skip navigation
The Time Machine

The Time Machine(1960)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Time Machine A turn-of-the-century inventor... MORE > $7.99 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • the time macine

    • will
    • 1/31/14

    Great old Saturday afternoon fun movie. If your gonna try to critic this film , well, as someone else said, about another film, you might as well just change the channel, and leave the fun for the rest us. The one and only glitch I personally found was Alan Youngs Scottish accent. and even that,at least was kept to a minimum. I find the teenagers(Not All)today ,disturbingly more and more like the young people in this film,with there who gives a damn attitude about life and death.

  • I think it just mite be my favorite movie now!

    • Natalie
    • 9/27/13

    I think its a fun movie overall and very amusing to watch! I love the graphics and how good it is for its age, I also think its amazingly entertaining because of the paise it go's I like how its not to slow but not to fast :) -but that's just coming from a 12 year olds view

  • Good Effort

    • Graham Thomas
    • 9/27/13

    Not quite up there with the great ones, Invasion of the Body Snatchers et al, but a solid entertaining film from George Pal (see also War of the Worlds). Vivid color, nice Victoriana, a proto SteamPunk Time Machine and a lovely Yvette. What kills this is the lame charicterization of the monsters. Weak at best. Worth a look and a bowl of popcorn.

  • The Time Machine (1960)

    • jjp009
    • 9/27/13

    I am already very much looking forward to this film when TCM airs it tonight. I try to catch it every time it shows. I remember reading the book as a child and being fascinated with the idea of time travel, and when I saw this film later, I loved it even more. So, I guess you could say this film provides warm, fuzzy memories for me and it will always mean something special in my heart.

  • Which three books would you take?

    • RedRain
    • 2/18/13

    I've never forgotten that penultimate query of this film! Three books with which to build a civilization! Think of it! Robert Osbourne relays that H. G. Wells felt that of all his books it was this one which he felt would lend itself best to film and he was right! The other Wells books-to-film pale in comparison to this great film. It took thirty more years before a sci-fi film - "2001: A Space Odyssey" - had the quality of "The Time Machine" and this is due in no small part to George Pal. I've given much thought to Wells' premise of time travel and, now that we are working on this in our scientific community, I've no doubt it will occur one day. The acting in this film is first-rate and Rod Taylor is terrific! I would only add that the new version of this film is not nearly as good as this one. If you like the story itself, please read the book! It's sensational!

  • Movie Machine

    • James Morland
    • 11/29/12

    As I listen to Frank Zappa's masterfull Watermelon in Easter Hay, I'm vigoursly pumping out this review of George Pal's randition of The Time Machine. This movie is the adaption of the classic short novel by H.G. Wells regarding a late-19th century scientist who travels to the distant future and finds a race of child-like creatures. And, um, well, things happen. The structure of The Time Machine, as far as plot and what not go, is of a good, dare I say great, quality; yet, I'd say the characteriazation wasn't exactly deep. The performaces were decent enough. More miscellaneous aspects to The Time Machine are of an admirable quality, but I'd certainly have to day that the most superb aspect to this movie is that it's unusually entertaining. This really is a fine film to watch for fun, you know. Besides there's the undeniable fact that if George Pal set out to make a very decently pieced together work that audeinces would like, then he certainly suceeded. The only real foul-smelling part of The Time Machine is it hasn't exactly aged well and may seem cheesy and hoaxy to more 'modern' viewers; although, this is still something most people, espically movie buffs, should be able to apprieciate.

  • I always watch this...

    • Kathy
    • 11/28/12

    Even though I've seen this many times, I always end up watching it whenever TCM runs it. The special effects are probably what entice me-watching the mannequin change over time, watching the world being bombed & covered in lava...seeing that spooks me every time. It really hits home with the way war is shown to be nothing but destructive in the long run...even 80 thousand years into the future. BUT-if I could change anything by going back in time in the movie-it would be to pick any other than WEENA for that poor woman! And being an antiques collector -I'd love to get ahold of the time machine's gear shift. Gorgeous!

  • Favorite science fiction classic

    • Sylvia Elwyn
    • 11/26/12

    This is my favorite science fiction classic of all times. I love the special effects and the movie is well cast, in my opinion. It is great the TCM is still showing this wonderful movie!

  • The Time Machine (1960)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/28/12

    A decent film (and by classic movie sci-fi standards, brilliant) and a must-see for fans of the genre. It's a garish cartoon compared to the subtle novel it is loosely adapted from, but it's not bad. Also, am I the only one who thinks Robin Williams should have been in a remake? He looks remarkably like Rod Taylor--not so much in physique, though (except for the rug on his chest).

  • IF YOU/VE NEVER SEEN THIS...............

    • Michael Steven
    • 2/4/12

    As you can tell............I have an interest in horror,as well as sci-fi films.THE GOOD ONES IN PARTICULAR.I GOT THAT FROM MY DAD.THIS PARTICULAR FILM IS NO EXCEPTION. I first saw The Time Machine,around 1969-1970.BLEW ME AWAY WITH IT'S VISUALS!I also viewed the 2002 version,& was impressed by it's visuals as well.The difference in the 2002 version was that the Time traveller went further into the future,as he did in the book.A VERY BLEAK VISION FOLLOWS THEREAFTER.But let's get back to the 1960 film.This film won the Oscar,for Best Visual Effects,in 1960.The Time Machine presently resides at Bob Burns home in California.I know,becuse I asked him in 2001.NICE FELLOW. The film BASICALLY covers the book.With a FINE cast,how can you go wrong.I recently heard that George Pal had intended for a sequel to be made.It made it only as far as a completed storyline,NOTHING MORE.If you want to know what the story was about,e-mail me,I'll fill you in.It's been said that THE TIME MACHINE was George Pal's favorite film.In my opinion,the passage of time sequence in BOTH films is AMAZING.Yet........there's something almost magical about this film.On the DVD Version,there's a Special Interest section entitled,"THE JOURNEY BACK".It's about the making of the film.ALSO.....the Time Traveler RETURNS!!!!In the book,the Time Traveler had no name. If you've never seen this film,WATCH IT!It's a VERY special film,indeed.

  • A Science-Fiction Masterpiece.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 1/3/10

    Filmmaker George Pal brings another one H.G. Wells' classic novels to life on the big screen with astonishing Oscar-winning special effects. Rod Taylor stars as a turn-of-the-century inventor, whose latest creation, a time machine propels him forward into a futuristic world, only H.G. Wells could have imagined. Also starring Alan Young, Yvette Mimieux, Sebastian Cabot, Whit Bissell, Tom Helmore & Doris Lloyd.

  • The Time Machine 1960

    • Joseph
    • 11/17/08

    My Favorite TCM Vintage movie of all . Rod Taylor and Yvette Mimeux had PERFECT Chemistry. H G Wells imagination had no boundaries.

  • A Timeless Movie

    • Paul Jackson
    • 10/6/08

    This movie just gets better with age. I had not seen it in decades, but now realize what I have been missing. Despite not having the special effects of today's science fiction movies, it holds its own. George Pal has shown time after time (!) he is the true master of science fiction movies. I'm now buying this gem on DVD to treasure it for always.

  • What three books?

    • Nick
    • 2/3/08

    At the very end of the Time Machine aninteresting question was made. Filbyaksed the house keeper what was missingand she said three books, but did notknow which books were missing. If you were in the same situation as the inventor, which three books would you take with you to a new society?

  • One of the best sci-fi films ever!

    • Tony
    • 12/24/07

    What a great movie! The musical score adds tremendously to the fear factor of the film. I think the morlocks are some of the best movie monsters of all time, especially the scene where they were underground and coming at the lead actors with their eyes all a glow and ready to eat them!

  • Beware the Moorlocks!

    • Bob Galvin-Oliphant
    • 2/12/06

    Rod Taylor and Yvette Mimieux are fun to watch in this H.G. Wells story brought to the big screen. The hideous Moorlocks scared me as a kid watching this movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.