skip navigation
Tender Comrade

Tender Comrade(1944)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • SHOW WHAT OUR COUNTRY USED TO STAND FOR

    • Lynn Fontaine
    • 5/5/14

    This IS a propaganda film, but it was made in 1944 when we had been through 4 years of war, some of soldiers, more. The fact that this movie showed what the women at home would try to do to help out, is NOT wrong. And even seen through 21st century glasses it is STILL a great movie. IF you think that they are NOT making the same kind of TV shows and movies today you are wrong. Listen to any show and it will tell you which way the writer leans. Trumbo wrote through his banishment with another name, and the director did the same. IF YOU WERE brought up on charges today, WHAT WOULD YOU DO??? An excellent film with and excellent cast who told it like it was. I'd give it 6 STARS if I could

  • ONE OF THE BEST PATRIOTIC MOVIES

    • Lucy Lou
    • 5/16/13

    THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE MOVIES. I LOVE GINGER ROGERS AND ROBERT RYAN IN THIS MOVIE. I WISH MORE MOVIES WERE LIKE THIS ONE. IT BUILDS THE COUNTRY UP INSTEAD OF TEARING IT DOWN. WARNER ARCHIVES PLEASE RELEASE THIS MOVIE THIS YEAR (2013) I WOULD BUY IT. I ALSO WANT YOU TO RELEASE RACHEL AND THE STRANGER, VIVACIOUS LADY, NEVER A DULL MOMENT WITH IRENE DUNNE AND A TICKLISH AFFAIR. PLEASE RELEASE THESE SOON

  • Testing

    • Sara
    • 4/27/13

    I've written a review for this but it has never showed up. I'll make this short and sweet: Rogers and Ryan have great chemistry and I'm sorry they didn't make any more films together. This is a film made for WWII audiences and there is no point in trying to see it through a 21st century lens. It was an intensely patriotic time and the fate of the world was hanging on a thread in Germany and Japan Ryan's performance is as nuanced as usual; he's never turned in a bad one. It is a joy to see him playing a nice guy with a sweet smile on his face. Ginger goes from petulant brat to capable adult in the space of 100 minutes. Wish I would have had the sense to record this; I'd like to see it again and again.

  • Weepy Propaganda. Great Cast

    • muriel
    • 4/19/13

    I love a good WW2 propaganda picture, even the lapel grabbing moments and the lectures. But this one doesn't know when to stop!A fabulously talented cast helps make it work as well as it does.

  • Tender Comrade

    • Chester E. Thurman
    • 9/6/12

    This movie is to my estimation important because of its historical value. It shows in part the mindset of a small segment of Americans who pulled together as a giant team and supported the military during WWII. The women depicted the heart of the Rosie the Riviter set, the heroic ladies who helped build the fighting machines used by our Army Air Corp. It showed the tenacity, courage showed, the support they shared with other and enduring love they had for the men they were missing. This film would be great to show the difference between today's mind set and that of the 1940's.

  • Beautiful Ginger

    • J. Thompson
    • 8/30/12

    I'm not going into any politics of the early 40's or details that made this a chick flick. All I can say is that if you want to see a solid performance by Ginger Rogers and to also see her as a absolute knockout at age 32, this is the flick to cherish. She holds this movie together.

  • Curious Ironies

    • Bruce Reber
    • 3/31/10

    I find "Tender Comrade" (1944) starring Ginger Rogers and Robert Ryan curiously ironic, given the fact that director Edward Dmytryk and screenwriter Dalton Trumbo were two of the people involved in its making. The film was made at the height of WW2 before the House Un-American Activities Committee was formed shortly after the end of the war, resulting in both of them being blacklisted for their past Communist activities in the 1950's. Their careers were differently affected - Dmytryk named names of Red sympathizers in Hollywood to HUAC and was allowed to continue directing films, while Trumbo stuck to his guns and refused to say anything to betray his friends and was blacklisted, though he continued to write under various pseudonyms. "Tender Comrade" is a pro-American and pro-Democracy propaganda film intended to boost morale on the American homefront during WW2, and it seems ironic that this film is a product of two people whose beliefs were opposed to America and Democracy. Robert Ryan, who was often criticized for his liberal beliefs, was not affected by HUAC chiefly because of his honorable service in WW2 and not being associated with Communism in any way.

  • A Wartime Propaganda Weepie

    • Riccardo
    • 11/1/09

    This film is a time capsule of wartime sentimentality. It is probably the quintessential wartime propaganda film, and was quite successful. However it exploited the real concerns of the audience with a message that was mixed with a kind of socialist underlayment. There's not doubt that the screenplay and the direction were inspired by the ideology of the extreme left. There's nothing wrong with that...and no American deserved to be punished or ostracized, as they later were, for their beliefs...but at the same time, the director and screenwriter were on the wrong side of the argument.

  • Not a good film

    • R
    • 9/4/09

    Actually not a movie, but a forced tear jerker, which, back in its time may have been inspirational but now seems nonsense.The last 5 minutes of Ginger Rogers & the quasi-patriotic drivel are worth a look...an example of how NOT to pluck an audiences heart strings.One of the worst WW2 era flicks generated.

  • Tender Comrade

    • Marilyn
    • 6/1/08

    is a very good movie. It touches on quite a few emotions throughout its run. I, feel, movies that can pull this off successfully, as this one does, are some of the best movies to be made. I know people tend to put movies with these themes with some of the drama into a category of being melodramatic, like it is a bad thing, but I don't agree. I have come to realize from actual people whom lived what the movies portrayed (the melodramatic moments) these movies weren't all fiction. So if it is melodrama, than sorrow is just that. But if you lived it, you would not appreciate a downplay of your experience. Either way, this movie is a very good movie. If that isn't enough to get you interested, than if you like Ginger Rogers, then this is a good movie to watch, because it is her movie, mostly.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.