skip navigation
The Ten Commandments

The Ten Commandments(1956)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The ten commandments

    • James watkin
    • 5/25/17

    For sheer spectacle and scale of storytelling nothing can outdo this.

  • Over the Top

    • Mark Spangler
    • 3/27/16

    C.B. Demille's "The Ten Commandments" has its cinematic moments... the parting of the Red Sea, the plagues on Egypt, the turning of water to blood, etc. The problem with this picture, however, it that virtually all of the moments we fondly remember, are special-effects oriented. The film goes wrong immediately with the bombastic red-curtain opening. We are hit over the head with a Biblical anvil and the movie lets us all know that we're going to see something "special" because, apparently, we're seeing something extra classy when it comes to the credits. Like marble columns on a double wide.The real disaster is the Shakespearean-inspired dialogue and the stilted way it is delivered, especially by the horribly miscast Charlton Heston. By the end of the film, we're so tired of Heston's pronouncements and bombast, we almost find ourselves rooting for Pharaoh's legions. Heston's acting style, in the few good performances he ever gave, was always understated (see "Will Penny"). His wooden style and inability to act hurts this picture almost beyond repair... he is, after all, Moses.Other actors, however, also seem to have forgotten their craft. Yul Brynner emotes so much villainous ooze he has a fine sheen of goo all over him from the very start of the picture. The scene in which his troops are barred from the freed slaves at the banks of the Red Sea is laughable. It gets worse when his chariots are swallowed up by the waters. He simply grasps his head in theatrical angst and bows reverently in defeat - not exactly the reaction we'd expect from a warrior whose heart has been hardened by a steely determination. It's also over-the-top mannerisms from an actor with real chops. We expect more. Ditto for John Derek as Joshua. Bright spots: Price as the wicked Baka and Robinson as the weasel Dathan. SFX are great too. Moses, however, deserved better than this flick, which is loved more for it's camp than its courage.

  • Superb commandments

    • Doriano Pulpito
    • 9/9/14

    I saw The Ten Commandment I saw 8 years old.And I feel such emotion in my life every time that I see it since first time to now I saw it more 5 hundred times.thanks very muchDoriano

  • Flawed Masterpiece

    • Radcliffe Bond
    • 8/28/14

    The first half of this movie is excellent. The combination of studio and location shooting is masterful. The acting by a large group of veteran character actors is restrained but effective (it was great seeing Douglas Dumbrille in a big, serious role instead of all the pap he was usually in). However, once Moses is told of his mission by God and becomes the Moses of the Bible, reverence sets in. Heston seems straight-jacketed in the second half of the movie. Only the "bad guys" (Yul Brynner, Anne Baxter - overacting as usual and Edward G. Robinson) are entertaining.

  • Ten Commandments

    • Denise
    • 4/10/12

    A childhood favorite. I think it's a great movie that tells the story well. The cast all did a terrific job at making the story enjoyable. It's a film everyone should watch at least once or twice a year. Mayb e it should be shown at the movie theaters during Easter, at least one showing. It would look awesome on the big screen.

  • Eu amo este filme

    • Sonia
    • 10/30/10

    Eu amo este filme. Ele sensacional, belo e magnfico. Nunca vou me esquecer do mar vermelho se abrindo. Um filme nota 10. Eu gostaria muito de ver este filme no TCM.

  • I love this movie always

    • kathy
    • 4/4/10

    I have loved The Ten Commandments since I was a girl of 10yrs. old. Never will I forger the theater's beautiful red curtains opening, the Paramount logo, hearing E. Bernstein's beautiful score.Charlton Heston, my 2nd favorite actor ever, is so excellent as Moses. In another of that so-called "academy's" rotten mistakes - he wasn't even nominated; moreover, the film itself definitely should have won best picture; that went to something so awful (I don't even want to say the name of it). Some things never change w/that so-called ampas...do they? (We've seen it again so recently in 2006 when the deserving film, Brokeback Mountain, was deliberately snubbed/robbed & best picture was "given" to something as bad as "TRASH". Unbelievable).I've never forgotten The Ten Commandments; all the beauty & spectacle of Mr. DeMille's very best; the supporting cast is wonderful too. The ending, Moses not being allowed to enter Canaan, is so sad to me. Charlton is perfect. Such special effects - spectacular - when they were done by true experts, not by some jerks in front a computer.All in all, one of the greatest movies of all time. I love it. Unforgettable.

  • The Ten Commandments

    • Maritza
    • 3/29/10

    One of my all time favorite movies. This movie is an epic. It has everything; a love story, a moral story and action. I first saw it when I was 4yrs old and I continue to watch it every year. I love watching Charleton Heston, Yul Brenner and Anne Baxter together. I love all their costumes and the scenery. Mr. Demille was extremely creative and talented; this movie reflects his tremendous talent. All the cast acted wonderfully. I'm 32yrs old and nowadays movies are sorry to say not well made like in those days. Sure everything is computer generated, but these actors nowadays cannot measure up to the actors of the Golden era. Back in those days they did not need all the hoopla like now. This is why TCM is my fave channel. Thank u TCM!

  • A Commanding Epic

    • GenevieveRose
    • 2/10/10

    Lavish, beautiful and all-encompassing story of Moses and the struggle in Egypt. This is one of those that you simply can't NOT see. A masterpiece by DeMille, from the cast, to the acting, to the score, to the sets, the costumes--nothing was left half-done. It is gripping. And Neferteri--don't forget Neferteri, played excellently by the lovely Anne Baxter.

  • Ten Commandments DVD not available?

    • MovieMavin
    • 4/13/09

    To the best of my knowledge the DVD package is still available for sale. My roommate and I watched it just last night(being that it was Easter Sunday.) He recently purchased it through Amazon. The set is the 2006 "50th Anniversary Edition" which includes DeMille's original 1923 silent version. Also included on three discs are several DVD extras including many trailers from over the years. The packaging was very nice, albeit no booklet. The discs' contain the full orchestrations with overture, entr'act and exit music. The print quality was wonderful, with rich, vibrant colors. This movie, of course, is on millions of "all-time favorites" list. I particular enjoy Edward G. Robinson's performance. That character of the Hebrew overseer had a sarcastic remark at every turn. Great, great movie-making.

  • Ten Commandments on DVD

    • Kristine
    • 4/12/09

    I bouught the Ten commandments as a DVD about ten years ago as a double DVD release from Paramount. A few years ago Paramount re-released it as a 3-4 disc sec in a beautiful box. Why would Paramount pull it from the shelves again?

  • According to Demille...

    • DougieB
    • 3/30/09

    With the ultimate public domain source material to work with, Demille's affinity for things biblical makes good sense. Once the cameras start rolling, however, the good sense goes south. How he ever got credit for being "reverent" by cranking out this stuff is beyond me. This is show biz all the way; nothing is to scale, not the sets, not the dialogue, and certainly not the acting styles. It's a big, Technicolored VisatVision Holy Card, perfect for chopping up into commercial breaks. Its yearly television showing has given it "event" status to generations and confirmed it as a major motion picture. I'm not questioning its appeal, only its "greatness". As a youngster, I sat through two consecutive showings in the local theater, and even today I sit mesmerized while this epic unfolds. But it's the greatest puppet show ever filmed, not the greatest movie ever made. Demille is in a class with Walt Disney, not with Orson Welles. I eagerly await further viewings, but it just bugs me when it gets referenced as some kind of epitome of the art of filmmaking. Let's get real about this movie.

  • The Ten Commandments

    • Mike
    • 4/16/06

    The Ten Commandments is DeMille's great version of the famous bible story. The cast's preformance is outstanding, and the scenery is impressive itself. Charlton Heston gives his thrilling preformance of Moses, a Hebrew child found by and Egyptian princess and raises him as her own. When Moses learns of his true identity, he turns his back on the throne of Egypt to find himself and his god. Yul Brynner and Anne Baxter were perfect for the roll of Rameses II and Nefretiri. The movie is perfect and a must see for movie lovers of this genre

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.