skip navigation
Tales of Manhattan

Tales of Manhattan(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Tales of Manhattan A formal black coat that gets... MORE > $12.95 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • tales of manhattan

    • pviews
    • 4/11/17

    Enjoyed. Thanks Robert Osborne-like a wave from heaven.

  • Will TCM show it with or without Fields?

    • Nitrate Fiend
    • 4/8/17

    Even if TCM omits the W.C. Fields segment, enough people liked this film, apparently without that segment, that I may watch it anyway, although other reviews I've seen weren't as positive as those here. I have seen the Fields segment, which also features a young Phil Silvers, on YouTube and found it pretty good Fields. But I've also seen, and hence will skip, the cringeworthy final segment, which its lead actor, Paul Robeson, and also Edward G. Robinson reportedly (and understandably) complained about for its stereotypical treatment of African-Americans.

  • See It!

    • hermann
    • 2/3/16

    Like most anthologies, it's a mixed bag. But the episode (next to last) with Edward G. Robinson is so wonderful that it alone makes this a must-see. I would like to add -- agree or disagree as you will -- this allows one to compare a supposedly great actor, Laughton (more of his clownish mugging) to a truly great actor (E. G. Robinson.) Also good in this: Boyer, Thomas Mitchell, James Gleason, and Ginger.

  • Fine Wine from the Vault

    • el debbo
    • 1/13/15

    Tuxedo tails, travelling around the city and bringing good fortune. Wonderful movie. This is my favorite Charles Laughton film... he had the most beautiful, expressive face!! I re-watch the Ginger Rogers, Laughton, W.C. Fields, and E.G. Robinson segments and just skip the others. Those four are worth five stars. Great to see the elegant Victor Francen as the haute conductor in the Laughton bit... Francen also played in Leslie Caron's "Fanny". It was his last role before he died, and though brief, it was just wonderful.

  • Tales of Manhattan

    • mary hershelman
    • 6/1/13

    I taped this movie from television with a remote control that was dead on for removing commercials (had a wire to the set). I missed the first chapter about how the hole got in the coat...that must have been Charles B and Rita H because I don't remember them at all. But still love this movie...and still have a VCR. I am very surprised to hear that it's not on DVD and I'm sure the VHS copies are rare. I like to turn on younger audiences to black and white classics....I have a friend who's never seen Psycho or Young Frankenstein because they are not in color. Think of all the great ones they have missed that weren't deliberately shot in B&W.

  • Wonderful anthology

    • hernameisrioshowgirl
    • 5/21/13

    Great find,esp for Laughton & Robinson vignettes.

  • "Tails" of Manhattan

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 10/28/11

    Almost like an extended Twilight Zone episode, this film follows a "lucky" tuxedo jacket throughout the city as it benefits its many wearers. Best segments by far are the ones with Ginger Rogers, Charles Laughton, and Edward G. Robinson.

  • One of my Top Favorites

    • Bellagirl
    • 12/24/10

    This movie is so wonderful, full of stars, and characters. This is a classic with a message of hope. I love this movie and cannot believe it is not out on DVD yet. If you haven't seen this movie...watch it, and if you have you will watch it again. Please release this on DVD soon, and if you could play it more often. Thank you!

  • Tales of Manhattan

    • amy
    • 12/7/10

    I agree with all the posted reviews..this is a 'must see' classic that has it all..a fantastic all-star cast, with Edward G. Robinson and Charles Laughton as you've never before seen them. The film plays out in 'Acts' as it follows a black tuxedo as it is passed from one wearer to the next and how it changes the lives of those who don it as well as those around them. It is a lovely, poignant and inspirational treat perfect for the holiday season and if you have a chance to see it ,DO !!! In fact record it you can to share with friends and family as it is not available for Home Video sales yet. PLEASE RELEASE IT IN DVD !!!!! :) tHANX

  • Great Movie

    • James
    • 12/31/09

    This is a true unknown classic!! Great cast and wonderful uplifting story! Please release it in DVD!!!!!

  • Tales of Manhattan (1942)

    • Jay
    • 1/5/09

    What a cast! Everyone is good, but Charles Laughton and Edward G. Robinson excel. Great menagerie of stories, all with a common element. Wonderfully pieced together, excellent direction. A very enjoyable movie.

  • Great New Years Day movie

    • Tom Smith
    • 10/10/08

    With stars like Henry Fonda, Paul Robeson, Eddy Rochester Anderson, Ginger Rogers, Charles Boyer, Caesar Romero, Edgar G. Robinson, George Saunders, Charles Laughton, Rita Hayworth, Thomas Mitchell, Ethel Waters [!]--and its consistently warm, humanist positive message--you can't go wrong. Great for New Years Day, 2009!

  • classic

    • jack
    • 9/18/08

    This is a true classic. It's a shame not many people have heard of it.

  • So Many stories, so many stars

    • denise
    • 7/19/07

    This is one of those unique movies with a very large and talented cast. Alot of short stories which all surround the Tales of a Tux. Wonderfully done. One of my all time favorites.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.