skip navigation
Three Coins in the Fountain

Three Coins in the Fountain(1954)

Contribute

FOR Three Coins in the Fountain (1954) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Three Coins in the Fountain Three American rommates... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • remember the era

    • el debbo
    • 8/28/13

    Although some of it seemed cliche, as another reviewer pointed out, it was authentic for the era... that's the way it was. I also agree with others that the Peters/ Brazzi romance seemed most likely and most interesting. I loved her in Niagara and adored him in Summertime. Sometimes when I rerun this movie, I do it with the sound off and just look at the beauty of it while I'm busy with other things in the same room. The scene where they go to the afternoon cocktail party is so lovely, with all the taupe, seafoam, and gunmetal colors so frequently used in the 50s. Also love the outdoor scenes, of course. Thought the theme was Matt Monroe, not Frank!

  • Living the past

    • Gerardo
    • 6/23/13

    I did watch the movie in Cuba, 58 years ago. This year I went to Rome, and saw in person all Rome places.

  • Three Coins In The Fountain

    • Kuklapolitan
    • 6/19/13

    It has been some time since I saw this film and it still holds up even though it is dated to a very large extent. Societal mores and female independence have changed so much it's almost impossible to believe it once was this stringent but it was and I, too, am a survivor of those times! An American living and working in Europe was quite unusual back in the 1950's and American companies had to ensure their employees safety and morality in any and every way possible and true to what you will see here, it is an accurate depiction of the times. It is altogether a lovely movie...beautifully filmed and framed with all the principal characters giving a truly ensemble performance. Jean Negulesco directed this with an eye for the beauty of Italy and it is a gorgeous piece with the splendid Trevi Fountain as the receptacle for the wishes of love each coin represents. The players are perfectly cast in their roles and each is absolutely believable. Maggie McNamara is perfect as the very prim and proper Maria, Dorothy McGuire as the aging Miss Frances losing hope of ever marrying the man she fell in love with and has worked for these 15 years and Jean Peters as Anita, the "woman" of the story who is ready to throw in the towel of love completes the central female cast. The very handsome Louis Jourdan is wonderful as the worldly Prince Dino who is of scandalous reputation but ready to love a female of some quality as long as she isn't after his fortune, Clifton Webb as the older man, a writer who is quite unaware of his secretary's years long love for him and Rossano Brazzi who brings up the rear as a company translator by day, law student by night who is hopelessly in love with Anita, our "woman" in the film. Their adventures will keep you entertained so break out the popcorn and enjoy the movie and the Oscar Winning title song beautifully sung by Frank Sinatra and written by Sammy Cahn and Julie Styne. An Oscar also went to Milton Krasner for his wonderful photography

  • I've Never Been to Rome

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/11/13

    So maybe I'm just jealous, but I think the storyline is just predictably lame. I very much enjoy the cinematography (inside and out). I love the style. But the romances don't add anything to the film. I think it would've been better if it had been filmed as a documentary.

  • Gorgeous cinematography!

    • RedRain
    • 3/24/13

    I first saw this film as a very young girl and it made me dream of the day I would see Rome. Years later, I visited Rome and it was all the film showed it to be. I loved it so much that I've returned seven times! I still laugh at the girls being pinched in the film, as it does happen and it happens frequently in Rome. IMO, Dorothy McGuire and Clifton Webb steal this film from the younger actors and their love story is the one you remember most. The romance between the beautiful Jean Peters and the incomparable Rossano Brazzi has a very real feel to it and the pairing of the two was beautiful. I did not care for the McNamara-Jourdan romance, as it felt forced. Of course, the beautiful scenes of Venice complement those of Rome. I love this film for many reasons, most of them personal; however, the story is terrific too!

  • R.I.P., MAGGIE!

    • Dan Hand
    • 2/9/13

    In barely one week, on the 18th, it will be thirty-five years since the body of the lovely Maggie McNamara, still four months shy of her fiftieth birthday, was discovered, lying on her couch, in her New York apartment-- a suicide. Her promising start in films, in the mid-1950s, had come to almost nothing, due to her chronic mental illness. At least her loveliness was captured here, on film, in one of the world's loveliest settings, for posterity. "My, she was yar!"

  • Three Coins in the Fountain

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 2/20/12

    A strong variety of characters drive the story of American women finding love in the beautifully photographed Rome. Story contains many of the cliche's found in women's picture, but is a charming enough to pass the time. In addition, the title song is catchy & impossible not to be charmed by. A good film that I would reccomend to anyone who believe's in pursuing that 'Special someone.' I give it a 3.5/5.

  • SHOW IT MORE OFTEN ON TCM

    • evelio
    • 1/19/12

    They told me about this film and I went to purchase it in Barnes and Noble, but they closed the video/music division. I keep going into the TCM schedule in the internet to see if you're going to show it any time soon, but thus far it hasn't been scheduled. I'd like to hear Robert Osborne tell us something about the stars on this film; specially Jean Peters. I heard that she was the one that hooked Howard Hughes and they were married for fourteen years. I've seen her pictures on the internet. She was a gorgeous looking girl. Anyhow, I hear so many good things about this film that me and my family are dying to watch it. We've been to Rome a few times and we love it there. I also threw a coin into Trevi fountain and have been back in Rome four times in the past ten years.

  • Gorgeous actresses and beautiful Rome

    • andrew
    • 12/22/11

    Loved this movie, specially Jean Peters. She's so beautiful. Of the three stories hers and Rossano Brazzi's is the most realistic and interesting. Great lines witten by Pulitzer Prize winner John Patrick. By the time the picture ends you feel rather satisfied that you've watched a top rate movie with some great acting. Fantastic cinematography (won an Oscar) and very well directed by Negulesco (it was nominated for Best Picture and made the N.Y. Times 10 best films of 1954 list and was considered one of Hollywood's 100 top grossing films for decades). The title song also won an Oscar.

  • Three Coins in the Fountain

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/24/10

    "3 Women Throw Coin in Fountain Find Love"

  • Three Coins In the Fountain (1954)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/20/10

    Very well produced and it's a good melodrama. The cast is terrific, especially Clifton Webb. Catchy title song and the score is excellent. Good costumes.

  • A classic

    • Linda
    • 3/30/08

    I wait every year for this movie to be offered on TV. This happen to be one of the most memorable love stories of all time. The first time I saw this movie, I was taken back by the beautiful scenery.As for the acting it was superb. This is one movie I could watch again and again. I,never in a thousand years thought that I could own this movie. No longer will I be restricted with the amount of times or when I will be able to view any of the favorite old classic movies I enjoy, now that I have found this sight and know that I can purchase them and have them right at home in my own collection for my enjoyment. Thank you for the ability to purchase all the favorite old classics.

  • Wonderful movie

    • Sally
    • 5/12/06

    I Love this movie!! It helped me appreciate the beautiful scenery of Italy. I also love the romance in this movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.