skip navigation
My Dream Is Yours

My Dream Is Yours(1949)

  • Monday, October 27 @ 04:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

My Dream Is... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Doris Day sleeper

    • David H.
    • 12/7/13

    'My Dream Is Yours' is an unpretentious musical comedy that turns out to be a surprisingly good film. Doris Day displays the singing talent and screen presence that made her a star, while Jack Carson gives one of his best film performances. Eve Arden and S.Z. Sakall lend capable support without the latter's usual overacting. Although the script is a little thin at times, the direction by Michael Curtiz (Casablanca) makes up for it. The dream sequence is clearly filler, but what excellent filler it is. This film is a must for all Doris Day fans.

  • How did I ever miss this gem?

    • Miss Debs
    • 12/6/13

    This is a girls movie 100%. Doris Day SHINES. The sets and dresses are dreamy and make me wish I lived in it. I'm already trying to figure out how to watch it again. As a DD nut I don't know how I ever missed this movie at my age. The music is pretty much corporate hit parade, but DD always makes anything sound rich and luscious.

  • Warm and Soulful

    • Barry Lane
    • 12/6/13

    This is an absolutely terrific picture made so, principally by the fine cast. Jack Carson brings truth and tenderness to his part. I felt like cheering him. Often felt that way. Eve Arden is a close second in the acting department. Doris Day, in her second film with Carson delivers, not only a fun screen performance, but several beautiful songs, including the title tune. And no slight to Lee Bowman in an unsympathetic part. Three cheers all around.

  • I LOVE THIS MOVIE!

    • Patti
    • 4/3/12

    I don't know if it's because I used to watch this film on TV when I was a kid. I truly enjoy this film. I think Doris Day looks really great. I love the technocolor filming of this movie. I hope everyone enjoys this. Even Bugs is fun in this film.

  • Good for the first hour and a half

    • Cal Roach
    • 4/22/11

    One of those movies that's fun to watch until you get to the painfully predictable, laughable, rushed ending. Jack Carson is perpetually entertaining, Doris Day is affable and only mugs for one pastel squinty closeup that I recall, but she's still learning to act and her performances while lip synching are embarrassing. Lee Bowman is incredibly boring throughout, the typical Hollywood wrong-man that gorgeous women inconceivably fall for, not so much a character as a statue sculpted of flat cliches. The writing is very good for at least three-quarters of the script, playing to Carson's strengths (best line: "You'll be a big star when Gary's just a town in Indiana."), almost exhausting for a romantic comedy (in a good way). But then comes the head-slapping Bugs Bunny scene, totally inappropriate if...peculiar and interesting in its own right. Following this, the performers seem spent, and they all rush around trying to wrap things up and get Jack and Doris hitched. Could've used more of S.Z. Sakall, who is hilarious and steals every scene he's in.

  • Gorgeous Technicolor cinematography

    • Droptma Styx
    • 4/22/11

    Never mind the script and acting, the look of the film is amazing. When you realize how much light they had to pour onto the set for three-strip Technicolor, the nuanced, lush shading in each frame is a testament to the craftsmanship in Hollywood at the time. The credits list two DPs, Wilfred Cline and Ernest Haller. Haller has a credit for another modest Technicolor picture you may have heard of: Gone With the Wind. I could watch this film over and over with the sound turned down. In fact, it's better that way.

  • Jack Carson finds Doris Day and a happy ending.

    • Kevin4Butler
    • 4/1/11

    A wonderful musical romance with Mr.Carson and Ms.Dayperforming wonderful tunes and comedy provided byS.Z.(Cuddles)Sakall and in his film performace EdgarKennedy..also a memorable live action animatedsequence with Ms.Day,Mr.Carson and"Bugs Bunny".

  • Um encanto de filme

    • Sonia
    • 10/31/10

    ESTE FILME ENCANTADOR. A DORIS DAY EST MELHOR DO QUE NUNCA NESTE FILME. ELA TO DOCE E CARISMTICA. UMA GRANDE DAMA DOS ANOS 50. TODOS GOSTAM DE DORIS DAY. ELA FENOMENAL.

  • Perfect Nostalgia

    • Jack Phillippe
    • 12/26/06

    If any thing can cheer me up it is somethng from the past that brings pleasent memories. When watching this film, I think of sitting in the Byrd theater when I was a child and had little worries. This is a master piece of cinema as far as "Warner Brothers" is concerned. Why oh why -- can't they make films like this today? Instead the film industry bores you to death with there political leanings in film after film, when the original intent was to entertain, something the industry has lost sight of over the years.

  • My Dream is Yours

    • Classic Movie Fan
    • 10/12/06

    This is such a great movie! This was one of Doris Day's first films. Her singing is spectacular and what beautiful songs!!! Eve Arden is wonderful as usual. The clothes are beautiful. This film is a real winner. Kudos to Jack Carson - he puts in a top notch performance. Anyone who is a Doris Day fan will want this movie in their movie library. Please put this movie out on DVD!!!

  • My Dream Is Yours....

    • Susan
    • 7/23/06

    I would like to purchase on DVD or VHS "My Dream IS Yours" with Doris Day & Jack Carson, & Eve Arden & Lee Bowman(released in 1949 --Warner Bros., I think) It features historic scenes of the period (Schwabs Pharmacy, where Lana Turner is said to have been discovered),I love Doris Day's singing. It features an all-female orchestra, which surprised me. The whole movie is beautiful & uplifting. Keep sharing those wonderful classic movies, & please make them available for purchase. Thank You! I rate this movie a "10" "10" "10" in all categories.....

  • A Hidden Gem

    • Vincent O
    • 4/4/06

    Spectacular Clothes for Doris Day and Eve Arden.Wonderful, wonderful singing by Doris Day.I was so suprised to see a 1949 movie that looked better that the 1960's movies with Rock Hudson.Also a Dream sequence that includes Bugs Bunny and Tweety Bird!!!TCM shoud put this on 8Pm at night.Its a major hit.Doris I love You!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.