skip navigation
Strange Lady in Town

Strange Lady in Town(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Strange Lady in... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Needs to be released on DVD

    • Tamara
    • 11/15/13

    Loved watching this movie at my grandparents house growing up. It's the only movie I've been in constant search for. Please release this film on DVD.

  • strange lady in town.

    • joe cordova
    • 9/16/13

    i saw this movie while in the marines when it came out and have not forgotten it. have tried for years to find a copy. please release in dvd format.

  • Strange Lady in Town

    • Tye Justis
    • 7/8/13

    My Mom has been looking for this Movie for over 30 years...Please Place it On DVD! One of Greer Garson's Greatest Films!Best Regards,Tye Justis

  • Strange Lady in Town

    • Marie Jackson
    • 3/28/13

    I have been looking for this film for a long time. Please print on DVD for purchase. I love it and was glad to see it being played on TCM. Thanks for showing it. I just love Greer Garson and Dana Andrews in this film.

  • Want to buy DVD

    • Elisabeth Henneberg
    • 3/27/13

    It's an interesting and calming movie minus violence. And I love Greer Garson. Please print DVD so the audiance can purchase Thank you

  • Great Cast, Bad Location

    • muriel
    • 3/26/13

    The TCM article on this film mentions that Garson loved the Santa Fe area and wanted to make a movie about the area. Well, this movie is 'about' Santa Fe, but was filmed near Tucson Arizona, which is 500 miles south of Santa Fe and is about 5,000 feet lower in elevation. Except that they are both desert locations, there is a HUGE difference between the two locations.If you want to see what it was about the Santa Fe area that Greer Garson loved so much and hoped to capture on film (but not this film) check this webpage: http://www.nps.gov/peco/historyculture/people.htm

  • Strange Lady in Town

    • I_Fortuna
    • 3/25/13

    Occasionally I find a Western I love. This is one. I have pretty well had my fill of Westerns as a child. I even had play guns and fancied myself a modern day Annie Oakley. Greer Garson consumes this film. Everything and everyone else are like wisps of smoke. She steals every scene with her poise, intelligence and beauty. As a woman, Garson is my ideal. As an actress, she is unparalleled. She has played such a variety of characters and made them all come alive for me. There are many funny moments in this film and, of course, serious ones too. This is a film I highly recommend and love to see from time to time because I never tire of Greer Garson.

  • please produce a dvd of Strange Lady in Town

    • Joan Speckman
    • 3/25/13

    what a wonderful movie. why has it not been put into dvd form to sell?

  • This is a wonderful western, Top of the line

    • A. M.M.
    • 3/20/13

    Please put this movie on DVD.I have been looking for this movie for a long , long time.this is one of my favorite western

  • Lois Smith shines

    • Pat
    • 1/9/13

    I remember watching this on Saturday Night at the Movies on TV and being star struck by not only Greer Garson, but Lois Smith as Spurs--for years, whenever I would see her in a movie, like 5 Easy Pieces, my first reaction would be--it is Spurs!! this needs to be released on DVD!!!!

  • Interesting film!

    • RedRain
    • 12/3/12

    I viewed this film for the first time today and I enjoyed it very much. It isn't a classic but it is a sterling performance by Greer Garson (When did she ever give a bad performance?). It is also an interesting take on women and the medical profession, particularly back in the frontier days. While being "barefoot and pregnant" is no longer the only thing women are considered good for, even today, female doctors are not widely accepted by the male population. Can you even imagine what it must have been like in 1880! Special mention should be made of Lois Smith, as the young girl "Spurs" who is also the daughter of the male doctor in the town. Smith gives a very, very good performance in this film and it only presaged that of later years. She is a twice Tony Award winner, starred with Jack Nicholson in "Five Easy Pieces" and currently plays the mother of the lead character in the television series "True Blood."

  • Best of the best movies

    • Anne M.
    • 3/4/12

    I have been watching for this movie to be put on DVD, for a long time.It is one of the best western movie ever.

  • Good Movie's Needs to be on DVD!

    • Irene Woodhouse
    • 2/22/12

    This is one of the best movie every made. Please, put this movie on DVD soon. one of Greer Garson best.

  • Strange Lady in Town

    • Jean
    • 7/14/11

    I enjoyed the movie as a young girl and would like to own a copy when it becomes available. With Greer Garson you can't go wrong.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.