skip navigation
Tennessee Johnson

Tennessee Johnson(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Tennessee Johnso... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Tennessee Johnson Movie

    • gloria miller
    • 8/21/14

    I recently watched this movie on Turner Classic Movies and it was a great movie. Since I was not into history in school, I have since become very interested in all history at the ripe old age of 87. I thought this was one of the best movies and woiuld like to have a copy on DVD to keep for my family to cherish. Surely hope all of these good reviews will bring all of us good luck. I would appreciate being notified if and when it is out on DVD.

  • tennessee johnson

    • wizard
    • 4/20/14

    I cant find this film anywere no one has it for sale its not on dvd not even Amazon, on july 15th it will be playing again I'm going to fire up my vcr and record it 4:30 pm in the afternoon its a really good movie, iv missed it the last 2 years not this time.

  • family

    • Judith Farrington Stewart
    • 3/13/14

    Andrew Johnson is a long lost relative of our family and I would love to have a copy of this movie. He was an important part of history as well and I would like my children and grandchildren to understand who he was and his place in history.

  • Tennessee Johnson

    • Mike
    • 1/23/14

    I enjoyed this movie very much and would like to own a copy. Not much of a review, but hope it says something that I would buy it if available

  • Tennessee Johnson

    • Meredith
    • 12/13/13

    This is a watchable film. I don't know how historically accurate it is, but I did enjoy learning more about our past. It is interesting that they chose not to show Lincoln except in a photo. I think because most actors have a hard time doing him justice. It was hard seeing Barrymore as such an unlikeable character. I generally like him in his roles, but Stevens was a bit much.

  • Back to the Courage of Former Days

    • Bonnie Barsness
    • 4/28/11

    I think we need more of this kind of portrayal of courage to "fight for the right". When westood strong in WW 2 our country did well. Everyone was trying to do his part in the war effort. I joined in upon my high school graduation in 1945- working in a Portland, Ore. Shipyard. There I met my husband-to-be. He was from Minn. and I from Tenn. originally.We have been married 64 yrs. this fall. I close with a verse from the bible- "Righteousness exalts a nation; but sin is a reproach to any people." Proverbs 14:34

  • great hx lesson

    • joy
    • 7/15/09

    tuned in to movie in progress but got caught up in this history that I was not familiar with. thouroghly enjoyed and reminded me of the many times in our history when our republic was challenged and yet we survive!

  • NOW, MORE THAN EVER!

    • Jan
    • 7/15/09

    In these uncertain times, it is most appropriate to be reminded of the basic workings of our government, its flaws and its virtues, as well as the charges imposed on it by the Constitution and the American people. We need all the encouragement we can get and the reminder that one man can make a difference is critical. Despite the need for movie theatrics, the issues covered in this movie are true. Please run it again....soon.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.