skip navigation
That Forsyte Woman

That Forsyte Woman(1949)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

That Forsyte Woman An unhappily married woman... MORE > $16.95 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • MOVES RIGHT ALONG

    • el debbo
    • 6/22/16

    I liked the pace of this movie, compared to Galsworthy's massive tome. Costumes and sets beautiful. Delightful visual description of the Forsyte clan and they all turn towards the door to set their sites on the "new" personage.Like other reviewers, I remain not-too-enthused about Robert Young's portrayal of the rogue architect. I thought Errol Flynn was terrific!

  • Amazing Erroll Flynn

    • Carolyn
    • 6/10/16

    I saw this film on TCM for the first time recently, as I an an avid Greer G fan, but was bowled over by Erroll Flynn s against-type performance! I was very surprised he wasn't playing the young Jolyon or Bosinney characters; I never would have expected him to play a character like Soames! He played it as though he had ALWAYS been portraying characters like this, with great assurance and mastery, as though he had been hanging around with Basil Rathbone so much he absorbed some of those traits from him as he played Karenin or Mr Murdstone! Anyway he portrays a completely believable, strong character that creates the powerful vise that pressures Irene to do what she doesn't want to do. I love the rest of the cast too, and the beautiful costumes, all coming together to recreate the atmosphere and social mores of the late 18th century. Well done!

  • Buy this movie

    • KScott
    • 5/26/16

    This is why I watch old movies. Comments document actors performances nicely here but I also love the sets, Walter Plunkett's gorgeous costumes, the jewelry. I didn't quite get Garson's attraction to Robert Young, except I believe he reminded her of someone in her past, but he was colorless compared to the other two men...at least to me. But that was the only drawback for me. Otherwise, I was delighted to see it on the schedule and planned my day around seeing it again. I'd seen it only once (I'm new to old movies) and had kept notes to remind myself to be sure to see it again. This time, note to self would say "buy this one!"

  • GREER GARSON LEADS SOLID CAST

    • Robert Cumming
    • 5/25/16

    Greer Garson immortalized herself in every role she tackled--from Mrs. Miniver to Her Twelve Men. How fortunate for Texas that she ended up there. I assume that directors saw right away what an institution she and Walter Pidgeon would become. Every glamorous nuance she gave to each role she conquered will live forever for those with elegant taste and who are lucky enough to have grown up with timeless movies. Errol Flynn showed deeper colors in an unsympathetic part, Janet Leigh was as beautiful as ever, and Robert Young is always charming. A splendid film that should be preserved forever and shown more by the wonderful TCM.

  • Wonderful film

    • Alice
    • 2/12/16

    Such a pity Errol Flynn never got the credit for the fine actor he truly was. This film is one of the fine examples of the great work Flynn was indeed capable of. He did a great job as did Greer Garson, Janet Leigh, Robert Young, and others. This film was also beautifully shot, with an interesting story to boot.I will continue to look out for, watch, and thoroughly enjoy all the Errol Flynn films you are kind enough to bless us with. Thank you TCM.

  • Errol Flynn!

    • RedRain
    • 2/12/16

    Interesting to note that originally Walter Pigeon was supposed to be Soames and Errol Flynn was supposed to be the artist. They arrived on set and decided to change roles and it's a good thing they did! It led to Errol not being the guy that the girl falls in love with and he's a downright rotter throughout the film. Pigeon is kindly, understanding and loving and the complete opposite of Soames. While the title of the film leads you to believe Greer Garson is the big star here, it is Flynn who gives an outstanding performance and, actually, one of his very best efforts! I like this film very much!

  • That Forsyte Woman

    • Bariebel
    • 1/30/16

    Errol Flynn is superb as Somes Forsythe and it shows what a great fantastic actor he actually was. I rank it as a 5 stars movie. Greer Garson, Walter Pidgeon, Janet Leigh, Robert Young all give a star performance. A 'must' see movie!

  • Okay Film

    • flynnlookstoooldforpart
    • 7/7/15

    Finally watched this.Flynn & Pidgeon should not've switched roles to play against type.Robert Young could've been Jalyon,or Soames instead of Philip,which I think was more ideal for Flynn.Garson was good.Flynn really was aging poorly by this time.Don Juan,he apparently was fading in looks.His on set drinking was destructive to all,and he should've been sent packing.If he really wanted to be a serious actor,he should've made real effort,never mind the histrionics.He's why this picture is lucky to get the rating I'm giving it-should've been much better,Bob Young was a better actor with one hand tied behind his back than Flynn ever was,except when playing more like himself as John Barrymore or The Sun Also Rises.

  • That Forsythe woman

    • Doc
    • 10/2/14

    Errol Flynn was superb as Somes Forsythe. The man surely had acting talent. I would rank this movie 4 out of 5 stars on every level.

  • Maltin missed the boat

    • Arbogast
    • 3/19/13

    Usually like Maltin's review, but he completely missed the boat on this magnificent production. Never heard of this director or DP, but this is beautifully shot and executed. Should go to blu-ray.

  • forsyte woman

    • Regenal
    • 10/1/10

    Love this movie,could you please put on DVD for purchase

  • that forsyte woman

    • dale palmer
    • 8/7/10

    like everyone else i love greer garson's films, but what is so unique about this film is erroll flynn's performance as soames. most tcm people are probaby familiar with eric porter's superb take on soames but he had 26 episodes to work out his character. i think flynn did much with the one time movie format which challenged him with a not so sympathetic character. i suspect that is why he chose it.

  • Greer Garson

    • susan johnson
    • 8/1/09

    I like Greer Garson movies especially THat Forsyte Woman. I would like to purchase a collection of her movies. Why isn't she im August under the stars.

  • This Greer Garson classic on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 4/17/09

    I'd like this movie on DVD. I like Greer Garson, Walter Pidgeon, and Errol Flynn.

  • Errol Flynn is delicious

    • Diana
    • 3/17/08

    Errol Flynn is understated and shows his dramatic acting talent in this movie. I could watch it 100 times just for him. I wish I could see him this way as "Darcy" in "pride and prejudice."

  • great!!

    • theresa
    • 7/7/07

    great movie! errol flynn shows his real acting talents in this drama/romance. greer garson also does a spectacular job as irene forsyte! good ol' walter pidgeon also accompanies greer in one of their delights.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.