skip navigation
Sudden Fear

Sudden Fear(1952)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Sudden Fear Actor Lester Blaine has all... MORE > $29.95 Regularly $29.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great film, beware of DVD quality

    • Jo
    • 1/21/14

    I'd never seen Sudden Fear and was really quite taken with both the plot and the cast. Joan Crawford was absolutely marvelous - and Jack Palance was incredibly good. As noir films go it is a gem and I think it under- appreciated as a classic.That being said, I saw a Kino Video DVD of Sudden Fear and I have to say that it was really the worst DVD picture quality I have EVER seen. Grainy, blurry, and seemingly with film breaks. If ever a movie needed full restoration in order to be truly appreciated, this is the one. I would suggest renting it rather than spending $30.

  • Sudden Fear with Joan Crawford and Jack Palance

    • Susan
    • 8/17/13

    I loved this film noir. While the basic story line may be familiar, the acting is superb and the final ending is unexpected.

  • I like this movie

    • Misty
    • 3/3/13

    I enjoyed this movie. Joan looks gorgeous and Jack Palance is menacing. The gowns Joan wears are gorgeous. I love Bette but you have to give Joan props. No one plays a victim better than Joan.

  • No CC?

    • Ernest Gutierrez
    • 9/8/12

    I love this movie especially that chase scene through the streets of San Francisco when Jack Palance tries to kill her with the car! Disappointing that this is not available with CC. Cannot show to my deaf Dad without CC. Anybody have any guidance as to where I could locate a Closed Captioned copy? Thanks

  • Classic

    • France
    • 3/2/10

    whynot, I agree 100%. Joan Crawford was so damn great, she should have won an Oscar, if you ask me. It is a film with great direction and photography. Everyone gives a solid performance.

  • Wow, some bitter comments...

    • whynot
    • 1/24/10

    I thought the film overall was great. I can't believe the nasty lashing that's happened over Crawford's performance. Sounded more like vengeful sour grapes than objective criticism. It's not her most balanced performance- for example, she's a more than a bit too saccharine after she falls in love, like when she's dictating the will. Otherwise, I think she's actually excellent- and no, she does not look "homely" or "disturbing". The scene where she overhears the recording may seem to some as overwrought, but I thought she was completely convincing- is it really so farfetched for someone to get physically ill after hearing that the person they're in love with is planning to kill them, without out knowing exactly when or where? Of course not. She deserved the nomination. Grahame is electric as always at this point in her career, and Palance appropriately menacing. Filmed on location in the Pacific Heights area of San Francisco...

  • It is official...

    • Jeff W
    • 7/19/09

    BD has risen and has instructed her legion to trash JC and her films...LOL..With that, this is a fun, atmospheric movie, and all actors do a wonderful job. I thought Joan and Jack played off each other well and the Jack/Gloria relationship was years ahead of its time - "squeeze me, harder..." If you like suspense, deceit and revenge, in black and white, then give this one a look. If you don't like Joan Crawford then don't watch this movie or any of her work. But it was JC herself who could be her own worst critic, something a lot of "serious actors" would never do, let alone be put to pen. Sudden Fear is one of her bests and her nomination for Best Actress is just, along with Jack's nomination.

  • Enjoyed Jack Palance & Gloria Grahame

    • Brosssard
    • 7/17/09

    It has been a while since I'd last seen this film. Since then I'd come to be a fan of Gloria Grahame's through other classic films (especially with Bogie "In a Lonely Place"). I wasn't sure I'd like Jack Palance this time. To my surprise, I was delighted by his performance, especially with Grahame. Thanks for airing it.

  • Sudden Fear Review

    • SadieR
    • 7/10/09

    I was disappointed with several aspects of this film since it had been so marketed and overrated. It's dangerous to build a film up too high. When the acting doesn't live up to the hype it's a let down. Grahame makes the better of the two key women actors, Crawford the lesser of the two. Palance steals the show. Even so, I wouldn't watch it again.

  • Palance's Commanding Presence

    • MarieAndrews
    • 7/10/09

    It's amusing to see Jack Palance handily put Joan Crawford in her place: off stage where she belonged. The 'sudden fear' is even seeing the face of Joan Crawford, which was frightening in real life and even worse on screen. This is a good film for Palance admirers. Gloria Grahame's performance is swell as well. The Crawford cult following will probably call it so bad it's camp or promote that it's great. This film is marginal at best.

  • In Defense of Jack Palance

    • DeshawnRobson
    • 6/25/09

    Reviews made about Palance's face are ablistic. Palance had facial surgery due to wounds from WWII when his the B-24 bomber he was flying crashed. The reconstruction made his face more square with sharp cheek bones. Now to his character in this film: his was far superior to Crawford's. Hers is lacking. She acts like herself which comes off as fake in the film. It's indistinguishable whether Joan's being phony or Myra. By then, I doubt she knew the difference. The scene where she's tra-la-ing along, falls down a staircase, then feigns a stoic cry doesn't work at all. Crawford's failure to build an onscreen chemistry with Palance shows. Watch for a better performance by Palance.

  • Palance and Grahame Shine

    • Krystal
    • 6/20/09

    Palance is an actor, Lestor, and Grahame is his lover and partner, Irene. Together they plot to kill playwright Myra (Crawford), who's an overbearing control freak over Lestor's life. Too bad the plot didn't allow for Lestor and Irene to knock off Myra and get away with it. That would have been a far more pleasing ending. Palance and Grahame run away with this film giving powerhouse performances.

  • Sudden Fear

    • ZZZIZ
    • 6/8/09

    Jack Palance as Lester Blaine caught my attention for the first time. This was a terrific role for him.

  • Palance's Lester Blaine

    • Thomas_J
    • 6/6/09

    Having been a follower of Jack Palance's performances, this portrayal of Lester Blaine steals the show since it is one of his best. By the time this film was being made, I had to wonder, who'd want to even be the fictious leading man to the bizarre looking and behaving Joan Crawford? I like how Palance's character handles her. His long speech to her about what Casanova looked like had me wanting to ask Crawford, when was the last time you looked in the mirror? Or it your reflection too hideous to do so? By then, Crawford's appearance and behavior had already become too weird, too creepy, and plain homely that I didn't care much for watching her. But, it was fun to watch Palance put her in a more appropriate place.

  • Jack Palance's Stellar Performance

    • Zachry
    • 5/31/09

    Palance's performance is the only part of this film that holds my attention. He was nominated for a Best Supporing Actor Oscar, no thanks to the script, lead, director or anyone put his own total immersion into his role. This film would have been far better with a more likable leading actress.

  • Sudden Fear

    • Eunice_Campbell
    • 5/31/09

    After watching this film, I decided not to bother with buying it. Seeing it once was one time too many.

  • A Palance and Grahame Film

    • PearyHusky
    • 5/30/09

    Gloria Grahame was not only beautiful, she was also quite a good actor. Jack Palance made for a good leading man. Their performances in "Sudden Fear" are noteworthy. However, Joan Crawford was horribly miscast as the lead, leaving one wondering why. Crawford had become star-struck by her own former fame and unable to accept that her looks were homely, she was "box office poison," had a horrid off and on screen reputation and have been made into a gay drag icon to mock and mime. Due to her on and off set drunkeness, Crawford was no longer in her right mind. Thus, this film suffers from her attempt to play the lead. No disrespect meant to Miss Crawford or to her enthusiastic gay following, the fact is, Joan Crawford wasn't ever much of an actor. Earlier in her life, she'd used 'the casting couch' means to get parts. That didn't work once she was no longer sexually appealing to producers or other influential filmmakers.

  • Skip this one

    • Isaacs
    • 5/29/09

    I didn't care for this movie at all. It was way over done to the point of being ridiculous, the acting by the lead, that is.

  • Jack Palance and Gloria Grahame

    • Goldie28
    • 5/29/09

    Jack Palance and Gloria Grahame would've been better off if they had a different'star' in this film. Their acting is good. Crawford's is as superficial as ever. There's no depth of emotion to her character. Whereas Palance and Grahame are proven actors of great technique and skill. I wasn't fond of this film and wouldn't want to view it again.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.