skip navigation
The Talk of the Town

The Talk of the Town(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Talk of the Town An escaped political prisoner... MORE > $55.99 Regularly $55.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Still enjoying Talking

    • Wayne
    • 5/15/14

    One of my favorite films. Solid comedy drama about the law, justice, friendship. Chemistry between the three leads is amazing...and Ms Arthur has some of her best comedy scenes: this is not your egg morning, her pajama scene with Coleman and her flustered responses to Coleman decking Grant. I can see why Stevens was Arthur's favorite director. He gets the rhythms of her unique talent. This film also gives insights into US life in 1942. Sweet room is my favorite film house. (Love Arthur's line, "Why does everything happen to me?")

  • talk of the town

    • will
    • 2/15/14

    Ten minutes of this movie? WHO wrote this stuff? Cary Grant escapes from a one man prison ? out the second story window, in hurricane force winds and rain, slogs his way across fields in the dark He gets to Jean Arthurs house, (woof) breaks in, only to be bonked on the staircase with a baseball bat by Jean, who runs into the kitchen gets a big pan of Yep, you guessed it WATER and throws it on a half drown out cold Cary. Here comes the funniest line yet. Oh! Why did you escape from prison? Sorry to say, I got called away, couldn't stay for the rest of this. But by jeeze the next time this movies on, Im glued to a chair. Carol Burnett, Harvey, Tim, Vicky where are you for this hoot? I cant wait to see the rest of this one.

  • I'll Have Borscht With An Egg-I must Be Dilg

    • Rod
    • 6/9/13

    Love this movie more with each viewing

  • Great Threesome,Entertaining

    • Ronnie,Cary
    • 6/2/12

    Have repeatedly savored this film,having DVR'd it.Always thought Rex Ingram's character was "TonY" until close-captioning the movie one day.Looks like a pretty fresh scar on his head,too.I really enjoyed all the characters,including the blockhead of a judge.

  • Perfect

    • Kayte
    • 5/30/12

    This is one of my favorite movies of all time. I mean, the cast is just right. Jean and Cary just sort of click, and if Coleman had gotten the girl it just wouldn't have worked. But he didn't! And it did! So this movie is absolutely wonderful. Highly recommended!

  • Capraesque is right

    • Brian
    • 3/7/12

    The person who said this film was Capraesque was right on the money. Beyond the presence of Capra favorite, Jean Authur, there is a very Capra-like feel to it. The first time I watched it I had to look up the director because I was convinced that it was a Capra movie that I wasn't aware of. And that is far from a bad thing.The cast is amazing. Grant's character is somewhat darker than his usual characters but it's still vintage Grant. Arthur is great as always and Coleman plays the brilliant, but unworldly legal expert perfectly.

  • Capraesque

    • Jeff Boston
    • 3/6/12

    Best Picture nominee "The Talk of the Town" (1942) was directed by legendary director George Stevens (Gunga Din, Giant, Shane, etc.), who essentially copied Frank Capra's winning formula (populist drama with cuddly comic relief, some politics thrown in, preachy but not overbearing, a character played by the very agreeable Jean Arthur, etc.) with this film. Ronald Colman performs well (sadly too refined for today's audiences, or should I say today's film producers?) and Cary Grant is the #1 movie star of all time for many reasons. Interesting insert: Colman's cloistered character, immersed in the theoretical, is asked to join the US Supreme Court before he displays any appreciation for the practical side of the law.

  • A terrific trio of talent!

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/12/11

    Without a doubt this is the best film for each of the three principal actors involved - Cary Grant, Jean Arthur, and Ronald Colman. They are the perfect ingredients for a deliciously funny film about friendship and justice. The chemistry that these three have is absolutely brilliant, and must have been a director's dream. A masterpiece in filmmaking and acting. And watch for Tom (Captain Marvel) Tyler in a supporting role.

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 10/31/10

    Eu adoro o Cary Grant e este filme um dos melhores que ele j fez . O elenco maravilhoso e o filme conta com um timo roteiro. O filme recebeu vrias indicaoes ao Oscar. Deveria ser exibido no TCM, porque o filme nota 10.

  • Political Prisoner? I don't think so

    • Mark C
    • 1/10/10

    The brief synopsis got my attention with its description of Grant's charactor as a "political prisoner." While he was framed by someone because of his political beliefs, he was jailed for supposedly commiting a crime. The government didn't incarcerate him because he was a socialist or communist.Political prisoners are those who the powerful try to quash or belittle. The Hollywood glitteraty usually comes down on the side of the left. That prejudice usually results in just that kind of marginalization. While I'm used to it, I think a more accurate synopsis is called for.

  • The Talk of the Town (1942)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 11/1/09

    A delightful comedy drama, what a wonderful cast. Jean Arthur is terrific. Well written, very fast pace, good supporting cast. It's very entertaining.

  • This Cast Clicks!

    • Karen
    • 1/13/08

    No point in reviewing the plot, the synopsis says it all, except to say this movie holds all the old sparkle that encompasses Black and White movies - which rewards us with an expectation fulfilled - the reason why we love them. The cast took a great little plot and fattened it up to a yummy dessert! Mmmmmmm!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.