skip navigation
Tammy and the Bachelor

Tammy and the Bachelor(1957)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Tammy and the Bachelor A country girl saves a pilot... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Takes me back

    • VERONE
    • 10/31/14

    This song takes me back to childhood, a time of innocence and simplicity. Respect between sexes and age. I was only 4, but saw it probably few yrs after. The song Tammy has always been dear to my heart. Lately I've been playing it repeatedly and feeling so peaceful as if a lullaby.I so wish I could have the chance to tell Debbie Reynolds how its a sedative to me. Bless her and her kind spirit.

  • Love these movies

    • natalie
    • 1/4/13

    Love all the Tammy movies .

  • Charming!

    • BlueStocking
    • 8/19/11

    I hesitate using the word "charming" to describe anything but that's what this film is. There is so much truth in Tammy's aphorisms that you can't help but fall under her spell which is exactly what Leslie Nielsen's character and all the other characters do. It's a wonderful film and probably only ranks second to Debbie Reynold's best performance in "The Unsinkable Molly Brown." I've always like Leslie Nielsen but his performance here is so measured and filled with genuine caring that I wish he'd stayed in drama and not gone into comedy so much. I gave this film five stars and I did so because of it having some terrific performances (Mildred Natwick excels!), beautiful scenery and, most of all, a lot of heart!

  • Another Southern Masterpiece

    • Lincoln Hahn
    • 6/16/11

    I first saw Tammy when I was 10 years old ! I was in the south at the time and I believe it was the Spring of 1957 ! I fell in love with Tammy and the title song even though I didn't get much of the story line at the time ! At age 65 I got a DVD and in many ways I saw the movie for the first time ! Every actor in the movie was excellent ! Especially Aunt Rennie ! This movie will grow in stature forever ! Five Stars !

  • Muito bom

    • Sonia
    • 11/4/10

    Um fil,e adorvel, leve e que mostra uma Debbie Reynolds absolutamente maravilhosa.

  • great

    • kristen
    • 7/22/10

    I absolutely adore this film and personnally believe it to be one of Debbie Reynolds best. It's one of the few films that i can actually watch every scene over and over again. thank you for playing it TCM!!

  • WHAT A CO-INCIDENCE

    • Tammy
    • 7/17/10

    I was amazed reading these review to find a lady called Joy who named her daughter Tammy after the 1957 film. My name is Tammy, my Mother's name is Joy and she named me after the film

  • Just Amazing!

    • Emily
    • 1/17/10

    My two sisters and I bought this movie for our mom as a Christmas present - turned out it was a real treat for us as well! I love this movie. It's super hard these days finding movies without a lot of ugliness and wrongdoing being portrayed as "alternate lifestyles" - Tammy and the Bachelor is a great story about what is really important in life. It's funny, warming, a great love story, and completely clean and wholesome. This movie is nothing short of just AWESOME!! *****

  • Tammy and the Bachelor

    • joy
    • 7/18/09

    I named my daughter Tammy after seeing this movie!It was a time when you didnt worry about the "rating" of a movie for your kids! This great lady still performs and Lesdlie Nielsen is as "hot" as ever! Wish these would all come for sale on dvd and not as a "package" of films......I only liked this one!!

  • Tammy movies were great

    • paula
    • 6/16/09

    It takes me back to the 1960s.I showed things simple .Great movies Tammy (All 4 of them)

  • One of my favorites!!

    • Gidget
    • 5/2/08

    I remember watching this as a young girl on TCM. I LOVE THIS MOVIE! And the theme song is so beautiful! I also enjoy the Tammy sequels with Sandra Dee and the time that either TCM or ACM played a few episodes from the TV series.Debbie Reynolds was at the height of her ability and popularity. Leslie was great too. I could always detect a fun and warm chemistry between the 2. I would love to have seen them in another movie together.What a wholesome and wonderful movie!! I love it when Tammy is wearing Peter's (Leslie Neilson's characters), great-grandmother's dress. And as she walks down the stairs and begains the tail of how she came to live at the house and met Pete's great-grandpa. And Barbra was so jealous!!I am sad though that in each of the Tammy movies was a different guy. I wish this one could have made it into some kind of sequel.

  • Family Entertainment

    • Bettie
    • 3/27/08

    Did Sandra Dee play the role of Tammy in this movie at one time? It's a wonderful, funny, movie. It's about culture, social issues, love, and where real happiness is found. I am amazed at Tammy's quick witted dialog. Since I was born and raised in the South, I truly enjoy her performance. She and Walter became real southerners. I recommend this movie for anyone who appreciates REAL ACTING without having to include violence, sex scenes, and profanity to draw the crowds and win awards.

  • Boo-Ya!

    • Esther
    • 3/13/08

    I grew up loving this movie. My entire family watched it almost weekly. I would love for this to become something I can share with my kids and others.

  • Tammy is On DVD

    • Holly
    • 2/9/08

    Yeah! It's about time! This great movie is now available on DVD along with the other two Tammy movies. This movie is funny and sweet and just gives you a good feeling.

  • Fond Memories

    • Katherine
    • 12/19/06

    My grandmother took me to see this film when it was released. I would like it to be on DVD so I can have it in my library to watch in my retirement (now). Just loved the film. A true classic.

  • Great movie for all!!!

    • Daena
    • 7/4/06

    This is classic feel good movie, If you enjoyed the silly light-hearted fun of the "Gidget " Movies you would enjoy this even more. Plus you see a very young Leslie Nielsen and Debbie Reynold, how can you go wrong!!! It is said to have influenced a few of this times TV shows as well, such as Beverly Hill Billies...

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.