skip navigation
These Three

These Three(1936)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

These Three - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Please release this on DVD These Three

    • Stephenie
    • 8/22/14

    Am watching The Children's Hour now on TCM's Summer Under the Stars and my husband and I love it! I was telling him about the movie These Three. I caught it one night late on TCM. I had never heard of it and was wanting to watch it because it was based on Ms. Hellman's play. It was so good! Even though the subject matter had to be changed the acting was superb! The children were excellent! Even better than the children in the 1961 movie! I loved seeing Margaret Hamilton in the role of the maid! I am a huge Wizard of Oz fan it being my favorite movie of all time! I would recommend this movie for anyone! It is excellent for the classic movie fan! I want, want, want this on DVD! I want my husband to see it so he can compare and contrast the two films. They are both so good, but different. The courtroom scene being in These Three and not in The Children's Hour. You WILL NOT be disappointed at all viewing this movie! Please bring this out asap on DVD! Thanks! Love TCM! It is my favorite channel!!!

  • movies not yet on dvd

    • joan dalton
    • 4/22/14

    another great movie!waiting for it to come out on dvd to purchase!

  • Lillian Hellman

    • Aunt Charlotte Vail
    • 7/26/13

    I saw These Three after I had seen The Children's Hour and Julia. The Children's Hour was originally a play written by Lillian Hellman in the mid 1930's. The 1960's version starring Audrey Hepburn and Shirely McClaine used to be shown on Sunday afternoon movie matinees', in the 1960's. I saw Julia starring Jane Fonda and Vanessa Redgrave in the early 1980's and not long after, I saw "These Three on American Movie Classics, when it aired old movies that were commerical free. Hellman's original play dealt with lesbians and lies, which could not be the subject of movies after the Hays code was strictly enforced after 1934. But it is such a beautifully done film and as Lillian Hellman herselft said,"it is about the power of a lie". The 1977 film Julia, is about the period of Lillian Hellmans' life when she was writing The Children's Hour. Lillian adapted the play to the big screen in a powerful moving story that even though almost eighty years old, is not dated, melodramatic or the standared fare from the 1930's. Just like Dodsworth, it transcends the time period from which it came and is still as powerful as it was in 1936. I watched it last night and the story still bring tears to my eyes for the moving portrayals by all of the actors including Bonita Granville but especially Joel McCrea who in my estimation was an underrated actor!

  • The Child Actresses are Especially Brilliant

    • Muriel
    • 5/10/12

    This is a great ensemble cast of adults but Bonita Granville and Marcia Mae Jones are exceptional. The first version is definitely better than the second and I really think it's because the children in the second version are not as good as in the first version. Even if the 2nd version is closer to the original play. After all, it really is about how a lie can destroy, not what the lie is. Do not miss this film!!

  • These Three

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/13/11

    ***1/2

  • Superb!

    • Winter
    • 12/27/10

    I am only 26, and this is one of the first black and white films introduced to me by my mother and grandmother and I fell in love with it instantly. Such excellent acting from all of the actors!

  • excellent

    • Chrissie
    • 10/28/10

    the acting in this movie was superb, especially of bonita granville who played mary tilford... i think she started the bad girl thing and she was the youngest at the time to recieve an academy award nomination when the supporting actress category 1st started, which i think she should of won instead of gale sondergard

  • These Three

    • vanessa townsend
    • 6/8/09

    I can never catch this movie at the beginning. I could not move from the couch because I wanted to see the outcome. I would love for this movie to be on DVD. A lot of the classics should be on DVD. I love the old black & whites.

  • Great antique that holds up

    • blanche yurka
    • 6/6/09

    A Wyler masterpiece. Even though Lillian Hellman's play had to be changed to suit the censors from a lesbian to classic romantic triangle, the emotional essence of the story is retained beautifully. Three people's lives are ruined thanks to the lies of a spiteful child. Hopkins is great, as is the entire cast and, for priceless bit roles, Margaret Hamilton as the maid! And damned if that isn't Walter Brennan driving the cab. It should be shown more often on TCM at a civilized hour.

  • An impressive favorite.

    • Bob
    • 6/6/09

    A wonderful example of the mid-30's. I always enjoy Joel McCrea, but Hopkins & Oberon give such warm performances. I love look & the feel of the movie. Keep showing it, wish it was on DVD.

  • Possibly linked with 12 Oaks?

    • Meagan
    • 6/6/09

    This movie is pretty phenomenal. I'm convinced that the grandmother's house is set in the house from Gone with the Wind. Also - this movie has the exact plot line as The Children's Hour - except for the ending. How strange!

  • AMAZING CLASSIC FILM

    • Joey
    • 4/13/09

    I just watched this classic film.. I was blown away from it. I absolutely love the cast. Miriam Hopkins and Merle Oberon were phenominal... PLEASE RELEASE IT ON DVD......

  • DVD pleaseeeeeeee..............

    • Benita
    • 11/13/08

    Growing up as a child in the 90's my grandmother who watched me practically raised me on classic films and TV shows from TV Land, TCM, SciFi, and others. That is where I first saw 'These Three'. Please, release this movie on DVD.I am not alone.....

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.