

    Critic Leonard Maltlin agrees that this film, staring American Actors, is not up to Night to Rember, the British version. This film is still better than the latest production of the Titanic Disaster, with all its color, bells and whistles. The Titanic sinking is one of the all time disasters, which has captured the imagination of the world. The word Titanic is now a word used frequently to desribe other disasters. Making a film about such an event can go either to historically correct. In the British version, the surviving highest ranking Officer is the main star, told from his viewpoint. Despite most films that come across as documentaries, the British version, as Matlin would agree, is the best. However, he seems to place the last US version on a higher pedistal than I would place it. That version, was more of a social commentary made with the vision of a later age. In 1912, the world was 2 years away from WWI, which altered society more than any other event. The dominance of male superiority, the rich, and the underclass of emigrants, was more effectively portrayed in the two other films. I recommend watching all three at the same time, and see if you do not agree with my assesment.

  • Titanic (1953)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/14/09

    This bears little resemblance to the 1997 epic, this story focuses on a particular family and their ups and downs. Very engrossing and well written, great production and cast. Barbara Stanwyck is excellent as always.

  • The real "Titanic"

    • film_critiquer
    • 5/22/09

    The 1953 version of "Titanic" is so much better a film production that the newer release. The older version, just aired on TCM stars the divine 46yo Barbara Stanwyck. Her performance is the centerpiece of the film. The focus of the film is much better placed upon how the Titanic's crew tried to the bitter cold end to get another nearby ship to come to their passengers' rescue. The newer version is a soaper and slobbering romance. While Stanwyck's role is about a wife's marriage on the rocks, her performance doesn't overshadow the seriousness of the disaster at sea. Robert Wagner also gives a fine supporting performance.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.