skip navigation
Quo Vadis

Quo Vadis(1951)

  • Monday, February 16 @ 06:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Quo Vadis A Roman commander falls for a Christian slave girl as Nero... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Quo Vadis

    • Lorraine
    • 8/27/14

    I loved this movie. It was great!!

  • Horrible movie!

    • Jack
    • 4/19/14

    Robert Taylor seemed to specialize in phony"period" movies which are on a par with high school plays.

  • QUA VADIS

    • will
    • 10/21/13

    great film, fantastic cast from start to finish. this was made in an era without computers, when you had to know your skills as an actor ,actress, director in fact, what ever your job was they took pride in what they did. my only complaint is Robert Taylor. he trys hard, but comes off wooden. never what I would call a great actor, rather one of those Hollywood handsome guys who usually played an extention of his own personality.

  • Awesome Movie - Quo-Vadis!

    • Terri
    • 1/19/13

    I didn't see this movie from the beginning, but as soon as I started watching it, I realized how wonderful a movie it was. I watched it to the end....really well done. I thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommend it!

  • Correction to Synopsis

    • Glenn
    • 1/1/13

    The Deborah Kerr character is not a slave girl. Lygia, Kerr, is an hostage - under the jurisductuon of the empreor Nero.

  • Great movie epic

    • paul bacigalupi
    • 9/4/12

    Quo Vadis has just about everything a great movie needs to be great---wonderful story, terrific performances and a production/costume design second to none. Peter Ustinov and Patricia Laffan as Nero and Poppaea almost steal the show. The burning of Rome is a stupendous achievement and the Circus Maximus sequences are both spectacular and horrific in their depiction of Christians slaughtered for their faith. Deborah Kerr is a lovely heroine, Robert Taylor a stalwart hero and Leo Genn a regal Petronius. Also outstanding is the music by Milklos Rozsa. I highly recommend Quo Vadis as a perfect example of Hollywood at its best.

  • Qvo Vadis 1951

    • Mary Steckler
    • 4/16/12

    Loved it!!

  • book vs. movie

    • george's girl
    • 2/20/12

    Years ago as a young teenager, my Mother had me read "Quo Vadis" by Henry Seinkeiwicz (I was expected to read several books every summer break, felt very put upon but am now extremely grateful.)I recall being mesmerized by this really wonderful book and never forgot that "reading assignment" Thereafter, I saw the movie and was once again struck by the beauty and majesty of this great story of love, courage and endurance of the early Christians. Delighted that it's coming to DVD!

  • Quo Vadis

    • Danielle Taylor
    • 5/15/10

    Gives you a Darn good idea of what it was like to be a christian and live under a ruler like Nero.. Wow those christian's had what it took to live a virtuous life in a pagan world. Actually, it was more than a love story. Considering the time it was made, I think the waiting; lead to a cast which contributed to a memorial story. Originally the cast and directors changed a few times; along with the interruption of the war. The Good Lord does have His Ways inspite of what others may think.. Life has it's ironies; and Marcus and Lygia both overcame their differences to the extent that they were willing to compromise. As Marcus said. " I cannot pretend to be a christian." Lygia accepted that with the understanding of hope and faith; that he was willing to accept her for her beliefs. How many of us could do that today??

  • Love Quo Vadis

    • Dee
    • 4/21/10

    This is a great movie-the whole family loves it.

  • As Bad As It Can Get

    • Henry Hoffman
    • 4/21/10

    Gosh, what an awful film! Manipulative, pandering, wooden personages, directed by the numbers. The delicate beauty of Deborah Kerr & the dexterous clowning of Peter Ustinov is all that it has to offer.

  • Quo Vadis - Fantastic Epic

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/16/10

    "Quo Vadis" (MGM-1951) starring Robert Taylor and Deborah Kerr is a great epic historical drama. I like everything about it - performances, photography, sets and music - but why couldn't it have been put on a single DVD? I have the 2 DVD edition, and the continuity looks a little awkward. Also, I don't know if the film had an intermission (entr'acte), but this should have been included (the overture and exit are).

  • DISAPPOINTING

    • Ronald D'Antonio
    • 11/18/08

    I'VE WAITED FOR YEARS FOR QUO VADIS AND WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WHEN i WATCHED THE NEW DVD . THE COLOR WAS LIFELESS AND I DIDN'T DETECT ANY ULTRARESOLUTION. hOPE THE BLU RAY VERSION IS AN IMPROVEMNET

  • QUO VIDAS ON DVD!

    • Grandma Diva
    • 8/14/08

    HOORAY, WHOO HOO, YIPPY SKIPPY!!! Finally QUO VADIS to be released on DVD!! Am I excited or what???

  • Quo Vadis on DVD Soon

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 7/28/08

    Good news, folks. "Quo Vadis" (1951) is gonna be on DVD on November 11 this year. Ain't that exciting?

  • Quo Vadis on DVD sooner rather than later

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 5/28/08

    I know this is not the time, but I think this film should be DVD sooner rather than later. After all, it's a good movie and I like Peter Ustinov.

  • One of the BEST!

    • Mandy Horning
    • 3/18/08

    This film is one of my favorites!A great cast,really good music ,and a wonderful story!Peter Ustinov was nominated to recieve an Academy AWARD for his performance asEmperor Nero,(which think he should have won).Leo Glenn recieved an award for Best Supporting Actor for his role as the witty and sly right hand man to Nero,Patronius.I also enjoyed the historical context in which the story occurs.I enjoy movies about the ancient Empire of Rome,as I'm sure many others do as well.I like the stuff about Jesus and Christianity as well.This film really should be released on DVD.Pease! Jesus loves you!God Bless you!

  • Qus Vadis is Magnificent

    • Dr. H. James Birx
    • 2/23/08

    "Quo Vadis" still remains the most lavish and entertaining of all the epic films.Wonderful performances enhance this greatmovie, with a superb performance of Neroby the late Peter Ustinov. Taylor, Kerr,Glenn and Berti, as well as the other major characters, are vividly portrayed. From the famous novel, this classic storyof the conflict between ancient Rome andthe emergence of Christianity is dramaticand engaging. The direction and scriptfocus on the story, which is not lost among awesome sets, splendid music, andglorious color. It is a total packageof excellence not often equaled in epicfilms, and certainly not to be surpassedin the near future. It is tragic thatthis unique film is not yet available onDVD from MGM in the USA.The victory march before Nero, burning of Rome, and feeding of the Christians to thelions in the arena are memorable moments, as are the moving scenes among the major individuals caught up in the passsion andfury of this tale. Let's hope that a DVD of this classic film becomes available in the near future.Dr. H. James Birxbirxh@canisius.edu716 888-2745

  • Put Quo Vadis on DVD!

    • John McClafferty
    • 1/26/08

    I have a VHS version (2 reels)of this film that I bought several years ago. It really should be released on DVD as the Vhs version does not do it justice.

  • Quo Vadis

    • Dave Gannon
    • 1/25/08

    Academy award nominee,great cast, Deborah Kerr,Robert Taylor,ect.

  • Quo Vadis deserves to be on DVD

    • M. Reedus
    • 8/19/07

    "Quo Vadis" is the blockbuster sword and sandal epic that bridged the gap between "Sign of the Cross" and "Ben-Hur" if ever a movie earned the privilege to be released on DVD,"Quo Vadis" is that movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.