skip navigation
The Sullivans

The Sullivans(1944)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Sullivans The lives of a close-knit... MORE > $19.93 Regularly $19.93 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • the fighting sullivans

    • Geo. Lechner
    • 8/4/14

    this is the way young men felt during thoese years, when there country was being threatened ,you didn't think of what could happen to you, you only thought of your country god bless America.. Geo.

  • Fight to see this movie ...

    • Lane
    • 8/3/11

    One of the greats .... a movie that all ages can see and enjoy. It's sad but the meaning and feelings it imprints will never go away and nor should they. The younger years are just all smiles and the older transition brings great faces. Just a fantastic story , amazing film. Watch it! As always ... in just about every great movie Ward Bond sneaks in for a part. The guy is amazing for how many sublime classics he's in.

  • The Fighting Sullivans

    • Judy Starr
    • 11/11/10

    My favourite WW11 movie of all time! I was thrilled to find TCM showing it. I was born the same year the movie was released and so it has special memories for me. Thank you for a great movie. We recommend your station to all our friends!

  • the fighting sullivans

    • chere
    • 4/21/10

    i was very fortunate to experience this movie on a recent trip to Buffalo NY with my daughter and her NJROTC classmates. while spending the night on the USS LITTLE ROCK, part of the entertainment was movie time, and this happened to be the movie that was being shown. what made it such a unforgettable experience is that docked right next to the USS LITTLE ROCK was the USS SULLIVAN one of the retired naval ships that so honorably beared the name for the 5 brothers. it was an unforgetable and marvelous experience for my daughter and myself to be able to watch the true life story, and also walk the deck of the vessal that carried the name of these 5 naval heros. while we sat watching the movie, it was as if the 5 brothers were in the room with us. this is an truely amazing movie that i recommend to anyone who wishes to laugh, cheer and cry. not a dry eye and the silence of the audience said it all.

  • The Ultimate Tear Jerker

    • anthony
    • 3/5/10

    I remember seeing this movie when I was just 8 years old. I really didn't want to see it but my parents forced me to. Well, It's become one of my favorite movies of all time. Now, I passed this tradition on to my kids and they just loved it. There wasn't a dry eye in the room at the end.

  • The Fighting Sullivans

    • Cheryl DeJulius
    • 2/23/10

    TCM stays on most of the time in our home . . .and this is the first time seeing this movie . . .what a charming movie albeit a sad ending. Both my husband and I watched it, laughing along the way and loving seeing the relics from our childhoods in the stage settings of the old home place. The movie is definitely one I am adding to our collection of DVD's . . .thanks for showing this one!

  • Sad Movie

    • jim
    • 1/21/10

    This was on of the best movies I have ever seen. It is also one of the saddest movies. The fact that it is based on a true event, makes it even more sad. there was a great cast in this flim.

  • Amazing movie

    • Linda B.
    • 11/15/09

    I was flipping channels and came upon this movie that was already in progress but the children were still small. I just became so involved in this movie and was crushed by the sadness at the ending. Then to find out it is a true story made it even more heartbreaking. I have two nephews who are both Marines - with one of them in Afghanistan - so I can only imagine the sadness this family endured!. God Speed to our troops.

  • The Fighting Sullivans

    • StephanieN.
    • 8/27/09

    I enjoyed this movie from the first time I seen it as a child. A movie about family togetherness and LOVE....

  • The Sullivans (1944)

    • Jay
    • 2/3/09

    No one couldn't be deeply moved by this film. Fine performances, particularly Selena Royale, who gives her finest performance. Excellent story, great score and screenplay. A moving and unforgettable movie.

  • great movie!

    • Joe
    • 11/16/08

    I first saw this movie years ago on our local PBS station. It's a great movie, and sad at the end.

  • Not shown as scheduled

    • Jim Griffin
    • 11/14/08

    Your Now Playing Guide for November listed this movie to be shown at1030AM, 11-14-08; however, instead the Movie Mr and Mrs Smith with Carole Lombard and Robert Montgomery was shown. Has it been scheduled for a later date? Why send the guide if it's not going to be followed?

  • the first movie that i remember seeing

    • Ted Mureika
    • 7/30/08

    i saw this movie on outdoor screen while we were still living in a DP camp in Hanau Germany.That was in either 1947 or 1948,because we came to Canada in Jan. 1949.To this day i still remember parts of it vividly.I was born in Lithuania in 1939,

  • The fighting Sullivans

    • jane Goldfarb
    • 4/27/08

    I saw this movie when I was 13yrs old. It stayed with me all these 61 years. I believe this film should be shown on memorial day. flag day. veterans day etc. I cannot imagine why I see the same movies over again and cannot find this one. I missed it the ONE time it was on.

  • The fighting Sullivans

    • Linda Mc Mullin
    • 1/11/08

    Years ago I watched this movie maybe three times and it has stayed with me for over fifty years. Long enough for me to forget the title and today I was watching another movie with Thomas Mitchell and looked him up on the computer and found the Fighting Sullivans, this was a wonderful movie and I hope Iam going to be able to purchase it. Should anyone have any information regarding availability please get in touch. Thank-you. Linda Mc Mullin

  • GOD BLESS THEIR MEMORY

    • WALTER
    • 6/7/07

    THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES I HAVE SEEN.IT IS SO TOUCHING BUT YET FULL OF INSPIRATION.I BELIEVE THAT ANYONE WHO SEES IT WILL BE FILLED WITH EMOTION.GOD BLESS THE MEMORY OF THE SULLIVANS.

  • What a great movie

    • Simone Ponce
    • 6/7/07

    This was a really touching movie. It was well done, without a doubt. The story was simple but very emotional. I don't think I've ever cried so hard at the ending of a movie before in my life before seeing this. I'd recommend this to anyone that loves a cute movie regarding WW2.

  • great !!

    • miguel cobos
    • 6/6/07

    this movie was awesome i just finished seeing it its also kinda sad

  • THIS MOVIE IS ON DVD: Fighting Sullivans, The

    • MIKE
    • 6/6/07

    THIS MOVIE IS ON DVD:Fighting Sullivans, The

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.